We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunrise Villa
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Visited Shimla during week of 26th Jan to 29th Jan. Sunrise villa offers very decent stay with good hospitality and very good food. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Owner's famly, Munish and Shalini made very extremely helpful and made our stay very comfortable. This place is 13Kms from Shimla and is actually very welcome break from they city. True to its name - morning sun reaches your room and freshes you up ......

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor offer good view and sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vijay_kBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thanks for your review about our villa. You had booked the accommodation through travel agent, it was a pleasant surprise to see that we were past colleagues in VSNL Mumbai. Thanks for appreciating our services. You have given the right room tip, all rooms on the higher floors have independent private balconies with panoramic views of the valley and are east facing. You can enjoy sunrise from the distant Himalayas from all the rooms. There is no lift in our villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    92
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
116
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We liked the place a lot. A decent and affordable stay. View was great and kids had a great time though it was freezing cold in our room on the 4th floor. Food was simple, tasty and hygienic.
Do not expect hotel like service and housekeeping as they are a bit relaxed about it. If you want a change of towels or any cleaning to be done, you will have to ask for it. Loved the place though and would like to stay there again. Mr Mukesh, the car driver attached to the Villa was well informed and a great tour guide. Thanks Mr Munish Agarwal!

Room Tip: The view from the 4th floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asha_dechu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thanks for your review. Regarding room service and house keeping, we have limited room service. Food is normally served in the dining room on the ground floor. Change of towels and cleaning is done for guests who leave the keys and instructions with us while going outside or whenever requested by the guests.. As such we provide best possible facility / service required by the guests as per their convenience.
Looking forward for your next visit to Sunrise Villa Shimla.
regards,
Munish Aggarwal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had the most peaceful and hospitable stay with excellent home cooked vegetarian food. Mr Munish Agarwal, his family and his team ( Ranjit and Narayan) went out of the way to make us comfortable. The driver (Ishwar) was very accommodating and informative. This homestay is located away from the bustle of Shimla but near enough to visit, by car or local bus. There is plenty of opportunity to walk in the hills around and the scenery is stunning. For the train buff you can see the tracks from some rooms and with a keen eye you can see the trains passing. You can take a half an hour walk to Shoghi station and sit and watch the trains too. The rooms are large and clean, heaters can be provided in winter. We strongly recommend this place for a blissful holiday

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your review. Happy to read about your comfortable stay at Sunrise Villa Shimla and found our service to your satisfaction.
regards,
Munish Aggarwal
info@sunrisevilla.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in Sunrise villa in December 2011. We shortlisted this place after reading various reviews on the internet, mainly tripadvsor. We found this place better than what we imagined by reading all this stuff. We had our own vehicle and reached sunrise villa as guided by the owners with ease. The parking was inside the premises so I didn’t had to worry about the same this time.

We found this place quite and picturesque, that what we wanted away from the city noise. The room was neat and clean having a big balcony facing towards the valley. The room allotted to us was on the fourth floor (no lift), which had sloping wooden roof and a huge terrace outside. We spent hours in the morning enjoying the sun and sunrise on this terrace.

Food was good but simple and we got the same prepared according to our taste (We are Jains and do not use onions and garlic). The owners also allowed us to prepare food for our child in their Kitchen. The staff was helpful and helped us in all our requirements with a smile. As we went there to take a break and relax, we didn’t go our much, just a half day visit to Shimla during our four day stay. There is parking problem in Shimla city and one has to walk a lot to see the mall road and ridge.

This was my third visit to Shimla. If we compare facilities like quality of room, food quality,
cleanliness and location this place is far better and cheaper than the hotels I stayed earlier in Shimla. The only drawback is this place is 13 kms before Shimla (this does not apply to me as I was searching a place away from the crowd this time).

Overall our experience was good and satisfying.

Room Tip: Choose room on the fourth floor as it has a big terrace and a high level of privacy. There are two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review and appreciating the home made food cooked for you as per your liking. Our staff also took note of your kitchen tips while you assisted them in the kitchen. Do visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I booked Sunrise villa after going through reviews at Trip advisor.

On reaching Shoghi by toy train, i was given a pickup to the hotel which was a nice start. At Sunrise villa I was given a room with one of the best views (although i had to climb four floors to get there but was worth it). The room was clean and the place was quite as i wanted. But thats the end of the good part.

The food at Sunrise villa was pretty simple. The cost did not justify the food served (no variety) and quality of food (once found a hair in my chapati). You can get lot better food at the dhabas at Shoghi market at nearly half the cost. (Me and my wife still have dreams of the best tandoori parathas and tea i ever had at one dhaba at the market, sorry forgot the name of it)

The sight seeing transport provided at Sunrise villa is pretty high priced. You can get similar package at 30% discount at Shimla (which includes drop at Shoghi).

To summarize, sunrise villa is quite, clean and beautiful place to stay but the management has taken advantage of same by high priced food and expensive travel.
In all i would recommend Sunrise villa if you want to be away from crowd at shimla and have your own vehicle which you can take for sight seeing and for having food outside.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thanks for your review about Sunrise Villa Shimla.
Regarding quality of our food, we offer simple home cooked vegetarian meals and use the best ingredients available and anyone can have a look of it in our kitchen ( which no hotel allows). It is unfortunate that you found a hair in your food, and you didn't brought it to our notice. Errors can happen by anyone, you also took the key of the room along with you to Manali.
Sight seeing package details and prices are mentioned on the website. Our packages cover more places and justify their price. You didn't took anyone of these packages and went to Shimla for sightseeing by bus. Do not mislead people and be specific. Himachal tourism also conducts daily sight seeing packages by deluxe bus which are much economical.
For very low budget tourists rooms are easily available from Rs 500 onwards and so is the food in Shimla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
8.6 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
7.7 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#52 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villa

Property: Sunrise Villa
Address: Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 171219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shimla
#9 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,833 - ₹ 5,929
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunrise Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a good hotel / resort stay in Shimla, visit Sunrise Villa, a mini resort for affordable, economical, homely yet luxurious stay in Shimla in the lap of nature away from the congested city. Facilities include: drive-in-parking, lush green lawns, fruit trees, flower beds, peaceful surroundings with neat and clean environment and rooms, home-made hygienically prepared buffet vegetarian meals served across the dining table in the dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunrise Villa Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Villa Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing