We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel, we will come back”
Review of Hotel Sansar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sansar
Ranked #89 of 145 Shimla B&B and Inns
Solan, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good budget hotel, we will come back”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We arrived in shimla by toy train and reached hotel sansar at 12 in the noon.
We were quite apprehensive about the condition of the room because it was a
budget hotel and we have booked it through website.
the room given to us was quite okay by budget hotel standards,it had
basic facilities like satellite tv, hot water geyser etc. The staff was friendly . We ordered Dal Makhani and some chapatis and curd for lunch which was okay. view from the room and also from the bathroom was good .The room was small in size but sufficient for two persons i guess. We had our dinner at oberoi cecil , so cannot comment much on the dinner items available in the hotel. The location of the hotel is convenient just near to the mall road.

Room Tip: talk to the manager before booking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bang000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    28
    8
    35
See reviews for
48
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were a group of three friends and we had booked a three bedded room in hotel sansar by their website.The manager had promised me to give me best room.we arrived in shimla by toy train (shivalik express) the hotel had arranged for our pick up from station -charges paid. The check in was quick and prompt and the room was quite big and had three beds.Bed sheets,towels etc were clean but there were about 10 to 15 stairs to our room.
i thought the fittings of the bathroom were old but there was hot water geyser 24 hoursin the bathroom.In the after noon we left for the tour of local shimla and taradevi temple .we saw army museum which was quite amazing with old arms and ammunition from the time of british empire were kept for exhibition.
We returned back to the hotel in the evening and had dinner of dal fry and mix veg which was good and tasted fresh . All in all it was a good short trip and we reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: talk to the manager before booking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig0080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Hotel is budget and 200meters from Mall Road. Close to High Court, so secure place.Rooms are OK but beds are old, bed linen are ok but blankets were very old and should be revived.All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muhafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

If you want to stay on the shimla malll road in budget rooms only then select this room.
Rooms are very small, No view out side window (there is a wall out side window), Havn't tried food in this hotel as there are too many options available on the Mall road.
Nobody will be available on reception most of time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayKadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Kangra, India
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed in hotel sansar on 20th April to 22nd April 2011. We arrived by kalka shimla toy train and reached hotel at 6 pm.The chec in was prompt and hotel was quite okay by budget hotel standard. We were given a double bed room with small balcony overlooking the mountains.We ordered evening tea and snacks.The room service was slow but the tea was good.Vikram was our room boy who did not talk much but was polite.He was a new employee and had a limited knowledge of shimla and places around.The room given to us was a bit small, but the bathroom was okay with hot water heater. After rest we went to mall road and ate the dinner in outside restaurant.
In the morning the manager arranged a sight package for us around shimla in taxi. We went to naldera and tatapani where there is hot water springs and sutlej river. We enjoyed more in naldera and did horse riding and had some great views of the surroundings.
in the evening we came back to the hotel and after that we again went to mall road and ridge. Mall road is very good place in shimla , always crowdedwith people just roaming around and eating and enjoying themselves .
It was a memorable tour of shimla and we had comfortable stay in hotel sansar.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask the manager to give
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaivi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.2 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#7 of 112 in Shimla
614 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 112 in Shimla
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
2.3 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#16 of 112 in Shimla
302 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#25 of 112 in Shimla
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sansar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sansar

Property: Hotel Sansar
Address: Near High Court, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,282 - ₹ 2,628
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sansar 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is centrally located and provides beautiful view of Himalayan mountains; rooms are reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Sansar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sansar Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing