We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay before Shimla”
Review of Sunrise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Villa
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place to stay before Shimla”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Sunrise Villa is a nice place to stay before Shimla specially when you are self driving from NCR and tired when about to reach Shimla. Excellent view of the SunRise in the morning. Homely food and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrabhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
thanks for your review, looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    92
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
116
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We went by toy train fortunately train stopped @shogi station, So we happily got down there. We called sunrisevilla reception then they picked up us from station. It is a Homestay kind of type but you get the feel of hotel. Nice balcony view is there. Since we went on the off season whether is Not so chill :-( You have to stay between nov to end of feb. Main thing you have to notice before staying in this hotel is its far from shimla city around 13Kms. So its difficult to visit Mall road(Most enjoyed palce) in the evening because you have to come back to shogi(you have to depend on taxi). So I wont suggest this hotel as far as travelling convenience. Rest of the thing is good. And regarding food there is a home prepared food available for that you have to give order in advance. There is no alternative hotel near by this for food. They provided shimla+Manali package per day @1900/- It was quite comfortable. Driver was good

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akhilraj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I booked it by the reviews of trip advisor. Had a good stay and the view is the exceptional feature among all. Home cooked food is really good. I booked krishna travels through them and found that i had paid 50 Rs higher than than actual fare for one ticket. The fare is 450.

The view from the room is breathtaking for that u can spend lot of time in Soghi.

Overall the stay was really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riyaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here recently for 2 nights. I wanted to stay for 3 but it was a holiday weekend and the third night was fully booked. Firstly, the room was nice and the view was fantastic and the value good at one thousand two hundred rupees a night. The hotel is around 13kms from Shimla itself. I caught the bus from Chandigarh and it was fine to get off in Shogi, where the hotel is located, and get a taxi from the bus stand for fifty rupees, to the hotel. Getting to Shimla and back by bus is very easy and the buses are very regular.
The hotel has internet access with computers for guests use in the office on the top floor. Munish, the host is very nice indeed as are all the owners and staff that I met.
I managed to get a hotel room in Shimla itself for my third night but if I hadn't, Munish would have managed to get me a bed somewhere around Shogi. This was a really nice touch and I was glad of the extra effort. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 3bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Anyone wishing to step back from the hive of activity in Shimla or India in general could do no better than this gorgeous retreat offering some of the most breathtaking views of the valley and surrounding mountains from every balcony. Coupled with fantastic home-made Indian food, internet and extremely helpful staff this was perfect to just sit back, chill and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasCarroll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
8.6 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
7.7 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
7.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#16 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#86 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#56 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villa

Property: Sunrise Villa
Address: Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 171219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shimla
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,168 - ₹ 5,947
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunrise Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a good hotel / resort stay in Shimla, visit Sunrise Villa, a mini resort for affordable, economical, homely yet luxurious stay in Shimla in the lap of nature away from the congested city. Facilities include: drive-in-parking, lush green lawns, fruit trees, flower beds, peaceful surroundings with neat and clean environment and rooms, home-made hygienically prepared buffet vegetarian meals served across the dining table in the dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Sunrise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Villa Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Villa Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing