We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views to match the homestay”
Review of Aapo Aap Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aapo Aap Home Stay
Ranked #2 of 139 Shimla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Views to match the homestay”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A wonderful peaceful homestay with fantastic views. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean with our own large bedroom, sitting room and kitchen. We were there at the beginning of Mrach and the evenings and nights were cold but there were heaters and electric blankets and wonderful hot showers.
Shivi and his family were delightful hosts and made us so welcome in their home. Nothing was too much trouble and Shivi sorted all our transport into Shimla and back. We ate with Shivi and the meals were always absolutely delicious and we learnt so much about the culture of India from Shivi over dinner and breakfast.
Aapo Aap is about 20 mins taxi ride from the centre of Shimla but it is worth it to have the wonderful views and peace.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank happytravellers12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    17
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
85
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Aapo Aap Home Stay last January. We arrived (very) early in the morning, Shivi had arranged a pick up from the bus station for us and gave us a warm welcome. He offered us some tea before showing us to our lovely (huge) room. It was quite cold in Shimla but the heater and the electric blankets were amazing. The first day we had a really nice walk around the hill and found it very peaceful. To go to Shimla, we took the bus which only took about 30min and was fairly easy for us, but it is a quick taxi ride away otherwise. Shivi was a very friendly host and his staff was also lovely. We had dinner twice and the food was excellent, not to mention the awesome breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Clem-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Mr & Mrs Singh Family - Singapore

Our long drive from Manali to Shimla and arriving late evening made us so exhausted and tired. But with Great and Superb Warmth Service provided by Shivi and others, my Family felt so LuCkY to stay at Aapo Aap.

We family of 4 adults with tennage kids were given such a big place to stay with unBeatable price for our 1st trip to India. We felt so relax and like it's "Our Home" stay with Comfortable Bed (electric blanket & Heater) and Clean Bathroom, Kitchen and Dining Hall with Fantastic View. We managed to see beautiful scenary surrounding the hills especially when it was Full Moon with sweet kheer prepared by Shivi's helpers. As well as snow covering the grills the next morning. Moreover, Shivi recommended some interesting places and also great eating places during our visits in Shimla.

We would like to Thank Shivi and his family plus his helpers for all the Great hospitality offerred to us during our Stay. Really Appreciate It :)

HiGhLy ReCoMMended to All !!!!!!!

Room Tip: All the facilities needed are provided. Better than 5 star hotel.Just sit back and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
8 Thank Gurdip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed with Shivi and his family for two nights in January. We arrived late at night but he was there to greet us and had a hot supper prepared for us, which was most welcome. Due to the extreme cold, Shivi provided us with electric blankets and heaters for the room, which consisted of a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and shared lounge area.

The views from our balcony were spectacular, staying anywhere closer to town would have been a waste. It was well worth the taxi ride into town each day, to stay in such a fantastic location. The location is quite difficult to find for some taxi drivers so ask Shivi in advance to arrange a pick up.

The food was amazing, and very authentic. If you don't like your food spicy, the cook would simply make the dishes mild, with spicy side dishes you can add. Every effort was made to make us comfortable, and Shivi even let us use his laptop and printer.

I would definitely stay at the Aapo Aap Homestay again. It was the best place we stayed at in India.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LizHManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived at Aapo Aap for our 3 night stay late in the evening after the 5hr 'Toy Train' up from Kalka to Shimla rail station, and the half hour (IR300/400) taxi ride to Panthanghati from there. And it was well worth the long journey! A lovely warm welcome in this huge family house was awaiting us from Shivi and his fantastic staff. I've literally not got one bad word to say about it. The rooms are huge and well thought-out; ours had a separate lounge and little kitchen with tea/coffee/drinking water. The balconies are enormous with jaw-dropping views. The home-cooked veggie food served up every night and morning in the family dining room is simply superb. The service is just first class and it seems as if Shivi has thought of everything; We were travelling with our 20 month-old toddler and there were toys/baby monitors etc. Extra 'roomservice' like laundry is done with a smile and minimum of fuss by the lovely Kirin. You're supplied with a mobile phone to keep in contact with him during daily excursions which he's more than happy to arrange for you. Shivi even invited us to his forthcoming wedding which unfortunately we were unable to attend. It's an excellent set-up with a absolutely first-class host. All in all this must surely be the best homestay in India!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bnstokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
5.4 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
4.0 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#17 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aapo Aap Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aapo Aap Home Stay

Property: Aapo Aap Home Stay
Address: | Aapo Aap Building, Near Sargheen Chowk, Panthaghati, Shimla 171013, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,325 - ₹ 5,490
Hotel Class:2 star — Aapo Aap Home Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aapo Aap Home Stay - a bed and breakfast accommodation, is part of the initiative taken by the Himachal Pradesh Government to promote rural tourism & stands duly registered with the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Department. Distance from our homestay: Mall Road - 10 Km, Shimla Railway station & bus stand- 12 Km. Taxi charges Rs.400-600 For one side trip. Bus charges Rs.20-30 Per person for one way transfer. Free Wi-fi in the lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Aapo Aap Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aapo Aap Home Stay Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing