We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

A HPTDC hotel is "what the ad says" and thats why I rate this hotel "very good" . there are, generally, no unpleasant surprises.

we drove on our own to shimla and safe parking was necessary. though shimla has paid parking at various locations but within premises is certainly preferable and this hotel had the same in ample amount.

the rooms were comfortable, the linen clean and laundary service -well priced and efficient. we had booked DBR deluxe and for the tariff charged it was value for money.

for the lunch we had himachali food at the restaurant and were served with delicious sepu vadi and angoori chicken. the chinese for dinner was just about ok

no great views from our room but the other rooms, higher on the tariff, did seem to be well positioned.

the "Ayurvedic Rejuvenation Therapy" room is a poor man's spa. the staff was talented but the decor and ambiance was a let down. The combermere hotel nearby had better facilities and also - good restaurants

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onilgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    149
    75
    14
    10
See reviews for
150
63
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide Traveller
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Had a great couple of nights here our room was very spacious and we had a great veiw of the city - The hotel itself is a little in need of refurbishment but it kept very clean and the staff were wonderful to us - The bar man even re-opened so we could slip in a quick night cap our last evening there.
It is in a great location very close to the Mall and if your prepared to take your life in your hands and walk the 200 yards along the road to the lift it is literally 10 mins

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

nice hotel with good location very much near to the lift and mall road.

spacious rooms with wall 2 wall carpet and at a gud price.

though the service level is not upto the mark.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinaybasundhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Very Good stay in this hotel, ambiance, staff and rooms were good and cozy. Food in the restaurant was really awesome but expensive. Their travel desk was good and helped us to reach manali when the hptdc bus was cancelled. Overall good stay and warm welcome to HP

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NageshBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

One of the factors that made my Shimla Trip memorable was this hotel! Really excellent place to stay. The rooms are good. The room service - excellent. The main thing when you check into an hotel is that you should feel like staying there right away. Trust me this is the place which gives you that feeling. It also has a cybercafe and videogames centre for your kids. I just loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylarFromPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.3 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.3 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home

Property: HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home
Address: Circular Road, Near High Court | near Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,399 - ₹ 4,444
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Home is run by Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. The hotel is situated on the Circular Road near Lift. The Hotel facilities are - drive in, parking within premises, multi-cuisine restaurant and bar, coffee shop, room service, laundry. The rooms are tastefully done with attached baths. The hotel is conveniently located from the city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing