We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Hotels.com
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Agoda.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Priceline$81
Travelocity$105
Trip.com$101
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
72
10
4
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
10
4
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews staff for making our stay centralised heating walking distance to the mall christmas celebration brilliant stay recommend this hotel sightseeing places up hill on demand room service enjoyed our stay clean hotel needs improvement wonderful hospitality shimla trip parking facility family stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

It was my finest trip for sure. I was really very satisfied with the services and their hospitality was really appreciable. Hotel is at very good location and very astounding view of forest. It gets more relaxing with centralised heating. Food was really delicious , specially breakfast . Thanks Royale staff for making our stay comfortable. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Midhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2022 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights. Comfortable stay, clean rooms and loaded with all the amenities you required. Food was great and delicious.
Location of the property is covinient and all the prominent places are in walkable distance.

They have terrace on 6th floor with nice view of valley and forest. They also have wide parking facility.

Looking forward to visit again.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank abhi_trip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2022 via mobile

My stay with Royal retreat was OK. I expected it to be excellent but somewhere things did not turn out to be that good. I believe the hotel is run short on staff for which services got delay and staff's attitude was dull towards their guest maybe due to their work overload.
The property is very well built, decor and rooms are very well designed. Can see owner had invested his both wealth and time in building the hotel.
Just mentioning Pros and cons now
Pro -
Centrally heated rooms, restaurant and reception area which eases your stay in hill station.
Less than a KM from Mall road and railway station
Good management on car parking
Provides nice buffet breakfast
Provides efficient and prompt travel help.
Provides - tea making kit, hair dryer and other basic amenities in room. Slippers and dentals kits on demand.
Good coordination between staff using their walkie talkies.
Luggage help from car parking to reception to guests room
Check in and check out formalities does not take much time.
Con -
Things can not be that good if there is snowfall. All staff only have this line repeated - we had snowfall, hence late check-out, hence delay in services. From maintenance guy to front desk to restaurant people, they used this line only. We were provided the room by 4 pm (standard check in time - 2pm) because late check-out of previous day guests. Tea was served without milk as they couldn't procure milk due to snowfall.
The guy with moustache (don't know his name) who was handling luggage was very mean to guest. Like he is doing favour to them.
Making a room reservation was a big challenge to me as the reservation number was not much responsive. Had to call 5 times to confirm my reservation.

Room tip: Can directly book hotel from front desk as online aggregators provides same room on higher prices
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shubhi302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2022 via mobile

Hotel is less than a KM from the Simla Railway Station and offers ample parking space for Cars. Room are clean and tidy. The view of the valley is covered by the pine trees just next to the property from all the rooms.
Food is good. Staff is friendly.
Rooms have central heating.
Small walk to the stairs that climb all the way to the famous Mall road via Lakkar Bazaar.
Hotel offers a good Travel desk in case you want to book a cab for local or outstation sightseeing.

Room tip: Parking is available
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank vishalmahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Me and my had our stay at there during Christmas room, hospitality and service was very good, The thing which make me to give them 5star is that we have forgot some of our belongings at their hotel and on a single request,they just courier our thing back without asking for any charges and anything. Thanks to Royal retreat for such a lovely gesture..

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bhatiahemant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews