We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but unnecessorily expensive”
Review of Hotel Willow Banks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Willow Banks
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
pune
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice hotel but unnecessorily expensive”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

hotel rooms are nice, service is ok.
location is good being on mall road end.
only drawback is if you have luggage, it will make you cry to reach there climbing up.
also only premium rooms have hill view, deluxe rooms are waste to see a good view, though they are good from inside.
food is 4 times expensive in this hotel.
do not stay here if you want to eat inside the same hotel.

Room Tip: premier rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akshay1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    241
    84
    13
    17
See reviews for
211
157
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have been to this place just last weekend. It was indeed a good experience.

Pros:

1. Location is fantastic. Just near the lift and at the start of the mall road. You don't need to travel a lot for this.
2. Rooms were big and spacious with bath tubs and fridge.
3. Room service is lightening fast and humble. you don't have to remind them twice.
4. Breakfast was healthy and wholesome.

Cons:

1. Room is not equipped with ceiling fans. And the fans provided at the roof makes hell of noise.
2. Food served which we ordered from room service was pathetic and mediocre but heavily priced. The tomato soup was stinking.
3. Overall prices are quite high both rooms and food.

Some points to contemplate:

1. Breakfast is complimentary and charged in price. 400 per adult.
2.Buffet dinner costs 600 bucks per person which is good but pricey.
3. There are 3 types of rooms, deluxe, super deluxe and premium. All the rooms have same facilities with the difference of views. Even the room dimensions are same. So it hardly matters.

Decide the hotel on what you expect from it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Though a bit late since I stayed in first week of Dec'11. I wanted to share my experience worth spent in this cozy and comfortable hotel.
It was suggested to me, however, I was but skeptical seeing it in pics. But since it was coming from one of highly reliable source I took the chance and went ahead.
I showed me skepticism to the manager and he said to come first and check it yourself. i had the luxury of doing that since it was winters and there are less people. Still, I would like to thank the Hotel Management to provide me with this option, otherwise, most of the hotels will ask you to deposit some amount as token,
First of all - Its right on the mall road. THE BEST feature of this hotel.
Second - the service. It was prompt and caring.
Third - their rooms - I was in their highest category room.
The experience that tells me that the hotel cares about the guests - We were sleeping till late and got up around 10 am after an irritating sound. Checked and found workers doing some wall cleaning work right next to our room. Called reception and was pointed to call House keeping to inform about the inconvenience as we were there to take a break from the maddening crowd of Delhi.Lady answered the call and said ' ok sir, I will get it checked'. To my surprise, workers were gone and there was no noise for us to catch up on our sleep.
This really shows the way they value their customer's.
Excellent location on the mall road makes it really easy for you to roam around.

Thanks Management

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a good room at Hotel Willow Banks, facing the valley and watching the sun set everyday. The room itself was very spacious and clean with a really good, hot shower. It's located a 5 minute walk from the Mall which is good as we could avoid the noise and main traffic from that area. It's also located really close to an ice-cream shop which we went to nearly everyday.

The staff were also really really friendly and provided a very good service. So overall, it was a great experience. Two small drawbacks though:

1. Wi-fi was chargeable
2. We had a rude staff check us out. He was consistently rude during our stay there but the rest of the staff are fine

But overall, I'd definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a view of the valley. Quite beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phoenixsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I decided to stay in this hotel after making lots of search. Though I have experienced Combermere in the past so I wanted to try something similar but not same. Rooms are really good spacious with all modern amenities. Staff is really helpful and food quality is excellent. Only drawback I found internet is chargeable on daily basis that I never found in other hotels I stayed. I would recommend one to try this place. You will really love your stay here.

Regards,
Abhi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbhishekRaghav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.1 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
489 reviews
1.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,071 reviews
2.9 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#25 of 112 in Shimla
446 reviews
2.1 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.4 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#12 of 112 in Shimla
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Willow Banks? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Willow Banks

Property: Hotel Willow Banks
Address: Opp Tourism Lift, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#6 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#11 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,812 - ₹ 9,816
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Willow Banks 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Banks was established in the year 1871, a landmark estate which spells history and exemplifies an era of gracious living. Originally owned by Arthur James Craddok, "Architect and Builder of Shimla," in a fitting tribute to his memory the building has been redesigned into a hotel, endowed with all modern amenities and comforts, effortlessly blending into the surrounding pine trees, landscapes and enhancing its beauty. The hotel is located on The Heritage Mall Road, a pleasant walking distance from the famous Ridge, Scandal point, Lakkar Bazaar, Gaiety Theater, Ancient Kali Bari & Jakhoo Temple, High Court, Secretariat, C.M. Residence and Raj Bhavan. Amidst the age old Deodar and Pine trees, Willow Banks Estate on the Mall Road overlooks the lush green valley, the majestic mountains and the complete well lit town of Shimla. The hotel is easily accessible from the High Court Parking and the Tourism Lift, making staying a convenient proposition for one and all. The charming walking trails of Shimla are a pleasant stone's throw away from the hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, relaxation away from the busy city life, exploring natural beauties that the town has to offer or pumping adventure trips, Hotel Willow Banks at Shimla guarantees to make your vacation worth remembering. The blend of extremes, modern facilities in a heritage estate and picturesque views at the Mall Road level, make Willow Banks arguably the best hotel in Shimla. Also rated by TripAdvisor as amongst the top 10 Jewel Hotels of India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, OYO Rooms, Yatra, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Willow Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Banks Hotel
Willow Banks Shimla
Hotel Willow Banks Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing