We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for Short Stay”
Review of Sunrise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Villa
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Option for Short Stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A group of 6 of us, with two children, stayed at Sunrise Villa for one night on 04 June 2012. When we arrived at 1 PM (1300 hrs), the rooms were still being cleaned. The person manning the office, was not very concerned about the delay that was being caused in handing over the rooms to us. We had to give him a piece of our mind before things moved.

Positives -
The homsestay is located in a picturesque location, away from highway traffic and the hustle-bustle of Shimla.
The rooms are decent and adequately furnished.
The food is homely and decently priced.
The Tara Devi temple located 3 km away is a nice challenging drive away and worth a visit.
One can spend a quiet day there, watching the scenery and reading.

Negatives -

Parking is scarce (only for 3 cars).
It takes more than 30 - 40 minutes to reach Shimla.
The people manning the reception are slack and did not seem to be very concerned about ensuring that guests were comfortable.
The two bedroom suite has only one bathroom.
The quality of towels and soap was not very good.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suite (family suite) has only one bathroom. The ground floor room has no privacy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satsmalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review. The guest occupying the room checked out beyond 12:00 . noon so there was some delay in cleaning the rooms, we apologies for this. Regarding two room family suite we have published the layout and pictures of the suite on our website and also send the same to guests before booking so as to make them aware about the layout of the same. This is the link of the same: http://www.sunrisevilla.in/family-suite.htm.
The layout is self explanatory. The suite has separate toilet and bathroom and washbasin is there in the lobby for more convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    92
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
116
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

i stayed in the hotel but soon I relize this is not for us infact that was gud for the stay of your pets the treatment of villas owners like very bad so i change my hotel within 12 hours there was a bad smell of sewar in all the rooms and surroundings never think to go there in such kind of hotels.

Room Tip: do not evene think to go such hotels or stay there for the pleasure trip do not recommend to any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Fake review, nothing to comment on the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I had visited this place in the last week of may 2012 and this was a very good experience.
I was driving in my car from Delhi with my family and As this is on the way to Shimla the road condition was very good and was saved from peak shimla city traffic.

After a tiring drive of 300 odd Kms from Delhi, I was happier to see a home type setup where there was enough parking space and warm hosts and all necessary amenities.

I see this place as more of home stay than a formal hotel where you get friendly atmosphere and good home made north Indian food (note that Non veggies may face difficulties as they don’t allow Non veg food inside the campus& I hope alcohol too).

On 2 night 3 day stay here, we enjoyed the calmness, coolness, stunning and beautiful views of the valley (which is yet to be commercialized) and was at short distance from tara devi temple (whose driving experience itself would be a separate story)

This place is really good for family with kids as well as honeymooners.
They have a small lawn and few park chairs where you can relax and chat.

Almost 2 weeks later I have started missing this place, the calmness in the scorching heat dust and pollution of Delhi.

I am desiring to go there during this winter to enjoy what I miss in Delhi as well the slow clad mountains.

Thanks for your support and care by Sunrise villa team.

Regards, Vairavan PL

Room Tip: Ask for Valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vairavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is not in Shimla... I stayed there for 2 nights... Choose this one if you would like to escape for the crowd in Shimla. I had to pay Rs.300 for one way from Mall Road to this hotel. But its worth paying it as you will save on the accommodation. The hotel management helps in arranging taxi ride to go around Shimla. This more like a home stay. The view of the hills was great. You won't get see crowded Buildings... The place is actually a kilometer away from the Shogi railway station. I took RailMotor from Kalka to Shogi. So we told the driver to stop at Shogi. The other toy trains take you directly to Shimla. I have attached some photos I took from the hotel room

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This place is the best option to stay if visiting Shimla.We stayed in their family suite,which is spacious and comfortable.The furnishings are kept to a bare minimum but no complaints!The rooms are clean and hot water is available 24 hours a day,service is up to the mark.The view from the rooms is beautiful.for those who seek calm surroundings and quiet atmosphere,Sunrise villa is the place.Evening walks to the near by Shoghi railway station are memorable.The food is home made and very tasty,thanks to Mrs.Shalini Aggarwal.The whole Aggarwal family is very welcoming and very accomodating.

Room Tip: Choose the family suite if travelling with family..Good view and good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelobuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
8.6 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
7.7 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#16 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#86 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#56 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villa

Property: Sunrise Villa
Address: Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 171219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shimla
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,168 - ₹ 5,947
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunrise Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a good hotel / resort stay in Shimla, visit Sunrise Villa, a mini resort for affordable, economical, homely yet luxurious stay in Shimla in the lap of nature away from the congested city. Facilities include: drive-in-parking, lush green lawns, fruit trees, flower beds, peaceful surroundings with neat and clean environment and rooms, home-made hygienically prepared buffet vegetarian meals served across the dining table in the dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Sunrise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Villa Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Villa Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing