We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel at hotel prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Ranked #69 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
almunecar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hostel at hotel prices”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The quality of the accommodation was poor. As we were there in a cold, rainy spell, we found the room freezing cold and although we were offered a one bar electric heater, it did not warm the room. The dining area was cold and inhospitable so we took food in our rooms. It was freshly cooked but the whole stay was more like being in a cut price hostel than a hotel. There only seemed to be two staff on duty and building work was going on so some of the areas were derelict looking. The pick up and drop off service worked well once, but we were stranded one time in town despite having made a call to request a pick up. The setting in the pine forest is the best thing about the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Chief Operating Officer at Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and, also, for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for the discomfort caused to you during the course of your stay and are unhappy that our services were not upto your expectations. Please do drop me an email stating the exact tribulations faced by you, so that we may strive to improve our standards of service and give you a better stay on your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Sureet Sondhi
(Chief Operating Officer)
Fairmount Hotel, Shimla
Email: coo@fairmountindia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    67
    48
    23
    29
See reviews for
109
60
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Location: Far frm mall road +point hotel gives free drop & pickup to Mall.
Room: This summer was too hot fr delux room with no open windows. Provided a fan to sooth at night. May be in winter must be cold.
Near by: Jhaku temple but need vehicle to reach.
Sanjoli Market nearby & we walked dwn. fr cming up hire local taxi @109 bucks
Food: Ok, try sitting in portico of first floor rooms as dining hall is very cramped
Service:Ok. Get ur own stuff if one wants to be sober in evening.
Surrounding:Excellent valley view & peaceful
Overall: Average fr the price

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijit119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeevSahrotra, Public Relations Manager at Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Fairmount Hotel, Shimla.

We are delighted to read your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time out to post them on the Trip advisor.

Please do let us know if there is anything we can do to improve further.

We would love to hear from you.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Fairmount Hotel, Shimla.

Best Wishes,

Sureet Sondhi
(Chief Operating Officer)
Fairmount Hotel, Shimla
Email: coo@fairmountindia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Upon reachin the boundry of Himachal Pradesh, or to the borders of Shimla town one can see the pine jungle and the pine trees. I too wonder am I going to stay in the area where the lumber jacks are staying. To my wonder I got to a hotel Faormount. It is actually on the mountain and nearer to Jakhoo hill. This hotel is surounded by pine trees and these trees are easily about 40 to 50 years of age. To my surprise there is no cutting of these trees and the way they built the hotel seem to they love the trees than the hotel. it self. The surrounding it self is very clean and the hotel itself is clean. All the staffs are English speaking so the communication barrier is lifted. I am impressed by the staff name Devaraj, very helpul and hardworking. He was able to help us in many ways. The food in the hotel is good and the breakfast is standard according to Indian standard. No compains. One morning I have to check out as eqrly as 7 am to reach early in Manali, the hotel staffs were able to make tea / coffee for us. Enjoyed the stay in the hotel as this type of envoirment is new to me.

Room Tip: take a room in the end of the First floor, As it is beside a balcony. Sit and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank santhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeevSahrotra, Owner at Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Fairmount Hotel, Shimla.

We are delighted to read your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time out to post your them on the Trip advisor.

It greatly pleases us to know that our services were upto your expectations and that your stay was a comfortable one.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Fairmount Hotel, Shimla.

Best Wishes,

Sureet Sondhi
(Chief Operating Officer)
Fairmount Hotel, Shimla
Email: coo@fairmountindia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Frankly speaking, this property does not seems like hotel. It Was a hostel sometime ago, which I came to know when I stayed there last Summers. This altogether is a good property as being away from maddening crowd of the city. To sum up, I must state the pros and Cons:

Pros:

1. Nice Rooms and even better service
2. Food is Excellent
3. Away from City at a good height, hence cooler then City
4. Pick-up and drop facility to Mall.

Cons:

1. Overpriced
2. Limited service in terms of Restaurant and other curricular activities.

Suggestion: Choose this hotel, if you want to get away from City and at quieter areas with nothing much to do except taking walk around the area.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the valley.. they are available at premium..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bismarck007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeevSahrotra, Owner at Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Fairmount Hotel, Shimla.

We are delighted to read your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time out to post your them on the Trip advisor.

Please do drop me an email stating the tribulations faced by you, so that we may strive to improve our standards of service and give you a better stay on your next visit.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Fairmount Hotel, Shimla.

Best Wishes,

Sureet Sondhi
(Chief Operating Officer)
Fairmount Hotel, Shimla
Email: coo@fairmountindia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patiala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It has small rooms , and a high price which is not at all worthy . Its cost should be at least half it claims . Hotel is located at a far away place from main Shimla . However , they may offer u free pick n drop to the Mall road , but still u misses the Shimla charm when u stay at so far , lonely place.Though i was impressed by the reviews it had on this site and booked this hotel , but i chose to stay away from here due to above reasons.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPatiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeevSahrotra, Owner at Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and, also, for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for the discomfort caused to you during the course of your stay and are unhappy that our services were not upto your expectations. Please do drop me an email stating the tribulations faced by you, so that we may strive to improve our standards of service and give you a better stay on your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Sureet Sondhi
(Chief Operating Officer)
Fairmount Hotel, Shimla
Email: coo@fairmountindia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.8 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#22 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
9.2 km away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#25 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens

Property: Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Address: Earls Field Estate, Shimla 171002, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,342 - ₹ 22,811
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing