We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel i have ever visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

i havd visited this hotel more than 10 time and whenever i go to shimla i always prefer to stay in oberoi cecil. there staff is highly polite and cooperative.on my last visit i booked a supirier room but there was some problem in ac they intimidatingly shifted me to suite which was 20000/- more expensive as they charged me for supirior room look how much they sacrifice for there clients. i rate this hotel best amony all in india

Room Tip: suite rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting your review on Trip advisor.
We thank you for your continued patronage of The Oberoi Cecil. We apologise for the inconvenience caused due to air conditioning problem in your room and are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay in our Luxury suite.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil.
Regards,
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,325 - 1,329 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Oberoi Cecil at Shimla is an excellent hotel in every respect. Our room for our stay in December 2010, was of a high quality with a high standard of cleanliness and service. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The staff were friendly, courteous and efficient. It is an easy walk to the Mall in the centre of Shimla. It takes about 20 minutes but is hardly challenging.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting your review on Trip advisor.
The Premier rooms of our hotel offer fabulous views of the valley and it is a delight to note that you enjoyed the views from your room. Your generous appreciation of our staff has been shared with the team and is very motivating.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil.
Regards,
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My family and I stayed at this property for 2 nights after 5 nights at the Wildflower Halland that makes this review unfair since Wildflower (an Oberoi property too) is in a different league.

The Cecil Shimla is located at one end of Shimla and is a good 20 minute walk to the Mall. This walk is mostly uphill. This is good and bad depending on your reason for visiting Shimla. There is no doubt that this would be the finest Hotel in Shimla with all the warmth and friendliness that you would expect from the Oberoi group.

You step into the Hotel through a not very impressive entrance and lobby but as you pass this, the is Avery large seating area to which a lot of rooms open up. I personally don't think much of this.

The rooms itself are very comfortable and adequately sized with all trappings you expect in modern hotels. We had 2 attached rooms on the 4th floor with good views of the hills and Shimla. There was also a nice balcony outside one of our rooms (415), which was great for an early morning tea or a late afternoon coffee.

Ther are a lot of activities for children with pool, snooker, tables, a Wii console, a great heated indoor pool and a jacuzzi. There is a small gym too.

Where this hotel stands out is in the service. I must specially mention Chef Royston, who would check with us during meals, who conjured up some dishes which were on the menu and were fab. The rest of the staff were super too - always helpful. I must also thank the Housekeeping staff, quick to come back with every request.

This is a great hotel with great staff. What i miss in a hill property is some open area to sit out and savor the views, which this property unfortunately does not have. The service, however, makes up for it to a large extent.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room on one of the higher floors - 3rd and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gagan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting your review on Trip advisor.
Your generous appreciation of our staff is very encouraging. We have a very well appointed activity centre for children and a billiards room as well and we are delighted to note that you enjoyed these facilities. The indoor heated pool is much appreciated by our guests and we are pleased to note that you also enjoyed the pool. Chef Royston has been apprised of your wonderfull feedback which was very motivating.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil
Regards,
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently visited Shimla and stayed at Oberoi Cecil for 3 nights...the experience was awesum..lovely place to stay..the staff are extremely cordial and helpful..I had my 1 yr 2 month old son with me and they took extra pain to see that I face no problem for that..even the chef used to make dinner for him as per his requirement..
Very good ambience..the swimming pool is very good.. overall a very good place to stay in Shimla...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting your review on Trip advisor. Your appreciation of our staff is very generous and encouraging. Theindoor heated pool of our hotel is very much appreciated by our guests and we are delighted to note that you also enjoyed the facility.We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed at this beautiful property for 6 nights and had a lovely time. The view from the rooms is lovely. The staff are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful and gave some good suggestions . The pool is first class and we spent some time in it everyday of our stay. The childrens activity centre is well equipped and can keep your toddlers occuped . The restaurant had a good spread of food,( largely Indian though) and i was pleasantly surprised when the chef offered to get us anything we liked, that was not a part of the buffet , when i mentioned that i am not a big fan of Indian food. They also made food to my exact specifications for an extremely fussy toddler and dining in was a pleasure, and we shared some good stories with th staff. The Spa experience was amongst the best that i have experienced...totally relaxing and worth it !!

We faced some issues with the room temperature due to a poorly functioning A/C which the staff to their credit tried their best to resolve , and even though it was not corrected, they were very apologetic about the same and offered to switch our room/provide a fan .

My only wish is that they would provide a complimentary shuttle service to the mall /lift to mall as the hotel is on a restricted road and an uphill walk to the mall. We were meeting friends and sometimes needed to head to the mall a couple of times a day and hence landed up paying a pretty steep price for the drop off to the lift twice daily

However we left with only pleasant memories of happy times spent at the hotel.....and a big thank you for all the staff who with their little touches made our vacation spectacular . Would love to stay here again and will definately recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant and relaxing time in shimla

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetgo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting review of our hotel on Trip advisor.
I am pleased to note that most of our services matched your expectations.
Your generous feedback of our team is motivating and helps us in our endeavour of continuing improvement.
I have noted your feedbcak about airconditioning and would like to sincerely apologise for inconvenience caused. We are in process of upgrading our Airconditioning systems and this should address the issue faced by you.
I have also noted your feedback about transfers to Mall and Lift. The Mall is a restricted area and hence our cars are not allowed on Mall. Th transfers to lift are chargeable however, we do provide complimentary transfers from Shimla railway station and to Vice regal lodge.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil.
Regards,
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
2.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 114 in Shimla
1,081 reviews
2.0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 114 in Shimla
524 reviews
8.9 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 114 in Shimla
811 reviews
0.9 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
2.2 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#14 of 114 in Shimla
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 13,720 - ₹ 63,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing