We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bigger is not always better !!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silverine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Silverine
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bigger is not always better !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

There is a saying that bigger is better however my experience with Silverine hotel defies this saying and now I believe that Bigger is not always better. First I would want to talk about the positives as the list is pretty small and then come to the negatives.

Positives

Rooms – Recently refurbished rooms and they are pretty decent.
Location – Though the property is at the fag end of the mall road and has steep roads but still is a good location. Though if you are not a walking freak pls look out for other properties on the mall which are better placed and more reasonably priced.

Negatives

Food – I don’t know whom they have as a chef but the tea served has some foul smell, dinner served was pathetic and the Gulab jamun served tasted and looked couple of days stale. At this point I snapped and called the manager and made him taste items served to us and he didn’t have a word to say. Same was the case in the morning during breakfast. In the dining room we were surprised to see that we were not the only disgruntled guests. Everybody was complaining about poor quality food, no hot water in the rooms etc etc.

Misleading – Somebody in one of reviews stated that they give free porters to carry the luggage from the lift. Well friend you would have been lucky to have their kindness. Mostly what I understood that this free service is available only one side while check in. During our check out the hotel staff asked me to pay Rs 100 to the porter carrying our luggage where as he had to be paid 150.

Arrogant staff & management – The location of the hotel is great and I guess that’s where the arrogance comes from. Come what may people will come to stay here so they care a damn about their guests and their issues.

Customer service – Now this is a concept alien to the hotel staff, managers and the management. Any complain from you can be taken too very personally and you can be in for a major trouble from the management which is primarily headed by one gentleman. When we complained about a foul smelling tea or the pathetic dinner or the dirty ice served to us all that the head of the hotel could say was “I cannot undo what has been done”. My point is, sure you cannot undo what has been done but little did you bother to do to console us. I sent an sms to this gentleman stating our bad experiences since the time we checked in and to our utter dismay this gentleman found my sms so offensive that he come into the hotel at 10.30pm, called me to his office and started threatening me of evicting me from the room. This person tried to portray that he has done a favour on me by offering me the room as mine was a last minute booking and hence I shouldn’t be complaining. Well little did he realise that even if mine was a last minute booking I have paid for what they asked for which was close to 10K for 2 rooms for 1 night. What he did not mention while taking our booking was that the package would include foul smelling tea, pathetic dinner & BF and to top it up threats of being evicted incase we complain.

Last but not the least I think its appropriate to mention that while we were waiting at the reception for the porter to come to carry our luggage one lady who I believe was a family member of the owner walks into the hotel with her dog calls for some milk from one waiter and guess what? this waiter gets milk in one of the same bowls kept in the dining area in which guests are suppose to have cornflakes. This dog has its share of the BF in front of us in the same bowl highlighting the mgmt's utter disregard of the guests self respect. I have uploaded some snaps of this incident which took place in the lobby area of the hotel. Pls look closely at the white bowl.

No way I am going to this hotel again come what may and would not suggest anybody to consider this property. There are much better properties hopefully with better behaved staff & mgmt. Besides if you do want to stay here just pay for the room and have food at the mall.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GautamJ_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Sir,
Greetings from all at Silverine!
Our sincerest apologies for the bad experience that you have had with us, we have always believed that this portal is a good way of enhancing and improving our services by making sure genuine complaints and problems are addressed and rectified for the future.
We appreciate the time and energy you have put regarding the same to enable us to improve further, we would like to bring this to your kind notice that once you have expressed dissatisfaction the same was addressed within minutes and various alternate were offered which you refused to entertain.
We would like to forward this as a response to your supposed allegations and appreciations:
1. Positives as you have mentioned are highly appreciated, as per the location the property is at the beginning of The Mall Road and the Main Market is a 5 to 10 minutes’ walk.
2. Food Quality : As per the comments you have made regarding the food quality, as explained to you in person as well, the same food quality(Buffet) was served to remaining 20 rooms and some outside guests as well, out of which we received Zero Complaints. Even keeping that in mind we made sure that because you had complained we offered alternate food dishes which were not part of the buffet, which you refused not giving us a chance to satisfy you. You have mentioned that you snapped but it is unfortunate to remind you that crude language (Foul and Abusive) was directed by you towards the junior staff. Regarding breakfast service to keep you happy we had incorporated all your suggestions in the menu, as per your complaint regarding no hot water in the rooms we have solar powered hot water supply and no complaints for the same were received by us.
3. Misleading: Regarding your allegation about porters please note our hotel does not employs porters, we provide complimentary luggage pick and drop for our clients through our house keeping boys, unfortunately without any request or intimation from your end you hired a porter/coolie for your luggage at your own expense the said porter/coolie was not the part of the hotel and the payment for the same had to be made at your own end. It is perplexing to see how you would think otherwise.
4. Arrogant Staff and Management: The management cares about the guests hence we would like to point out that even though you threatened to bad mouth us we insisted that you post the said review knowing well that it would be unjust misleading and frivolous from your end.
5. Customer Service: Our submission here is the moment you voiced you dissatisfaction we were there to make things better and extend every courtesy possible within minutes, which were refused by you, your crude language and drunk behaviour was also tolerated, please note Rights To Admission are reserved by the hotel, as per your allegations to be evicted from the room nothing on those lines was communicated to you , had it been so you would have been asked to vacate your rooms on the basis of your drunk loud, crude and disorderly behaviour. The only favour done for you was trying to extend every courtesy possible to make sure we better your experience irrespective of the fact of your threats of bad mouthing the hotel, using foul and abusive language towards the junior staff, the management does not tolerate such behaviour from the guest.
6. We have tried to make right what problems, complaints you had only to hope to satisfy you unfortunately the same had not been enough.

In respect to your comment regarding the dog, our hotel is a pet friendly hotel and said pet was with an outside client (Was Not Staying In The Hotel) and no utensils served to the guest are used for pets, the said picture that you have uploaded is of a discarded bowl which was used to extend help to the said guest and was given to her only.

We would like to bring to your notice that in the nine years that we have serviced people Dear Sir, you have been the first client to be blacklisted by us in respect of your false, baseless, allegations and disorderly, drunken, abusive and loud behaviour during your stay. You were asked to come to the office to maintain order in the hotel because of your out of control behaviour and language and the out of the line sms that you had sent at 10:30 Pm. Even after that the same was addressed and let us remind you it was your words that “We cannot undo what has already happened” and you refused any further assistance from our side.

Irrespective of the above we appreciate your comments as they have enabled us to prepare ourselves for the bad and the ugly as well as the good.

Thanks and Regards
Senior Management Team
Hotel Silverine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    210
    70
    28
    22
See reviews for
232
167
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We have been to Shimla in the Month of May. The hotel service is nice. The staff in the resturant is very humble and cooperative. Food quality is good. Over all we have enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Bhagwat Family

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Silverine is a good hotel, located at the end of mall road, near shimla club. We loved the location, All the happening places of shimla like the mall road shops, Lift, the ridge, town hall, christ church, lower mall and lakkar bazaar are withing 10-15 min walking distance from the hotel. The hotel itself is very good, small but cozy, rooms are redone recently and are better than the photos on the website. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The road to the hotel is temporarily closed for maintenance due to a landslide, so taxi takes you up to corporation parking, which is 5-10 min walking distance from hotel, but hotel arranged for the free porters both ways, which was very welcomed. Food at the restaurant is also good.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shonababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at Hotel Silverine in Shimla with a group of mixed-aged female tourists: two seventy-year olds, three women in their forties, and four young women in their twenties. I was apprehensive, because it was the first time i'd traveled in India with women other than my wife. Coming to Hotel Silverine totally dispelled my apprehensions. The management were more than accomodating, in that they gave me tips on the (GREAT) town as well as extensive information on the surrounding areas; they told me about wonderful little 'secret' places to visit in the hills, where fewer tourists are, but which are still fully safe.
The rooms were spotless; the food was perfect; the service was warm and friendly. We were a little chilly on the roof: in five minutes, they built us a fire. Our travel plans fell apart; they helped us make new ones.
Do not think there is anywhere better to stay in Shimla; there is not.

Room Tip: My friends were everyhere in the hotel; nobody had any complaints or off-comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Great_Goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Was travelling to Shimla not so long back, so I got myself accommodated in hotel silverine. I was surprised with the exceptional quality of service that was provided throughout my stay. The staff at the hotel was very polite and hospitable, the food was brilliant, there were no issues with the wifi, there was a brilliant connectivity of the same in my room. I was extremely happy with the stay, and will surely return to the hotel the next time I am in Shimla. I Will also make it a point to recommend it to all my friends and colleagues who travel to Shimla.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Ask for the avalaibility of luxury packages at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us. Just FYI Wi-Fi is in the reception area and your room was right on that floor so we know which room to give your next time.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.2 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silverine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silverine

Property: Hotel Silverine
Address: Near High Court, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shimla
#11 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,141 - ₹ 6,937
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silverine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silverine is in the heart of this glorious town called Shimla which is the capital of Himachal Pradesh. We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive so as to be able to meet the needs of our guests and at the same time adding a touch of Himachal Pradesh. All the basic amenities and facilities are provided with a broad smile that’s present at all times to greet our clients.Hotel Silverine is situated on The Mall Road which is the creme de la creme of the city. The hotel is rightly located near the Shimla Club and very close to the Himachal Pradesh High Court, it is ideally placed and has scenic beauty surrounding it. The company believes in Simplicity and Simplicity at its Best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and OYO Rooms so you can book your Hotel Silverine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silverine Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing