We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Horrible Hotel!”
Review of Shilon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shilon Resort
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Horrible Hotel!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The horrible most stay of mine was at Shilon Resort, Shimla. We planned for a stay of 2 nights, but God only knows how had we spent one single night at that pathetic property. Bad bad service, dirty room, baby spiders on the bed and pillows, yuckiest food and discourteous staff.

I was cursing the time I had decided to make a booking here. Overall, a waste of time and waste of money. The first in room dining ordered, came within a span of 1.5 hrs and that too after several calls at the room service and reception. Adding to that, it just wasn't what I had ordered for and to my horror, I had to re-order the same 4 times.

Although, I complained it all at the reception but no one was bothered.
Concluding here, please do not book your stay here only looking at the property or the location-- it has a bad bad staff and these people have no word in their dictionary called 'Hospitality or Courtesy'.

What a shame!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gjsalgotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    7
    11
    13
See reviews for
46
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Pathetic , No power backup at night. Restaurant short of supplies. Games room bogus. We were a big group. Occupying premium rooms. However few rooms had fridge, while others were devoid. Rooms does not have adequate white wash. Leaking faucets. Overall a waste of money. Imagine staying without electricity at night , no internal phones heating, in house tea from kettle, when you have paid for this. Standard answer . We don't provide backup after 11.00 pm.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gauravbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in shilon resort for 3 nights 4 days and enjoyed it fully. The rooms and services are good but requires further improvements. We were in a group of 16 in all and had nice fun being there. The weather and scenic beauty was excellent. The place is worth visiting again n again. The staff was cordial and helpful and needs to be complimented.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ashok629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Recently came back from this place . The place is mind boggling , with amazing rooms and excellent view. They rightly claim this place to be 44 acres of Switzerland . The food quality and the services is also amazing , contrary to what I have read in some of the review in trip advisor . Chekin was done quickly, food ordered was given in 10 mintues of time . The staff was very prompt and hlpfull The place is strongly recommended for a leisure and family trip .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibedita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We were there at Shilon resorts and enjoyed our 4 day stay .In peak season you cant expect much but the staff was very helpful.We had small kids and they helped us with getting the food done as per our requirement , special thanks to Mr Pitamber sharma who is the GM . He helped us organize a small Bonfire next to our rooms (yes you read correct Bonfire in june ) it was chilling night . we enjoyed sitting next to fire.

There is a small Tea stall just outside resort which serves Maggi and Tea , amazing in cold weather .

Food is ok , service being peek season were slow but came.Sometimes same menu being repeated .Nothing much for children , you can play there in the parks though .and if you are family you can enjoy sitting and playing among yourselves .

Nothing is near so you need to take cab to go out.kufri is nearest and then shimla

its a Place meant for people who just wants to stay out of hustle bustle of cities and enjoy peace .

one word of caution it is 3-4 hours journey from Kalka , so one has to be prepared for road trip if you are going form Delhi - kalka shatbadi

Room Tip: we were on ground floor and view of valley was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
15.9 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.6 km away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.5 km away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#26 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
11.6 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
13.7 km away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#20 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilon Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilon Resort

Property: Shilon Resort
Address: Kufri Chail Road | Mundaghat, Shimla 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,705 - ₹ 39,951
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shilon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Shimla & Chail Shilon Resort is a Slice Of Heaven for a true traveller.An all cottage resort built of a Mixture Of Traditional Himachal and Colonial architecture ,it offers luxurious experience to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Shilon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilon Hotel Shimla
Shilon Resort Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing