We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

we three couples visited the hotel in March 2012 , Though its a government hotel so we had our doubts regarding the quality of rooms , But to our surprise the rooms were very grand and excellent , food was outstanding and the staff was very courteous as well .

I will recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit shimla , its complete value for money ....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amol_123delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    149
    75
    15
    10
See reviews for
152
63
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
195 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

pros
Drive in location with ample parking space.
Deluxe and higher category rooms have good view
Cheap among the lot in same category
Can b booked online with no bargain

Cons:
Luxury is missing from rooms
Restaurant is a big turn down as service is really slow
Quite a steep walk to the ridge

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had booked the Shimla Suite on the long easter weekend. The hotel is located on the better part of Circular Road & is around half a KM ahead of the Lifts. It has a drive in parking though it does require a great amount of driving skill to give way when you are going up & suddenly there's a vehicle coming down. The drive in is quite steep & is narrow. But then this is true for the whole of Shimla.
Location:
The location of the hotel is awesome & is extremely convenient. Located at a walkable distance from the lifts & yet away from the hustle & bustle & the mess around the lift. The rooms have a view of the shimla hills & watching the city lights in the night is a view to remember.
Rooms:
We were allotted a Super deluxe room as the Suite room was having some plumbing problem. This super deluxe room was a corner room (201) and so had views on two of its side. Though the room was small yet it made up by way of its liveliness. Subsequently we were shifted to the Suite room (S1) in the annexe block. The Suite room was similar in size to the super deluxe room except that it had a small living room attached to it. I found the room to be very charming & attractive & inspite of the fact that it was fully carpetted it looked & smelt nice. The bed though small was comfortable. The walls was tastefully done in mirrors & carpets so as to give a feeling of being spacious. The roof also had small mirrors embedded & so it was great to see shimla lights all around the room at night. The LCD TV had a cable connection & though there were a limited number of channels it worked well.
Bathroom:
Very neat & clean & well maintained. The shower area was enclosed in a cubicle which was a welcome change from the other Himachal Tourism hotels. The towels were crisp & clean though the toiletteries were quite basic.
Food:
Very tasty. The food at Himachal Tourism hotels have always been edible but food here was awesome & the portions were huge too. The Kadhaai Paneer, the Chicken Curry, cutlets, naan everything highly recommended.
Service:
Terribly let down on this front. I prefer Himachal Tourism hotels as I require a lot of facilities by way of cooking meal for my small child, getting milk warmed for him. This was the only Himachal Tourism hotel where I was refused the use of kitchen. Infact I had a bitter experience when one of the waiters asked for Rs.50/- to get the milk warmed. Terrible.
Even the check out was very messy with the reception people being totally out of clue at the large number of check outs. Had to almost wait for half an hour before clearing the bills and having my luggage shifted to the car. This is one of the bigger hotels of Himachal Tourism having a large number of rooms & so the staff is really hard pressed here.
Overall experience:
Inspite of poor service I had a wonderful experience & would definitely prefer to go back in one of the quieter times.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

One of the best hotels, or perhaps the best to stay in Shimla. Located just 500 mtrs from the official lift and even at walking distace to mall from High court side.
The room sizes is huge and the decor and service is no match even to 5star properties of the city. The only thing missing is the bath tubs. Even the suite does not have this facility. Though the bath size is good.
The maasage parlour is also quite relaxing.
The food is excellent though service in restaurent at times is slow due to the heavy rush.

An experience worth remebering.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akshay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed at HHH last 2 nights. The location of this hotel is simply awesome. There is a short cut from the rear of the hotel which takes you straight to the Mall Road, which is more or less the epicenter of shimla. I found the check in to be fast and the rooms were tidy and ready. The only problem was that since I was traveling with parents and kids I had to request for some quilts which took a long time to organize. I guess the house keeping staff was not too keen on providing the same. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and got everything organized.

Food at the hotel though pricey but was very tasty. Hotel is normally booked the entire season and therefore I recommend that advance booking be made.

P.S. just in case you donot want to walk all the way from The Mall lift you can Take a dropping from tha taxi stand to the hotel for Rs. 100. :-)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and found very good views from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mukul-IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.2 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#23 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.3 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home

Property: HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home
Address: Circular Road, Near High Court | near Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,500 - ₹ 5,500
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Home is run by Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. The hotel is situated on the Circular Road near Lift. The Hotel facilities are - drive in, parking within premises, multi-cuisine restaurant and bar, coffee shop, room service, laundry. The rooms are tastefully done with attached baths. The hotel is conveniently located from the city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
HPTDC Hotel Holiday Home Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing