We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location with heritage style”
Review of Clarkes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarkes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was an excellent hotel with an old-world style. We had a very large comfortable room. The breakfast was efficient and there was a comfortable bar and lounge. The service was very prompt, efficient and friendly. The location is excellent being at the end of the main shopping/walking area, the Mall.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seni0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us. I am also very grateful to you for the giving us the opportunity to serve.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 462 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel very comfortable and staff very helpful. Our room was very clean and there was a plentiful supply of hot water for baths and showers. The evenings were chilly but the heater and the extra quilt provided meant our room was very cosy.
Breakfast was very good and freshly prepared to order.
The hotel is well situated for exploring The Mall and The Ridge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibsonlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes and describing meticulously each feature and facilities provided. I am very grateful to you for the same.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel (on business). Hotel is located at one end of the Mall road, and one needs to hire a porter to lug the bags to the hotel. That said, the check-in was brisk and staff very courteous. Rooms are old (hotel built in 1898), but well furnished and has all the required amenities. The dining hall (that's what they call their restaurant) is on 1st floor, has okay views of the valley and had stewards / waiters dressed in typical dress of the British Raj club. Since I was on a meal plan, I had a choice between English and Indian dinner or breakfast; both of which are fine. Breakfast is not the typical breakfast buffet / spread but made to order.

They have heaters in each room and quilts to keep you warm.

Considering that this is Oberoi's first hotel, it is a good experience to stay here and enjoy the old world charm.

Room Tip: Get a meal plan like MAPAI (breakfast and lunch / dinner inclusive) else the meals are expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripwiz_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Quaint heritage hotel, a bit like stepping back in time. The rooms were well funished and equipped, good views out over the valley. Hotel up steps away from the road so porters needed to carry bags from the car.
Restaurant on lower ground floor quite formal but friendly staff. Food very good but a bit pricey, had the best vegetable biriyani I have ever eaten. Breakfast sometimes waiter service sometimes self service, choice of Indian or full English, cake and pastries the only disappointment.
Stayed a Diwali and hotel made it special for guests, laid on Indian sweets and a firework display.
Only problem at checkout when they were unable to process my credit card payment, debit card went through successfully.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes. We are humbled by the compliments you have bestowed on us. I am also very grateful to you for the same.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Quick and efficient check in from the very welcoming receptionist. Our room, No.48 was huge, one of the largest we've ever stayed in, there was a lovely seating area arranged around an old style fireplace, obviously not in use now but it still had a cosy effect.

Okay the decor is not on a par with modern top end hotels with their plush carpets and shiny marble but everything was clean, nice crisp bedding and lovely white towels and perfectly in keeping with the heritage hotel that it is, I wouldn't expect it to be any other way. We also had a dressing room, there was an in room safe, TV and tea making facilities, the ensuite bathroom had a good shower and plentiful supply of hot water.

The location for us was perfect, a short drive from the train station at the top end of the mall. This is a pedestrian street that runs for approx 300/500 yards with a good variety of shops, no hawkers and you can browse without being pestered which made a great change to the other cities we visited in India.

We ate both evenings at a restaurant recommended by our guide, it was at the opposite end of the mall to the hotel almost as far as you can go called 'The Devicos'. The Indian restaurant is downstairs, quite easy to miss the entrance but it's worth a visit, the staff were very freindly and helpful and the food was delicious. It cost with alcohol and more food than we could eat an average of £15.00 total for 2 people.

Breakfast in the hotel was waiter service which made a nice change, the food was well presented and served with a smile. All the staff, from Dolly the receptionist and Dhani the waiter down to the bell boy were very attentive and the service we recived was exceptional.

Each evening we had a turn down service at the same time they also washed our cups, replenished our tea/coffee suppplies, emptied the bins and even turned up our heater so the room was nice and cosy for us to return to. The evenings did get quite chilly outside so this was most welcome.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to fellow travellers and it would be my preferred choice if we ever returned to Shimla which was the highlight of our tour in India.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the valley, it was wonderful especially at Sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkes-Shimla, General Manager at Clarkes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at The Clarkes and describing meticulously each property feature and facilities provided. I am humbly very grateful to you for the same.It was a pleasure looking after you and our entire team sends their best wishes and hopes to have the chance of welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
2.0 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
1.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 117 in Shimla
1,089 reviews
0.3 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#17 of 117 in Shimla
503 reviews
2.8 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#14 of 117 in Shimla
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarkes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarkes Hotel

Address: The Mall, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#2 Business Hotel in Shimla
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 7,535 - ₹ 13,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clarkes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Shimla Mall Road, Clarkes Hotel is an oasis of calm on the bustling promenade. This Heritage hotel has recently been upgraded to Grand Heritage category and is one of the oldest hotels in Shimla. Clarkes is known for its architecture dating from the colonial era. The hotel is within walking distance of Shimla attractions - Gaiety Theatre, Groton Castle, Museum, Rothney Castle, Viceregal Lodge, Churches and other Colonial era buildings. Clarkes Hotel embodies the elegance and charm of yesteryear, with modern conveniences of today. The hotel maintains the highest levels of service and has all the amenities, facilities and levels of comfort you would expect from a hotel of this class. Clarkes Hotel is just 10 minutes from Shimla Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Clarkes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimla Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing