We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Food and Staff...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baljee's

Baljee's
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Shimla
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Food and Staff...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I went to Baljees in May 2012, a famous restaurant joint on the Mall in Shimla, but it was sheer disappointment as the food and staff both were terrible. I ordered a Veg Sizzler, the potato stuffing was ice cold despite being fried, upon confrontation the manger said its just happens sometimes in routine, i bet i could get a better sizzler roadside, then I ordered a Dal Makhani, which was the lentils apart from the water and the bread was like Chewing Gum. It would have been fine if staff admitted it but they totally refused to it adamant and non-cooperative staff, i left the whole food uneaten and went to some other Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ateetjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    94
    58
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best eating point on Mall road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The food quality is excellent and rates are reasonable. The variety is also good- varying from Indian to Chinese to continental. It is one of the oldest restraunts on the Mall road and the service quality is also excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrishBhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service, bad toilet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We went to Baljees as my mom had to go to the toilet and the public toilet was quite a few steps down and my mom has difficulty in climimbing stairs. As it turned out, at Baljee's too the toilet is on the first floor! Anyway, the toilet was not clean and there wa sno water and we had to wait until the sweeper was called to start the pump and to clean it up.

The food was good (nothing great though). The service was average. We has chicken kadhai and paneer kadhai. Paneer was better than Chicken. We has arrived a bit late and as they don't take orders after 3 PM, we had to rush through with our meal. Overall it was just an average experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vijay_S555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Foodies delight in Shimla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I had visited Shimla with my wife and 10 year old daughter and we were out looking for a place to have lunch. Since we were on the mall we saw this restaurant above Baljees bakery shop called Fascination. We decided to try a new place and walked up the narrow staircase to the first floor restaurant. It looked like food was being distributed free as there was ahuge crowd waiting to be seated. We decided not to wait but again decided that so many people cant be wrong and so we waited. Our turn came and we sat and ordered some continental food with a lot of apprehension. When the food came , we were in a state of shock. I have never seen such amazing presentation in all the continental food I have tried at varioud five star hotels in Delhi Mumbai Bangalore etc. The taste of course was to die for and the quantity, well, we had to leave a lot of it as the portions were huge. We ate here for the rest of our three day stay and in fact, we are planning on viviting Shimla again and on top of the agenda is to eat again at Fascination. Try their roast meat and cheese and chicken pasta whenever in Shimla. Its a reasonable priced restaurant and surely is a foodies delight. Wonder why we didnt discover it on so many of our earlier visits to Shimla.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohitjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kochi
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

baljees is apparently a famous local joint.it is decently furnished and the food is kindagood too.their karai chicken and gulab jamuns were yum.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baljee's also viewed

Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
 
Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
 

Been to Baljee's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing