We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel for the budget traveller”
Review of Ashiana Clarks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashiana Clarks Inn
Ranked #40 of 113 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Great room service, almost instant. Restaurant provides tasty food. very helpful staff. Only minus point was that it was very cold in Shimla during night time but still there was no central heating system nor any heater was provided in the room. The nights were a nightmare! But overall we did have a good stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank moshelinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Ashiana Clarks Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

This place is awful. Our 'delux' room was already sold to someone else when we arrived so spent the first night in a regular room. The sheets hardly covered the matress, the wood floors were scratched and worn and not mopped in either room. The bathroom wasn't gross, but certainly wasn't clean. Hot water was provided by an in-room water tank but ran out after only one brief shower. We ate two meals in the attached restaurant but the food was merely passable (and expensive). No coffee maker in the room and we couldn't believe that on both mornings it took room service 15 minutes to bring a pot of water and the usual small packets of instant coffee.

The staff seemed generally helpful and responsive but it was hard for them to make up for the general condition of the place. The rooms seemed like they were suited for a bare-bones hotel in the 1950s or 1960s although, in an ironic twist, the rooms has flat screen TV's. Unless you are actually looking for a ratty hotel don't even think about staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

The amount which they take is not worth for the room. Following things will describe how bad things are there at this hotel. We didn't get the room for 1 hour after check-in. When we get rooms, there was no power in one room. When we called staff, he didn't check properly. Lock of room was not getting locked. We complaint like 3 times but each time staff says lock is working properly. After 4 complaint, they admit that lock is not working properly and it needs to be changed. We need to shift the baggage from one room to other when we move out. We check-out and still lock was not repaired. Last but not the least, when we returned from sight seeing, our bags were open and things were lying here and there. When we complaint about the potential theft, they said some children might have done that... i mean what the ****
Food and tea at hotel restaurant was n't good either.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank respond2vikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The hotel was booked as a part of my honeymoon package by the travel agency.

The room is located at a very prominent location in Chhota Shimla and is very close to the main market. As such the hotel is located on the hilltop and has a very good scenery view of the Shimla hills.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were given a room , but we were a bit surprised that their room was not clean and also bedsheets were not clean. We immediately asked for the change of bedsheets but the room service is very slow. They turned up after an hour with new bedsheets which equally looked like it was not clean.

There are old CRT TVs with a very poor cable connection. Next, we ordered the food. The room service was pretty slow but the food was mediocre in taste, not very great but not bad also.

In the morning, we wanted hot water for bath as it is a bit cold in Shimla due to hill station area but the water boiler (geyser) does not works properly and the water is almost cold.

In short, the hotel is at a very good location but is poor in room service

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umesh007India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Services are good, view from the terrace restaurant is excellent, the staff & managers are quiet friendly & understanding.. the only draw back is that it is little bit away from the Mall Road lift.. you need a vehicle to reach there.
I would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dracs_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
12.3 km away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#97 of 113 in Shimla
52 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#16 of 113 in Shimla
307 reviews
3.2 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.7 km away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#33 of 113 in Shimla
321 reviews
3.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 113 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashiana Clarks Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashiana Clarks Inn

Address: Near Secretariat | Chotta Shimla, Shimla 171002, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Shimla
#12 Spa Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 3,726 - ₹ 7,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashiana Clarks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful property located in Shimla, also known as the queen of the hills. The view from most of the rooms is fantastic overlooking the valley on one side and the Shivalik range of the Himalayas on the other. It is a full service hotel with services like Room service, Multicuisine Restaurant, bar and laundry service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, TravelGuru, Booking.com, Agoda, EaseMyTrip and ClearTrip so you can book your Ashiana Clarks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashiana Clarks Inn Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing