We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH IT”
Review of Camp Potters Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Potters Hill
Ranked #47 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH IT”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Good location, great staff but poorly managed site spoils the fun. The activities (rope climbing etc) are good fun and the trainers are great. But the cottages are old and worn-out, hygeine levels are low. Also they play music at full blast in the middle of a forest at night, some of the guests like it, but this is not eco-tourism surely. The food is also very average. One expects quite and peace at a place like this, not blaring loud bollywood numbers

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vishakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Firozepur
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

its a great place to be if you are going with friends.nice place.best food and dam sexy location.we have a good time together..such well decorated rooms in jungle .never saw such luxury in camps. so well organized bonfire party in the evening ..it was a great trip

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmanFirozepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Went for a incentive tour with my company.excellent activities ,tasty food and nice party arrangements

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickeyChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

For those travelling to Shimla for the first time, it would be good to be aware that Camp potters hill is situated quite far away from the town. So if you are looking to be near mall-ridge, this will be far and and you will need to take a taxi provided by the camp, (which will cost you.)

Overall, this used to be a good place when it started out some years ago, but is now run down and looks battered. Service is decent and the staff are helpful, but the rooms wear an old look, bedding is far from fresh and the stay is anything but value for money. The food was bland and there was no arrangement of keeping it warm while serving, which is bizzare since it is bound to get cold within minutes as this is a hill station.

I paid about 4000 for one night that I stayed in the month of Feb, which is off season for Shimla. Moreover, I had to take the camp taxi to go to the town, which was an additional 500 bucks. Good hotels slap bang in the middle of the town could be had at less than half the price. This was my first visit to Shimla, so I did not know the location nor the going rates for other properties in town when I booked this, but was completely taken aback when I found out once there. When I asked the staff during check out why it was so expensive during off season, they told me it is my fault that I did not negotiate a discount at the time of booking (which I made over phone/email with their contact person in Delhi) The booking agent at the HPTDC office and the two local drivers that I hired, all thought that with these rates and the location, it was way over priced and almost every other property in and around Shimla was a better deal in one way or the other.

So if you are looking to visit this place anytime, esp during off season, ask for at least a 40% off on their rack rate, otherwise you would be much better off in one of the several hotels in Shimla.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The stay at Potters Hill holds special importance for me as it was my one of the best interfaces with adventure and also because of there eco-friendly approach towards the environment. It provides lots of opportunities for those who love adventure as well as nature. Away from the hustle-bustle of the city, this camp is mood-lifter and exciting for one and all.
The time I had at Potters Hill with my friends will always remain memorable for me. It has great location, good accommodation, exciting adventure activities, very good staff and instructors, fun-filled bonfire nights and also the very famous sunset….in short, it can be said that Potters Hill is a watch-out destination for all the people who want a break.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmuDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
0.7 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#17 of 113 in Shimla
253 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 113 in Shimla
608 reviews
1.8 km away
Camp Offthecity
Camp Offthecity
#4 of 140 in Shimla
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Mashobra Greens
Mashobra Greens
#1 of 2 in Mashobra
63 reviews
9.5 km away
Hail Himalayas
Hail Himalayas
#1 of 4 in Shoghi
96 reviews
6.3 km away
Vatika Resorts
Vatika Resorts
#7 of 140 in Shimla
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Potters Hill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Potters Hill

Property: Camp Potters Hill
Address: Summer Hill, Shimla 171005, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,600 - ₹ 11,500
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Potters Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Camp Potters Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Potters Hill Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing