We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sublime tranquil Resort...............” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
Ranked #29 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sublime tranquil Resort...............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

we spent only one night in this beautiful place.............. away from the maddening crowd.

Very well appointed rooms, nice and clean, attached very clean bathrooms with running hot and cold water.

Very good food and service - there is no menu, you are asked what you would like to eat and the food is prepared fresh for your dinner.

One can also request for a bonfire in the evening and and have your dinner next to the bonfire.

The resort has only 12 rooms, but I could see an extension on one side - some more rooms coming up as well as a swimming pool.

The hotel has some nature activities as well which we could not indulge in because of lack of time - but will be sure to try them when we stay here next.

Highly recommended and will be back for sure to spend more time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    29
    11
    7
    13
See reviews for
47
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Booked the Mud Cottage for one night as I intended to use the place more as a base for going further up. The reservation process was quite smooth & the route to the resort was conveyed quite clearly. The resort lies at Kaithlighat, on way to Shimla & is about 2 KMs down the main highway. The turn from the highway is just next to a furniture shop which you should not miss out as there are no boards or indicators of the resort. Once you leave the highway, you travel on terrible road down the hill using only your senses to find the place as there are no pointers or indicators anywhere along this road. At one point of time there was a choice of 2 roads that got us totally confused & so had to ring up the Chandigarh office of the travel agent to know which way to go. Thankfully there was telephone signal all through. The resort is further about a 100 steps down the road wherein you have to park your car. Upon reaching the resort we found that we were the only guest & they had no information of our visit. However the person was helpful & took us to our cottage. Food however would take some time as a person would have to be sent to Shoghi to get the provisions.
Room:
The room was in the form of a cottage having a small & cute attic. Though named mud cottage, it is actually built of concrete. The room was pleasant & comfortable & the bed inviting. The bathroom however was small & flooded at the smallest instance.
Service:
Very good. The phones in the room were not working though & so had to walk up to the common area for any requirement. However they were helpful & warm.
Food:
Very good. Tasty & edible.
Resort:
The resort is well laid out & has been landscaped beautifully. It really gives the feeling of living in a jungle. The views were great, though we did miss the trademark deodar & the pines that are so commonly found in Himachal. The flowers in the garden were blooming & sitting near the sun set point & the restaurant was delightful. It was an off season though & so all the activities were suspended. So did not get any opportunity to try the adventure activities that the resort claims to have. Infact even the TT rackets & the kids scooters were broken.
Value for money:
I found it to be little expensive as compared to the activities on offer & also its location which is deep inside a village.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

13 km before Shimla away from the overcrowded streets. The mud houses are a treat to stay in with superb view. The highlight is the staff. Extremely humble and always ready to help. The food is simple but the best that I have ever had in any of the resorts! Overall a great experience

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great Hamlet away from the hustle and bustle of the main town Shimla. Very quite and serence place. Facilites for assitance on trekking and other adventure tourist interest available. Should have your own vehicle to reach the place and come on to the main road. Food average but not very great. Food is not value for money. Facilities to go to Shimla and around not available. Traveller has to make his own arrangement for the same. Gardner and cook very helpful but no assistance from owners or managers of the property

Room Tip: Mud Huts are good for groups and families. Bamboo huts good for couples only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tirumala_Rao_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I went twice to Oakwood and it was great experience. Resort owner Mr. Vineet Sharma took care of us. Driver picked us from bus stand. Rooms were so clean and tidy. Every time I visit Shimla I love to stay in Oakwood. I feel close to nature. Food in Oakwood is great. Staff of Oakwood is very helpful. I must say if you are going to Shimla try Oakwood. Thanks Mr. Vineet Sharma for this concept for resort.:):):):):)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyanka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
0.0 km away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 3 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#19 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 km away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 km away
Oakwood Hamlet
Oakwood Hamlet
#3 of 3 in Shoghi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 km away
Flag House Resort
Flag House Resort
#1 of 130 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oakwood Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakwood Hamlet

Property: Hotel Oakwood Hamlet
Address: Kaithlighat, Shimla 173219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,544 - ₹ 10,686
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oakwood Hamlet 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel Oakwood Hamlet Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing