We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, but service is an issue”
Review of Hotel Kinner Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kinner Villa
Ranked #61 of 151 Shimla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The room we stayed in was good - spacious with lovely views.
The wide extenstion which serves as a porch with tables & chairs laid out is actually an invitation for people drinking out in the open. But we didn't face this problem when we stayed. Food (dinner) is quite nice.
Quite expensive place given the average cost of Hotels & Guest Houses in Kinnaur

Travelled with family in May 2010

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

this was the only sore point in our otherwise splendid holiday, the hotel is absolutely terrible, we were the only people staying there, very musty & dusty, completely avoidable even if it's for free

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PNahata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. This hotel was suggested to us by Banjara Camps as we had booked 7 nights at various camps of Banjara camps. They charged us Rs3400 per night for this hotel but we realised that hotel was charging only Rs1100 night for other guests. We had booked a room for 2 nights but the hotel was so bad that we left the hotel after staying there for one night. Despite paying tariff which was 3x paid by others, we were given the worst room. Room was not clean, bathroom was in a bad shape, water heater in the bathroom was rusted and had holes in it. Worst part was that manager told us that we were allotted that particular room as it had great views. However, when I opened the curtain, the window opened on a terrace which was being used as a viewing platform and so we were unable to keep curtains at any point of time. In the evening, the same terrace was used by the hotel for campfire. So, we had many drunk people right outside our windows till late. When I complained to the manager about overcharging us, he fought with us and arrogantly told us that it was the rate agreed between Banjara camps and the hotel. It was very wrong on the part of Banjara Camps to recommend us this hotel. Onwer of Banjara Camps Mr. Rajesh Ojha agreed not to charge us for the 2nd night at Kinnar Villa after hearing our horrible experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Casio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpine_52_13, Owner at Hotel Kinner Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Dear sir,
why are you still keeping this adverse review even after 3-4 years. kinner villa has added a new block recently and is functional. old block has also been improved much more over the years by way furnishing and adding new furnitures, TV in each room , sofas with tables and curtains etc.
Tthe quality of service has also improved. A well furnished and designed spacious Dinning Hall has also been added, which is not less than a Dinning Hall of 3-4 star hotel. New block has21 Deluxe, Supper Deluxe and family suits . A new reception centre is is about to be commissioned.


There fore two old adverse reviews dated 14.32011 by Mr. P Nahata of Mumbai and by Mr. Cassio dated 15.42010 be removed immediately

pl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.5 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.5 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
551 reviews
1.3 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#14 of 117 in Shimla
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
822 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 117 in Shimla
636 reviews
2.3 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kinner Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinner Villa

Address: Village & P.O.: Kalpa District, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 1,400 - ₹ 1,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Kinner Villa Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing