We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like we have been robbed”
Review of Shilon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shilon Resort
Ranked #44 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 5 July 2010

we were four couples looking for a weekend gateway and finally landed in shilon resorts after some search on the net. it was the worst experience i have ever had. we were provided with the rooms at the end of the property. there were no chairs in the room, no drinking water, the sheets and the towels were not clean. our package included a welcome drink , cookies and a fruit basket in the room, which were not there. the last room , i.e. room no 146 balcony had a damged catilever which can be quite dangerous. there was nothing in the name of room service , it took them around one and half hour to bring two bowls of soup. we finally made a complaint of poor service the next day and also about the dirty linenes and towels. we left our hotel rooms in the morning and came back around 6 in the evening, only to find out that the rooms have not be mopped, linenes were not changed , dirty tea cups were not cleared. they only left us a basket of fruit and cookies but did not bother to clean up things. on making the complain to some manager, instead of apologizing, he said it was not his duty to clen up.
our package included 30% disocunt at the bar during happy hours, but the bar was closed during the happy hours.
there are no recreational facility of spa or a gym or table tennis or lawn tennis or skating as they claim on their website.
they charge you for ice bucket.
the staff including the GM were ill mannered. they were not ready to give contact number of the owner or the CEO of the company. the made us talk to theircompany secretary in delhi who was even more rude than the GM.
they dont deserve to be in service industry. i think their licecnce need to be cancelled. overall a very sad experience in a beautiful state of himachal pradesh.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank shuchim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

I first went to Shilon Resort about 12 years back and always wanted to get back to this fabulous place. When i finally managed this time round, I was wonder-struck yest once again by the beauty of the Shilon valley. It is the perfect place to be, away from the crowds, the hustle-bustle of life. This quiet resort is well located and seems to appear suddenly in the middle of the mountains and offers a fabulous view of the hills, the amazing greenery and magical clouds. There is nothing around this resort but nature, which makes the location truly wonderful.

However, the resort has degenerated to disappointing levels, especially for me as i had seen it in its earlier state. The detailing is missing and the cleanliness leaves much to be desired. Overall, it has started to give the feel of a place that used to be good once upon a time in the past, but not any longer. The service is pretty disappointing considering the rates they charge. Food quality is average at best - once we noticed that the butter chicken for dinner had recycled pieces of the tandoori tikka of the day before (one could see the skewer marks in quite a few pieces, and we also remembered that they had an outdoor party the night before). Another time, they used left over potatoes from the kitchen in their hash browns. When you see this happening frequently, eating becomes rather unpleasant - probably a roadside dhaba serving maggie would be better and more hygienic. Anyways, on the last day, after a very transparent discussion with the GM of the resort, the service and food quality improved. But sadly, that seemed to be a temporary, put-on act, rather than the true standards of the place.

My advise? Sure, go there as the location is simply beautiful, and so it the overall layout of the place. However, please remember that they deserve at least 30% less of what they charge. Secondly, do not tolerate poor service or bad food even once - please do speak to the GM there for an immediate resolution as he is good professional.

Reaching there: Drive from Delhi or take a Volvo from connaught place. From Shimla, this place is just 25 kms, but the taxi drivers have made a racket and charge you Rs 650 for dropping you over in an alto. If you can drive yourself - great, as you will be completely and sensibly mobile to enjoy not only shilon but also the surrounding areas. However, taking a night Volvo lets you save a day - so decide accordingly. If you are taking a volvo, use HP Tourism's buses instead of the HP Roadways - the former are very clean, well managed and superior.

Have a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AjayJohri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Me and my friends went to shimla earlier this year and we booked Shilon Resort , shimla . This hotel is located at prime area of Shimla . It is very well maintained and decorated . Really , the staff members of the Hotel was also very cooperative and the rooms , lunch , dinner which they provided was of very high quality . It was a wonderful to spent in shimla.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babloo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

VISIT THIS PALCE ONLY IF YOU WANT TO PAY TO BE INSULTED. I had visited this place earlier in 1995 and was very happy so I decided to go again in 2010 only to have the worst possible experience in my life. I wanted to check out within 2 hours of check in but the F&B manager somehow convinced me to stay. But by the next morning I had had enough and checked out, losing the money that I had paid for (3 nights 4 days). They make you to pay upfront for the whole stay so that they can make sure that you check out asap and then they have their money as well as their room.
Fornt office: worst experience
Staff: ill mannered (including the GM)
Food: As cold as revenge
Activites: None whatsoever in 'the resort'
Room: In worst condition

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aakashvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We were two couples looking for a weekend gateway and finally landed on this hotel site.

We were pretty pleased by the view and location of the facility; however that was the only good thing about the hotel. The worst part was the services rendered by the resort/staff throughout our stay of 2 night and 3 days. We were provided the rooms at the end of the property; we requested them for a change of the room but they denied saying that the entire hotel is booked; however there were hardly 2-3 guests in the entire hotel.

The rooms were pretty spacious with a nice valley view from the balcony but with zero maintenance. We were provided with dirty towels in the bathroom and unclean bed sheets. The food was about average and the staff was not at all courteous. We went to use their recreational facilities and were really disappointed by the unclean facility with dust and broken appliances. On checking with the front desk they said that it’s all under construction, however it seemed to be in that shape since a long time.

At night I got a cramp in my foot and requested them to help me with some ointment (Iodex/Moov), to which they said that the medicine stock is over and there is no place I can get that stuff from. Finally, I had to really argue with them and asked them to check with their resident hotel staff, as I expected them to have such a basic thing available with them. On a good argument for half an hour they checked with the staff and were able to find something with them.

During our final settlement of the bill they overcharged us with something which was included in our package and we had to spend enormous time to get it excluded from our bills (had to talk to 5 different people to clear the confusion). Finally, while checking out we had to make the payment and they stated that the credit card machine is not working. We had to wait for almost 45 minutes in the lobby before the machine got operational and in the meantime there was no one there to attend us and except any apologies.

Overall the worst service experience I have been through in my memories. Definitely not a 4 star property as they call it to be, probably a 2-2.5 star. Not at all recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solanki_dhananjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
5.1 km away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#25 of 117 in Shimla
343 reviews
10.8 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
12.9 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#18 of 117 in Shimla
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 117 in Shimla
1,090 reviews
7.8 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
8.8 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilon Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilon Resort

Address: Kufri Chail Road | Mundaghat, Shimla 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 19,093 - ₹ 50,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shilon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Shimla & Chail Shilon Resort is a Slice Of Heaven for a true traveller.An all cottage resort built of a Mixture Of Traditional Himachal and Colonial architecture ,it offers luxurious experience to the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shilon Hotel Shimla
Shilon Resort Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing