We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central hotel”
Review of Hotel Combermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Combermere
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“very central hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position .The rooms were comfortable but a little bit shabby.The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff excellent .It was waiter service and everything was spot on .Having the private lift to the mall was a bonus although the layout of the hotel was at times confusing.Lovely views across the valley all rooms are forward facing

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanrobinson190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    217
    55
    16
    22
See reviews for
193
112
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we stayed here for one night before shifting to wildflower hall to visit the mall,
the place is kept not that clean. as it use to be few years before i was staying here for the 3rd time in 16 years.
shame on the management , the front desk girl have no smile or even says welcome we you reach her.
as you reach room TV cable do not work dust around table and desk .
when you use shower the water stand in tub do not release as blocked.
no tea maker in room .
no water bottles in room
and you are paying Rs6500/- per night.
Break fast not bad no buffet.
on return when ask the same girl you people dont even smile, she say nothing its the management which seems to taken business for granted.
i will never stay here again paying that price with poor service without smile with dirty bed sheets

Room Tip: take rooms at 5th Floor the size of rooms better and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vishalvinayak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The view from our room was far reaching and spectacular. The room and bathroom were clean and attractive, and the free wifi worked usually. Access to the lovely little town was easy. Room was chilly when the sun went in until the heating went on later in the evening, and dinner in the dining room had to be eaten with coats on. Some diners even wore wooly hats. The food there was good.The top floor cafe was warm and the food was good. Reception were very helpful, as were all the staff we met.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sueandallan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nalda , India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Combermere is located at what I would call the best location in shimla. Its at the head of mall road, has its own lift to it ( one can go any number of times ), it’s close to the railway station, just 1 km and a half away and has some awesome views to offer. There are atleast 4 different view-points of Shimla valley from the hotel itself.

We were two couples and 2 children, booked a package from Antilog Vacations famous for himanchal tourism . We had got a good deal 30 k for 3d 3n breakfast dinner included, and we were upgraded to suites after a day .If we had tried everything by ourselves , it would have costed us more , so advisable to take a tour package.

Parking is bit congested but is problem of whole Shimla not just of this hotel.. The room had a spacious living room with a TV of its own and an adjoining bedroom with floor to roof views on the right. Bathroom was reasonably clean with a bathtub and separate shower closet. They also do not provide with individual heaters and their central heating is switched on only in the night time.

The restaurants are really nice, there is one on roof-top offering superb view of valley. They have all cuisines at offer Chinese, continental, Indian. We stuck to the north Indian fortay, my wife is z just obsessed with the Nan’s and the Dal’s and Paneer’s. Children had some Chinese, I found it decent to my taste. Cafe Sol provides one of best bakery products in Shimla. In addition to all this they have a really nice Bar, nice ambience, although we din’t spend much time there, we had children with us. There is also a gym, I din’t see it but my wife went there for a while. I can say we had our money worth.

A good services by our travel agent , cheap & reliable.Nice work by hotel staff as well.ATB in their future endeavours.

Room Tip: Hill facing rooms in this hotel are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mahendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I went to Shimla with my spouse and 2.5 years daughter on September 2010. We stayed in Combermere Hotel. The Hotel has the best location in Shimla if you are travelling with your family...just in heart of the Shimla City near Lift and Mall. We went there in monsoons and it was heavily raining on that day. I have asked for a Airport pick up from Chandigarh Airport. They have provided a good quality Innova Car (have to pay for it). The Driver was good and he has inofrmed the hotel Reception when we reached near the hotel lift. It was really raining badly and I was worried how to take my daughter in the hotel. To my surprise when we reaced the parking lot 3 persons were standing with big umbrellas to take us to the hotel. The decor of the hotel was good. We stayed there in a Luxury Suit in th efirst floor. The suite was having a bed room and a living room. It was lean season so there were not many tourist inthe hotel. Room service was awesome in the hotel. they used to cook us a special khichri (not in the menu card) for my daughter (non spicy and home like).
Bakery is buiteful, it's so vibrant and lively....we used to spend lot of our time sitting there ideally with a Cake and few cup of coffee. Location of the hotel is beyond comparision. They have a private lift also to take you to Mall (main tourist attraction in Shimla).
Resuturant is also good and serves very good and tasty food (reasonable priced). The BAR was well stocked (though I have not used it). The hotel also offers all tyoe of compfort SPA, GYM etc...(I have not used them...I am not a fitness freak and don't like to use when I am travelling for vacation)
Overall a good and nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sougata12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#12 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.2 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#16 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Combermere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Combermere

Property: Hotel Combermere
Address: Opposite Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,468 - ₹ 11,377
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Combermere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, OYO Rooms, Yatra, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Combermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combermere Hotel Shimla
Hotel Combermere Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing