We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful environment - cut off from the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
Ranked #37 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nice place to spend sometime if you want to have a cut-off from the world. Cut-off from mobile networks as well (at many places inside the resort). Totally at Peace, the better word is 'Sukoon' (in hindi). Staff was very curteous. Anil Thakur (Server) was the one who took care of us right from the breakfast till late evening dinner. Office staff had two Bhupenders', yound boys & honest about making our stay a pleasant one. They had an experienced trekking & mountaineering guy called DigVijay who made us do basic activities like flying fox, burma bridge, basic hill trekking. Next time whenever we visit, it would be longer treks of upto 4-5 hours. We would definitely be going again, not only because of the location but because of the service given by these guys.

Met Vineet ( I hope I have spelled the owner's name right) the owner - he has big plans for the property; and we wish him the very best..

Couple of points for Vineet -
1. Open a basic Spa service.
2. Do not entertain any movie production guys when guests are staying..in our case - it was some advertising firm creating new Surf Excel advertisement and they were a big nuisance. First they wanted our neighbor's cottage and then they wanted the lawn in which our kids were playing and on top of it they spoiled the swimming pool too.

Vineet - Whom do you prefer for longer run - Repeat customers like us OR advertising company like them who would come for one day in the entire life.

Apart from this nuisance advertising company; everything was perfect and we would definitely visit them again soon.

Room Tip: Mud houses closer to swimming pool & lawn are good for families with kids. For couple who want c...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant_Malhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

A great getaway...Small but very well kept resort. We were in the mud cottage which was spacious enough for our family of 3 and a dog :) . The room overlooked the hills and a small village. Fresh air, open spaces, good food and a nice view is all you need for a break away from the city life. Staff was extremely curtious and served well.
We went for treks and other activities which kept the kids and us busy.
Overall an amazing holiday...much recommended and even more if in a group.

Room Tip: The better ones are the cottages. Try to avoid the bamboo huts.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We were there for 3 nigths the palce is very scenic but the resorts needs lot to be done. The staff is very courtious but not so professional . The worst experence was that the resort had a shooting of surf excel on which was a party stopper for everyone the vacation just went for a toss. The rooms certainly need a lot more to be done. Food is good .

The manager Bhupender is not very professional but does a good job. THE STAFF NEED TO CHANGE THEIR UNIFORMS EVERYDAY INCLUDING THE MANAGER ........ Towels very bad

Room Tip: Be prepared for bumpy ride for 4Kms kutacha road.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akmakhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

just returned from oakwood resort, beautiful location shocking service , flies everywhere no one takes responsibility they actually just ignore you.Tv and phone in bedroom didn't work .dirty plates cutlery and glasses unhygienic food,rooms never serviced. Pls don't even try to visit this pathetic place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudhalika v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

this place is simply heaven......before arriving the resort you can experience the adventure of off roading........we have started our stay with warm welcome by hotel staff.......place is very calm & peaceful....rooms are clean with attached clean bathrooms & also with a small attic......anyone can enjoy the adventure activities from ametaure to proffesionals.......although the staff is not sufficient but service is unexpectionally excellent...the food is very good but the restaurent is not up to the level....swimming pool needs to be maintained.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardevDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
0.0 km away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
0.0 km away
Shoghi Eco Valley Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Aamod
Aamod
#2 of 4 in Shoghi
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#24 of 113 in Shimla
340 reviews
0.0 km away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#32 of 113 in Shimla
321 reviews
0.0 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oakwood Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

Address: Kaithlighat, Shimla 173219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 5,327 - ₹ 11,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oakwood Hamlet 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel Oakwood Hamlet Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing