We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Delight !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Absolute Delight !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and can truthfully say that we've never stayed in a better hotel . After a day travelling by train from Delhi our party dragged through the door looking like a bunch of dirty, sweaty tramps. We were welcomed by what seemed like dozens of smiling immaculately dressed staff offering us refreshing towels and drinks. We were whisked off to our fabulous rooms, ours was on the top floor and was absolutely charming with wooden beams , a lovely bathroom and loads of character. After a quick scrub up, we donned our best clothes and joined our party for dinner. The dining room is superb and we were made to feel like royalty by the staff, who couldn't do enough for us. The food is buffet style and although not the biggest of choices, the quality was superb. After dinner, we all met up in the bar/lounge to mull over our day, and were pleasantly suprised at the bar prices, which were less than half of the other 3 hotels we had visited on our tour.
During our stay we used the pool several times and my husband had a hard job dragging me out of the jacuzzi....... I could have stayed in it for hours as it surely has to have one of the best views in the world !!
During our tour of India we stayed at 4 hotels , but what made The Oberoi stand head and shoulders above the rest was undoubtedly the staff. Staff in the other hotels were polite and efficient but they weren't friendly. The staff here are obviously encouraged to inter-act with the guests and the personal touch makes all the difference. Every time we returned to the hotel after a trip or a wander into the town, we were greeted with a genuine smile and the words 'welcome back'. I was fortunate enough to celebrate my 50th birthday during my stay and was presented with a lovely birthday cake and a rousing chorus of 'Happy Birthday'. The staff enquired about our day and had time to chat to us .......you don't stay in the Oberoi, you feel you live in it and are part of it. We could fault absolutely nothing, our stay was an absolute delight and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterWhizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    234
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
457
615
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The staff were superb - kind, attentive and efficient, and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was utterly beautiful. The food was delicious. Our room was quiet, most attractively furnished and scrupulously clean. I cannot rate our stay too highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your generous feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you had a memorable stay in Shimla and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were here for two nights and found it perfect. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the food was good. Our room was great with a panoramic view of the mountains. Our only problem was that the heating blew cold but we were given a heater and extra blanket and profuse apologies. Located within walking distance of the town and set up to cater for mainly British people. The standard of service was excellent.
The spa was a bit of a let down. I had a wash and blow dry and manicure but wasn't impressed. The ladies in there were lovely but didn't seem to know what to do with my very straight, European hair.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back with a view over the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianafromShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have noted your comment regarding the inefficiency of the staff in the hair salon and shall work on providing them with additional training.

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is generous and motivating and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

never have I been more grateful to fall into the loving care of all at this lovely hotel, nothing was too much trouble. The food was wonderful with the staff happy to introduce us to all their huge range of dishes and even on the first day when I could face nothing more exotic than a small bowl of soup they could not have been more kind. We indulged our weary bodies in the spa (book as soon as you arrive as they are very popular) and everyone from reception to the room staff treats you like royalty.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is generous and motivating and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Amazing property, extensive use of teak wood, british era built, same charm, great location, amazing pool, nice to b swimming in a heated pool in a hill station ! Great tasty food, nice decor, great amenities along with oberoi hospitality, nice rooms, can't find many faults ! Near to railway station, walking to the mall road, in 20 mins ( not a bad option to digest the food and get fresh air ! ) top class !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamir35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is generous and motivating and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
8.9 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
2.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
2.0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.4 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,286 - ₹ 27,537
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing