We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Experience”
Review of Hotel Silverine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Silverine
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed in Silverine in the Mid of June, Rooms are big and spacious neat and clean, services were exceptionally well, even a small needs were catered to in the odd hours, food was one plus point, hotel is located below the Mall Road because of a land slide it was difficult to reach the hotel, but the boys from the Hotel guided us well so that we won't have to take the longer routes.

In the end a nice and cozy place to stay. I would Recommend it to anyone and everyone who is traveling to Shimla.
Keep Up the Good Work.

Room Tip: Rooms On the Top Floor below the terrace are the best, you can go to enjoy the fresh air anytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Surinder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    214
    71
    28
    23
See reviews for
245
173
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We booked the luxury package for 3 nights.
The main advantage of the hotel it is very near to the Mall Road. However to come out you need to have a steep climb. So if you are old age or have problems with your legs, you better avoid. The room provided was on the ground floor and was specious. View from the hotel was also good. The hotel has it’s own parking which is again an advantage in Shimla where you have acute parking problems.
Hotel has its own vehicles and can arrange pick-ups and drops as well as site seeing tours. Shri Siddharth Shukla is very cooperative.
One thing i will suggest to the hotel is to use "confirmation" word instead of "acknowledged". Our booking was never confirmed, and our payment was only acknowledged!
Talking about the room, though the rooms was specious, the bathroom was small. It was stinking and cleanliness was not very good(this problem is reflected in other reviews also). They have running hot water which is good. The hotel does not provide small towels (napkins) and the towels provided were not soft enough.
The restaurant was average and there is nothing much you can write about. One morning we really had a tough time, as we were vegetarians and they made some special chicken dish in the breakfast. So for vegetarians, we had only choice of ‘Dalia’. When we asked them to pack the sandwitches for us, they did but with “Char jhayaadaa nahi ho jayenge sir?”
Whereas at other hotels the sports are free and complimentary, here you need to pay on per hour basis.
Overall it’s an average hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prashant_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank you for taking time and rating us and our services, your feedback is much appreciated.
Coming back to the points of dissatisfaction, as you have mentioned we are a drive in and up the hill slope is something that we cannot do much about, for any one with certain disabilities or old aged people we do provide complimentary transfer up the slope by a personal cab, Our apologies for not confirming the booking and the use of word "Acknowledged" on receiving the deposit details, but we did manage to get you last minute request for the cab organized and I hope the car was there on time. As you had mentioned that the rooms are spacious let me also update you that Shimla is a Hill Station and size of our bathrooms is pretty decent compared to similar properties. Regarding the issue with the cleanliness we follow a standard and rooms are cleaned regularly and on daily basis with proper cleaning products,
Further I apologize for the breakfast incident and as per my understanding the Waiter might have mistook your order for 4 Portions of Sandwiches that makes the total number of sandwiches 16.
All in all we have recently upgraded our rooms and fresh linen has been introduced, we have an in house laundry and after a certain period of time the old linen is phased out.
Further to above we do appreciate your comments and will ensure we follow through on the same.
Hope your next visit to Shimla will be with us.

Ensuring you or our best of the services always

Thanks and Regards
Senior Management Team
Hotel Silverine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The charges by Agoda and Silverine are more than what Silverine is authorized to charge as per rate fixation order signed by Mr Surrender Justa Dy director tourism, Director Shimla HP issued in June 2012 and affixed at reception.

It says 2970 for luxury room on EP plan
No service charge allowed and only 10% extra for extra bed. Rates are inclusive of all taxes.

We were charged 11427 by Agoda/ Silverine for one extra bed for three nights.

As per order it should be 2970x3x1.1=9801

So don't trust Agoda lowest price guarantee.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshul10j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thanks for taking some time to review us. Hope you had a nice stay with us,
If only you would have contacted the management for the same we would have cleared your doubts there and then.
As per your doubt regarding the charges and Rate Fixation Order that you saw, we would like to update you that we haven't at any point charged anything extra, the tariff mentioned in the order is always Excluding taxes, taxes are charged over the rates mentioned in the Rate Fixation Order, Similarly taxes are charged over the extra person rate as well.
Further there are no service charges applied, only taxes have been charged on the mentioned tariff as applicable 10% Luxury Tax and 7.42% Service Tax the same is mandatory effective 1st May'2012, therefore the charges calculation is Rs 2970/- + 10% Luxury Tax +7.42% Service Tax = Rs 3487/- * 3 Nights = Rs 10,462/- One Extra Bed 10% Of the Tariff = Rs 297/- + 10% Luxury Tax +7.42% Service Tax = Rs 349/- * 3 Nights = Rs 1047/- Total Amount = Rs 11,509/- .

Hence we would like to state that the charges that were applied to you fall under the category of best prices.

Also for your information only, the said clause in which you had doubt clearly states that:

" No Service Charges are allowed, extra bed charges 10% of above approved rates per bed per day"

"THE ABOVE RATES OF LODGING ARE INCLUSIVE OF COMPLETE BEDDING AND TAXES EXTRA"

A scanned copy of the same will be emailed to you shortly.

We wish to cater you soon in the near future, and thank you once again for taking out your time and writing into us.

Senior Management Team

Hotel Silverine
Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

There is a saying that bigger is better however my experience with Silverine hotel defies this saying and now I believe that Bigger is not always better. First I would want to talk about the positives as the list is pretty small and then come to the negatives.

Positives

Rooms – Recently refurbished rooms and they are pretty decent.
Location – Though the property is at the fag end of the mall road and has steep roads but still is a good location. Though if you are not a walking freak pls look out for other properties on the mall which are better placed and more reasonably priced.

Negatives

Food – I don’t know whom they have as a chef but the tea served has some foul smell, dinner served was pathetic and the Gulab jamun served tasted and looked couple of days stale. At this point I snapped and called the manager and made him taste items served to us and he didn’t have a word to say. Same was the case in the morning during breakfast. In the dining room we were surprised to see that we were not the only disgruntled guests. Everybody was complaining about poor quality food, no hot water in the rooms etc etc.

Misleading – Somebody in one of reviews stated that they give free porters to carry the luggage from the lift. Well friend you would have been lucky to have their kindness. Mostly what I understood that this free service is available only one side while check in. During our check out the hotel staff asked me to pay Rs 100 to the porter carrying our luggage where as he had to be paid 150.

Arrogant staff & management – The location of the hotel is great and I guess that’s where the arrogance comes from. Come what may people will come to stay here so they care a damn about their guests and their issues.

Customer service – Now this is a concept alien to the hotel staff, managers and the management. Any complain from you can be taken too very personally and you can be in for a major trouble from the management which is primarily headed by one gentleman. When we complained about a foul smelling tea or the pathetic dinner or the dirty ice served to us all that the head of the hotel could say was “I cannot undo what has been done”. My point is, sure you cannot undo what has been done but little did you bother to do to console us. I sent an sms to this gentleman stating our bad experiences since the time we checked in and to our utter dismay this gentleman found my sms so offensive that he come into the hotel at 10.30pm, called me to his office and started threatening me of evicting me from the room. This person tried to portray that he has done a favour on me by offering me the room as mine was a last minute booking and hence I shouldn’t be complaining. Well little did he realise that even if mine was a last minute booking I have paid for what they asked for which was close to 10K for 2 rooms for 1 night. What he did not mention while taking our booking was that the package would include foul smelling tea, pathetic dinner & BF and to top it up threats of being evicted incase we complain.

Last but not the least I think its appropriate to mention that while we were waiting at the reception for the porter to come to carry our luggage one lady who I believe was a family member of the owner walks into the hotel with her dog calls for some milk from one waiter and guess what? this waiter gets milk in one of the same bowls kept in the dining area in which guests are suppose to have cornflakes. This dog has its share of the BF in front of us in the same bowl highlighting the mgmt's utter disregard of the guests self respect. I have uploaded some snaps of this incident which took place in the lobby area of the hotel. Pls look closely at the white bowl.

No way I am going to this hotel again come what may and would not suggest anybody to consider this property. There are much better properties hopefully with better behaved staff & mgmt. Besides if you do want to stay here just pay for the room and have food at the mall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GautamJ_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from all at Silverine!
Our sincerest apologies for the bad experience that you have had with us, we have always believed that this portal is a good way of enhancing and improving our services by making sure genuine complaints and problems are addressed and rectified for the future.
We appreciate the time and energy you have put regarding the same to enable us to improve further, we would like to bring this to your kind notice that once you have expressed dissatisfaction the same was addressed within minutes and various alternate were offered which you refused to entertain.
We would like to forward this as a response to your supposed allegations and appreciations:
1. Positives as you have mentioned are highly appreciated, as per the location the property is at the beginning of The Mall Road and the Main Market is a 5 to 10 minutes’ walk.
2. Food Quality : As per the comments you have made regarding the food quality, as explained to you in person as well, the same food quality(Buffet) was served to remaining 20 rooms and some outside guests as well, out of which we received Zero Complaints. Even keeping that in mind we made sure that because you had complained we offered alternate food dishes which were not part of the buffet, which you refused not giving us a chance to satisfy you. You have mentioned that you snapped but it is unfortunate to remind you that crude language (Foul and Abusive) was directed by you towards the junior staff. Regarding breakfast service to keep you happy we had incorporated all your suggestions in the menu, as per your complaint regarding no hot water in the rooms we have solar powered hot water supply and no complaints for the same were received by us.
3. Misleading: Regarding your allegation about porters please note our hotel does not employs porters, we provide complimentary luggage pick and drop for our clients through our house keeping boys, unfortunately without any request or intimation from your end you hired a porter/coolie for your luggage at your own expense the said porter/coolie was not the part of the hotel and the payment for the same had to be made at your own end. It is perplexing to see how you would think otherwise.
4. Arrogant Staff and Management: The management cares about the guests hence we would like to point out that even though you threatened to bad mouth us we insisted that you post the said review knowing well that it would be unjust misleading and frivolous from your end.
5. Customer Service: Our submission here is the moment you voiced you dissatisfaction we were there to make things better and extend every courtesy possible within minutes, which were refused by you, your crude language and drunk behaviour was also tolerated, please note Rights To Admission are reserved by the hotel, as per your allegations to be evicted from the room nothing on those lines was communicated to you , had it been so you would have been asked to vacate your rooms on the basis of your drunk loud, crude and disorderly behaviour. The only favour done for you was trying to extend every courtesy possible to make sure we better your experience irrespective of the fact of your threats of bad mouthing the hotel, using foul and abusive language towards the junior staff, the management does not tolerate such behaviour from the guest.
6. We have tried to make right what problems, complaints you had only to hope to satisfy you unfortunately the same had not been enough.

In respect to your comment regarding the dog, our hotel is a pet friendly hotel and said pet was with an outside client (Was Not Staying In The Hotel) and no utensils served to the guest are used for pets, the said picture that you have uploaded is of a discarded bowl which was used to extend help to the said guest and was given to her only.

We would like to bring to your notice that in the nine years that we have serviced people Dear Sir, you have been the first client to be blacklisted by us in respect of your false, baseless, allegations and disorderly, drunken, abusive and loud behaviour during your stay. You were asked to come to the office to maintain order in the hotel because of your out of control behaviour and language and the out of the line sms that you had sent at 10:30 Pm. Even after that the same was addressed and let us remind you it was your words that “We cannot undo what has already happened” and you refused any further assistance from our side.

Irrespective of the above we appreciate your comments as they have enabled us to prepare ourselves for the bad and the ugly as well as the good.

Thanks and Regards
Senior Management Team
Hotel Silverine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have been to Shimla in the Month of May. The hotel service is nice. The staff in the resturant is very humble and cooperative. Food quality is good. Over all we have enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Bhagwat Family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.4 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.1 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silverine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silverine

Property: Hotel Silverine
Address: Near High Court, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
#9 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,488 - ₹ 9,560
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silverine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silverine is in the heart of Shimla which is the capital of Himachal Pradesh. We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive so as to be able to meet the needs of our guests and at the same time adding a touch of Himachal Pradesh. All the basic amenities and facilities are provided with a broad smile that’s present at all times to greet our guests. Hotel Silverine is rightly located on The Mall Road which is the creme de la creme of the city. The hotel is below the famous Shimla Club and very close to the Himachal Pradesh High Court, it is ideally placed and has scenic beauty surrounding it with every room facing the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra and OYO Rooms so you can book your Hotel Silverine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silverine Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing