We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard hotel”
Review of Hotel Landmark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Landmark
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Substandard hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We paid Rs 3,400 each for two Super Deluxe Rooms at Hotel Landmark in off season but were bitterly disappointed by the substandard facilities. For starters, there was no electricity when we checked in. And becuse the hotel doesn't have a electricity back-up facility we had to climb four storeys in the dark to reach our rooms. With small kids in tow, it was a ordeal. When the power got restored we found that the rooms were anything but Super Deluxe. Don't be taken by the fancy pictures on their webiste. The hotel rooms are not even a pale shadow of them. We stayed for three nights and every day, we suffered from power breakdowns. I reckon it's a recurring feature here. One day there was no water! What is worse, that the hotel staff is hardly apologetic about their substandard services. The only redeeming feature was the food, which was good.

Room Tip: The Valley Facing Rooms are good. Don't go for the bunk bed family room, unless you want to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    142
    58
    25
    19
See reviews for
162
82
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed in Hotel Landmark Simla for 3 nights and 4 days. I booked over phone from Kolkata about a month before our visit. You may be able to negotiate a good rate over phone. They will send the bank details and I transferred an advance to confirm the booking. Location of the hotel is very convenient. Actually the rooftop terrace connects to the Mall road directly and you can walk down to the Ridge. We had taken a valley view room. Would recommend that you take a room on the 5th floor and facing the Mall. Room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of the hills and the city. Service was more or less prompt. There is a travel desk that was helpful. Though we did not use their service (except a drop to the station) since we already had a car, but the folks were helpful in providing information. Food was pretty decent and reasonably priced. Anyway there are lots of options around with good restaurants and fast food joints if you want to experiment.

Room Tip: 5th Floor Valley view facing the Mall -- recommended as having the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I booked a corner hill view room after reading reviews on tripadvisor. I stayed for 2N 29 and 30 Jun 2011 alongwith my friend. The view from room was good. Blanket was foul smelling. Food was horrible. Room tariff on higher side. Covered parking an advantage. Access to Mall Road from hotel lift is convenient. Hotel does not have doctor on call. Instead I was advised to go to Govt Hospital. On first day buffet break fast does not even have a Parantha (indian stuffed bread). South Indian dishes and fruits were also missing from Buffet Breakfast. Housekeeping not upto mark. To sum up hotel is not worth the money they charge. Stay only if you do not have any other options on trip date. Not recommended for stay in this price range.

Room Tip: Best room are Corner hill view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The valley view from the windows of the super deluxe rooms is very nice. You can see the distant mountains and the military helipad. The beds were very comfortable. We travelled in June end and they charged us 4500 for this room with an extra mattress (room only) and it didn’t even have an electric kettle. The family rooms face the backside (wall) of the hotel so we didn’t like them. The staff is polite. We didn’t have food at the hotel so cannot comment about the same but it seemed to be more expensive than other decent restaurants on the mall. The plus point is that they have ample parking space and a big terrace with nice views and benches. The Mall road (main market area) is 15-20 min walk (slightly uphill).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with valley view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I had sent my parents, children , my sister and her children to Shimla. I was pretty confused which place to stay. Then I came upon the name of this hotel and found the rating pretty good. The experience of my family was excellent. Food is very good and the hotel staff is very accomodating. Personal attention is given to all guests. Rooms are good but not great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohli-House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#13 of 112 in Shimla
480 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
602 reviews
1.5 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#4 of 112 in Shimla
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#23 of 112 in Shimla
441 reviews
1.6 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
794 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#17 of 112 in Shimla
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Landmark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landmark

Property: Hotel Landmark
Address: Near Gorton Castle Square, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,620 - ₹ 7,817
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Landmark 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Landmark is situated at the famous Mall Road.Hotel has some exceptional feauters i.e.! Connectivity from circular road to Mall Road! Exceptional valley view from rooms! Covered car parking! Two dedicated elevators inside Hotel! Toal 65 rooms categorized in Six categories to accomodate every segment of society as per their taste and requirement! 24 hour hot & cold water! Wooden flooring in all rooms! Centrally heated in winters! Assistance for secretarial services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Landmark Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing