We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but not value for money”
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Combermere
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but not value for money”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed in Pent House 0n 1st Sept.12,the location ,room ambiance,house keeping amenities are good, but in the tariff range of above Ten thousand we expect coffee-tea maker in the room but not available.The water in taps are very dirty for bathing,wait for 20 minutes to clear the mud coming from taps.
The location of hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank groverbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    219
    55
    19
    22
See reviews for
197
114
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The best confectionary in town, a delightful menu serving authentic delicious cuisine and service that's impeccable....Combemere is a treat to visit. The terrace restaurant has awesome ambience and a great way to spend the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Well, we went to shimla and had a small doggie with us who we were taking around in a Pram since she doesnt trouble/bark/bite anyone. Firstly, there is no place to sit anywhere in Shimla to even have a decent cup of tea! Nevertheless we went to Combermere and requested the manager there to allow us to eat something while we place the pram next to us with a small doggie in it... he said alright to it and asked us to take a seat in the corner of the restaurant so as not to disturb anyone. It was not even lunch time, it was 4pm.... we agreed to it since we were hungry and wished to eat and then drive back to kasauli where we were staying. Sadly after sitting down and going through the menu we called the server to take our order. Instead we had the manager who came and said sorry our management saw the dog in the pram through the CCTV. After this blatant lies where the manager mentions to us that "Oh i didnt know it was a dog in the pram", Why would someone ask him for permission if we had a baby in the pram instead?? Before this, we requested to use the loo (since this hotel is right next to the elevator), to which they retorted very arrogantly (not even being polite) "No, either dine here or do not use the loo" This really displayed how Unwelcoming the locals of Shimla are to visitors since no one seems to be helpful. And with regards to hospitality from this hotel... being a hotelier i would never recommend this to anyone.

When someone says No to something in hospitality, it should be substantiated with an alternate. Clearly this management does not really have the basics correct so i would'nt blame them for being No. 13 on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingOfG00dTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Its the best hotel if you would like to visit Shimla and be off and on on Mall.It has a private lift to Mall Road.Rooms are good Service is good.This hotel should be given full marks for its location as one can just walk on the Mall at any given point of time.....Staff is helpful and all sevices are as per standard of a 4 star Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The stay in combermere is a treat for sure, but I can't say much about that as we have our home in Shimla and we stayed there.
We went here for dinner with our parents and were pleasantly surprised by the choice of food available.
The food was fresh, delicious and left us wanting for more. Their scrumptious pastries served as a grand finale. If you step out of the restaurant, towards their lift, the view is to die for... a beautiful place...must visit in Shimla.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurnimaRajtaDhillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 112 in Shimla
480 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 112 in Shimla
276 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,059 reviews
4.2 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#12 of 112 in Shimla
248 reviews
7.0 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#15 of 112 in Shimla
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Property: Hotel Combermere
Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,333 - ₹ 10,659
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, OYO Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla
Hotel Combermere Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing