We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Hotel de Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Park
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Hotels Okay..The Rooms aree large and offer a good view of the highway below. The Minus Point is its distance from the Shimla City (5Kms). You cannot Go Walking upto the city. The Ambience is ok. The Food is excellent. You dont have to stay the whole day in the hotel so Its Adjustable. Value for money.

Room Tip: Choose Any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pms8296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

We reached the hotel around 2 hours early but altough the rooms were vacant they didn't allow early checkin. We have to wait in the reception area only. There is no staff in the reception to welcome you. Manager comes after 12:00 PM. Somehow we got the room 15 minutes before 12:00 PM (Check-in) time. The room was not as per the expectation and pictures shown on the website. There was no towel, soaps, toilet paper. The bedsheet and pillow covers were dirty. The quilt was also quite old and dirty. We ordered one extra blanket in hope of getting cleaned one but it was in fact more bad smelling and dirty.
They do not offer filter water, they call tanker and just filter the water by cloth while emptying the water tanker to their underground reservior.

It seems that management is looking to shut it down very soon with their poor service in all the area.
Location is 5Km from Shimla, thus you have to catch the taxi, bus or your own car whenever going to Shimla Mall Road. No good view from the hotel you can only see the traffic on the road moving.

I would not suggest this hotel from any perspective to anyone, simply waste of money.

Room Tip: Bad choice, no no
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Praveenkumar140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The experience at the hotel was not good. It doesn't look hygenic. Food quality and room service is bad. Restaurant attached to it also looks morose and it is located outside Shimla. If you are going to stay here its gonna be difficult for you to go to mall road as it is difficult to find a parking space near to that.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KNN_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

we booked our room through yatra.com, room was not up to the mark ,in very bad shape, no electricity for hours,no power back up, cable connection is of poor quality, interrupted and staff there is highly uncooperative. so many hidden charges with no explanation. To get taxi from the hotel is another difficulty we faced and no cooperation from the hotel staff. i recommend think so many times before check in .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vktiwari11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We had a OK experience. Although had higher expectations. The service was good but the food wasn't. The room was dull and bathroom was not very clean. We complained and got it cleaned.
Anyways we had good time in Shimla. You have to get a cab or bus to go the main Mall Area. However the place is quieter and view from room is great. I dont think I would go here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 117 in Shimla
317 reviews
0.2 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
30.6 km away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#8 of 117 in Shimla
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#87 of 117 in Shimla
304 reviews
3.3 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
874 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 117 in Shimla
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Park

Address: Shimla Kalka Road | Kalka-Shimla National Highway, Shimla 171005, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 1,928 - ₹ 6,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Park 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Yatra, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel de Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Park Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing