We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“memories to last forever..7* hospitality at 5* price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“memories to last forever..7* hospitality at 5* price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

we stayed in this hotel during our honeymoon. it was incredibly amazing experience. the hotel rooms are very big yet cozy. the staff are well-trained. the spa and swimming pool was included in our package, so was the daily breakfast and dinner. needless to say, both breakfast and dinner was wonderful. the staff were so hospitable that they even waived off some of the long distance phone calls that we made unknolwingly. the view from our room was also excellent. only point I would like to mention is that the hotel is situated in a quiet place, away from the crowded mall and takes little bit of walking up the hill..however, if you like not to be disturbed in your holiday (and of course have a high end budget), this is the ideal place to stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation of the hotel and its services is motivating and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards

Srikant Peri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,150
    226
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
443
572
52
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was not my first stay in this hotel.I've stayed here 4-5 times before also but this time I wasn't very happy with this hotel and the services.To start with when I was getting the booking I was told the hotel is almost completely booked and they had very few rooms left.When I arrived in the hotel I was upgraded to a luxury suite which was very nice on their part.I've been upgraded earlier also.The hotel seemed to be quite empty.The rooms were heated but the lobby wasn't.and since it was snowing outside the lobby was very cold.Worst was yet to come when we went down where they have the activity room.Believe me it was ice cold.It was like an ice box.When i talked to the hotel staff they told me that they have turned on the fresh air from out side so the area does not become suffocated.But it was quite unbearable plus it being a kids area.The mixer in showers wasn't working properly.As I said I've stayed here earlier also and it has been extremely good but this time it wasn't a good experience.I guess they have staff shortage.
Last month i stayed in radisson in shsimla and it was much better and better value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROHITJAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.
I am distressed to note that we were unable to provide you with a memorable experience and offer my sincere apologies for the lapse.

I have noted your comment regarding the inadequacy of temperature in the Children’s Activity Centre and the mixers in the shower and addressed it with my engineering team. Your feedback will assist us in reviewing and correcting our processes.

The hotel was indeed booked to capacity on the day you checked in as we had a large group in house. As they were out of the hotel on day you checked in and departed early morning (around 0330 hrs) it is indeed possible that you experienced an empty hotel. The upgrade given to you was on account of non-availability.

I once again apologise for not being able to meet your expectations and do hope you that you treat this experience as an aberration.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is the premier hotel in Shimla and by far the most expensive. For Indian standards the room price is extremely expensive, especially for where the hotel is located, but in the price reflects the absence of competition. There are several reasons that the hotel justifies its price:
1. It is an old Victorian building impeccably restored and with wonderful views of the Himalayan foothills.
2. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from Shimla centre, which means that you can avoid all the hustle and bustle. At the same time is it closer attractions such as the museum, the viceroy’s lodge etc.
3. Its staff is very well trained and helpful. The concierge is able to cater for all your needs and capable to offer very useful advice. During our stay they were able to arrange excursions, offer recommendations on what to do in Shimla and they were very proactive in advising us about clothes and equipment we would need during those.
4. There are several activities within the hotel including an excellent Banyan Tree spa. In fact all the treatments offered at the spa are at very convenient prices and the spa staff are very well trained and professional.

The main restaurant is hit and miss affair. During the first two days of our stay, when the clientele were mainly Indian, the buffet breakfast was excellent and included a variety of choices. Subsequently when the hotel become quieter, the choices were more limited; one could still order from a wide selection but this implies that we had to wait for up to half an hour for our order to materialise. Dinner was much better and we stuck to the excellent Indian menu, which included a wonderful vegetarian thali. Again the problem was the slow service. The bar menu was also very good and included a variety of choices and surprisingly the orders arrived faster. Nevertheless eating at the restaurant continues to be the best option in twon.

We had two problems during our stay. The first one was that during the first two nights our room was very cold although they provided supplementary heating. The excuse was that the weather was unseasonably cold and the hotel was not well prepared for it. The second and main one was the noise by children running in the corridors well into the night. The hotel structure is such that any noise in the main areas is amplified. We complained at the reception when the noise was continuing after midnight but no action seems to have been taken. Our impression was that the hotel catered mainly for families so do not expect a quiet night during peak season.

We would stay again in the hotel if we returned to Shimla. The location and history of the building is unbeatable and at the moment there is an absence of competition!

Room Tip: Ask for aroom that overlooks the value. The views are unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scotscouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to provide a detailed feedback of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Feedback from our guests is extremely valuable for us as it enables us to continuously review and correct our processes.

I regret that you did not have a consistent dining experience in the Restaurant. It is our endeavour to provide all our guests with fresh, tasty and healthy food to our guests. It is with this in mind that we do not layout a buffet for breakfast and dinner when occupancies are low. This allows us to prepare fresh food for our guests as per their individual choice rather than layout food to stand on a buffet for over 3 hours. This also assists us in our social responsibility, ensuring minimum wastage. However, this endeavour does not aim at compromising on the service speed and quality. I have addressed your feedback on the slow speed of service with my restaurant team.

The hotel’s air-conditioning system is currently being upgraded to ensure that our guests have better control on the temperature they wish to maintain in their rooms. Whilst heating was enabled to provide a temperature of 21 degrees Celsius, it does seem that we were unable to maintain it.

I also regret that you were disturbed by children running in the corridors and making noise late into the night, depriving you of peace and calm. Whilst my team does take it up with errant guests, I have instructed them to monitor this with greater care and strictness.

I apologise for the lapses you encountered and do hope that you continue to consider us during your future visits to Shimla.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Oberoi Cecil in April during a tour of the golden triangle of India.
We expected the Shimla leg of our journey to be one of the highlights of our holiday and we were certainly not disappointed.
The journey up on the toy train from Kalka was a delight and this was complimented when entering the Oberoi and seeing the very impressive atrium and interior of the hotel.
The first thing that we noticed was the courteous and professional manner of the check in staff, nothing seemed to be a problem to them.
We were given a room on the ground floor about ten steps from reception which was very spacious and tastefully appointed. It seemed to have a certain touch of class, which was also evident throughout the rest of the hotel.
We had buffet meals as we were part of a tour but the food was excellent and the chefs were willing to prepare fresh naans, parathas and puris on request and also a spicy dish to suit my jaded palate!
The chefs were quite happy to explain their cooking methods which was well appreciated. As my wife is of Indian parentage, she understood these well and they have been put in to a lot of practice at home!
My wife had a facial treatment in the spa that was very enjoyable and good value for money.
The bar area in the atrium is very plush and the drink prices are fairly reasonable for such a classy hotel.
The only slight criticism was that the bar did not serve alchohol until 6.00pm but this was explained by the management as a local licencing restriction.
Overall, this was a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay.
We hope to visit Shimla again soon and the Oberoi Cecil will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time to post generous appreciation and recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you were pleased with the services and facilities on offer and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards!

Srikant Peri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Luxurious rooms, beautiful interior, excellent food and friendly staff. Shielded from the hustle and bustle of the busy market yet close to (walking distance from) the Viceroy lodge, the museum and the shopping area.

This hotel is like stepping back in time. It was the best hotel of our tour.The food was excellent,the service was quick and efficient.We were allocated a room with a view of the mountains.The bed was huge the bathroom beautiful the shower powerful and the towels were soft and white.The hotel was spotlessly clean in all places. The pool and jacuzzi like something from a film. Each day there were 2 bottles of water and 3 apples left in the room.I really cant praise this hotel highly enough. The photos in the trip advisor info about this hotel are accurate. Staying in Shimla stay in the Cecil and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjitarane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time to post generous appreciation and recommendation of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to note that you were pleased with the services and facilities on offer and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards

Srikant Peri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
2.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#8 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.0 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
9.0 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.3 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,912 - ₹ 28,295
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing