We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for one night stay... close to the mall”
Review of Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Auckland
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Mohali, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for one night stay... close to the mall”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I visited Shimla in the month of January (2011) with two of my cousin brothers. We stayed in this hotel for only one night. I booked the room online for a little less than Rs.2000 for three of us including breakfast. We got a double-bed room and an additional mattress was provided for the third person.

The location of this hotel is good. It is hardly 5min. walk from the Mall area and on the road leading to Kufri. There is a paid parking next to the hotel (Rs.150 for 24hours).

Rooms are medium sized and clean, but a little cramped with a large double bed. There were large glass-windows opening towards the valley and have a pleasant view. The bathroom was basic and reasonably clean, but completely wet. There was hot water in the bathroom and the room service brought us want water to drink as well. The breakfast was also good.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Shimla, but may not be so good for families with kids.

Room Tip: Avoid if you need to park your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somdev30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    10
    11
    11
See reviews for
33
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

shimla is such a place that even if u r in a bad mood, then roaming in shimla will make u feel better. same happened with my wife when we visited shimla for a weekend break. she was not in a better of her moods when we reached the hotel. so when we reached the room, she started complaining about the rooms. though she was true in some things, like the bath rooms were not clean and tidy, the rooms were a bit small, but all in all the hotel is a great stay if you want to stay for only a day or two. the staff is good, location of hotel is awesome, all great attractions are just nearby. the food we didnt try so cant comment on that. but one suggestion to the hotel authorities, do clean your bedsheets regularly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmpsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

i stayed at this hotel fo 2 days & stay was terrible, rooms were stinking with bad smell , staff was totaly non cooperative , rooms were very small , had argument with staff so may times

they even did not provided bill for the stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dakshChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I did not realise that travelling with old people could be such an issue in Shimla. This hotel is located a little down the hill from the mall. Thus, a steep climb of steps to get to the mall was inevitable - which made my mother literally immobile from the hotel. The local transport scenario was not very good and cabs are pricey. The hotel rooms were OK but a little noisy from the road traffic as the road was very close to the windows. Some room did not have curtains as well. The food was good though a little pricey. People who are visiting Shimla as tourist should stay as close to the mall as possible as Shimla has mainly the mall as the key point of interest. Most of the eateries / shops are located around the mall.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhidutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghaziabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Stayed for 3 days on to celbrate new year.
Rooms are not very much clean.
Bathrooms are pathetic.
Location:away from main city tourist spot.
Once has to climb alot of stairs to reach main scenic area of shimla.
Room service is ok.
Only good thing is nice valley view if u take valley view room.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanbhatnagar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#86 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#53 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#40 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.9 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
1.0 km away
Bridge View Regency
Bridge View Regency
#80 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auckland

Property: Hotel Auckland
Address: Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 170001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,530 - ₹ 3,698
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Auckland 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Auckland Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing