We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Avoid staying here in 2012””
Review of Toshali Royal View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toshali Royal View
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
““Avoid staying here in 2012””
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at Toshali over the weekend in a month of may and observe that property is mismanaged due to the interference of the owner in that property called Toshali Royal View......
no one in a position to take any kind of decision.
We also found that the room service Indian food was well below par for a top Indian resorts . (Naan bread was tiny, Biryani accompaniments were incorrect. ice creams Flavors were low/marginal.) food spread is normal,nothing great

We had a few mosquitoes in the room that caused some discomfort to two of us - however, housekeeping responded quickly to rectify the problem when summoned.

This Beautiful Resort can run with 5 star experienced Management with himachali background Who are able to understand the problems visitors are facing at far away from their home, in that case So the hotel should be easy to live in & to get better business - in future.

The hotel staff is very receptive. Service levels are very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepa_dixit1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    115
    53
    23
    21
See reviews for
154
99
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
noida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We visited Toshali over the weekend and had booked 2 rooms. This property is around 26 km from Shimla, but we knew that all along. The hotel looks good from outside, but the rooms have poor furniture. The toilets are clean and thats about it. We had a minor issue in the rooms and had to struggle getting it corrected. In the end we were given studio rooms after talking to the manager, who was helpful. During the two days of our stay there was no cable connection (supposedly the cable wire was stolen). There is absolutely nothing else to do. The games room is very poorly equipped. The health club can barely be called a health club. The food at best is OK. The staff are friendly but very slow to respond. Spa on the day of our booking was supposedly booked, but when we went there it was locked and opened only on the next day.

Room Tip: if going there book the studio apartment and bargain for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumit7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

First of all, Toshali is not nestled at just a "30 mins" distance from shimla. It is around 24kms away from the main city which means it takes not less than 1hour to get there. Secondly, the hotel and everything about it is over-rated here because neither the ambience nor the food or anything else about this place is extraordinary. If you look at the restaurant menu, paucity of items along with sky high prices will leave you dumbstruck. The dusty carpet in the room, lack of jet facility in the loo, pathetic room service and housekeeping are add ons to your grievances. To top it all, the Toshali "Royal View" can only be enjoyed from behind the window or in the night because during the daytime, host of monkeys will make it a completely disastrous experience!

Room Tip: "Rooms not accessible to monkeys are better"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank manasigupta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

An absolutely enamoring experience at Toshali resort!! Highly courteous staff members, an amazingly delicious food spread, beautiful rooms and a must stay hotel!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delightful ambience and a number of entertainment options to choose from.... Amazing for all ages, groups and events.
My best wishes to everybody associated with the hotel so that they can keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I am surprised every site and review has ignored the fact that this hotel is 1 hr+ away from Shimla! It should be mentioned as being in Kufri or Chail like others are!

Will recommend looking for better options closer to Simla, unless u dont care for the Mall at all.

The property in itself is pleasant enough, with large spacious rooms, each with a picture perfect view and basic amenities. The staff is as a rule q friendly and helpful, and we had no complaints on that regard.
The food was ok, but v limited in choice, and v expensive, (100rs for a paratha in b/f! meal for 2 costs 800 types)

Also, a lot of small things are missing like,

1. no jet/shower in the WC in bathroom, no table in the room - where to eat? no ashtray, no bar menu (or even the food menu in 1 of the rooms we had)
2.Hygiene was a big issue - we literally had to chase them for getting the kettle cleaned in the room.
3. Monkeys are a big menace- u hv a view, but u cant keep the balcony open bcs they'll just attack ur room. it hpnd with us 3 times.
4. They hv given connecting doors v thoughtfully from inside the rooms, which is q convenient for groups like ours was, but the doors do not close fully, so its a total loss of privacy as voice carries q clearly, and the slits allow easy spying upon one...

I can go on, but i ges u guys get the picture.

Despite all these shortcomings, i still rate it as average bcs the view in itself redeems a lot of discomfort, and unless u go for a v high end resort, indian tourist destinations always short change the travelers...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ankur1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
10.8 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
9.2 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
12.3 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Sandhya Hot Spring Health Care
12.9 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
10.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toshali Royal View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toshali Royal View

Property: Toshali Royal View
Address: Kufri Chail Road | Via Kanda Ghat, Shilon Bagh, Shimla 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#9 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#11 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,309 - ₹ 7,331
Hotel Class:3 star — Toshali Royal View 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Yatra, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toshali Royal View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toshali Royal View Hotel Shimla
Toshali Royal View Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing