We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapil Hotel
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I came to know about kapil hotel through tripadvisor.. I checked their website and was little bit skeptical if the reviews/pics are latest & correct. I am really glad to write this review that the stay at kapil hotel was awesome.
After clearing my doubts and queries I made the reservations for the penthouse... The penthouse had a private terrace with a fantastic view of the whole shimla valley. The room was spacious, warm with comfortable bed & pillows well made with 2 clean extra quilts. The bathroom was very clean with an encloser for the shower, hot running water through out.
I stayed with my family for 2 nights and I had a great time. At night the view was spectacular with pin drop silence everywhere. We had a great comfortable peaceful sleep. The shimla mall road is just on a walk of 10 mins uphill which passes through lakkar bazaar or tibetian market where one can shop.
The attendant / steward for the penthouse was very courteous, infact the hotel staff was very soft spoken and helpful. I had my breakfast and dinner at the hotel and i must tell this that I enjoyed the every bit of it. It tasted awesome.
After being skeptical about the hotel I can now say confidently that all the reviews, pics are genuine and I will definately recommend to my friends, family & colleagues choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Take any room facing towards the valley... which i guess they have all the rooms facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    311
    43
    5
    6
See reviews for
308
362
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were celebrating our Marriage anniversary in shimla and this is our first visit to shimla. Kapil has given complimentary pick up from the railway station. The Hotel room is really good and it looks same as thier website says. Hotel Staff is cordial and helpful. Food is good.
We enjoyed our stay and the view. I will recommend to my friends this is worth for your money.
Only draw back is that, it is 2 km (approximately) away from the mall road but you can enjoy the walk.

Room Tip: Ask for valley facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil_Konkimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

we stayed here for 4D/3N, the rooms are compact but clean, hygienic, sophisticated. You cant get a better deal than this... it's 10 mins away from the Ridge, it's an uphill walk, but it's really worth it... they take good care of their guests... the view of sunset from the room is really awesome!

Go for it... you wont get disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarungags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We found this place based on reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in the family room for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much.

It is within walking distance of the main mall. Shopping and restaurants are all located along the mall.

Our hotel room was clean and a decent size. The staff were very accommodating when we asked for extra sheets and towels. The beds and pillows were comfortable.

The shower is the first one we have had in India that is enclosed so that the whole bathroom floor doesn't get wet when you use it. Fantastic.

Our room had a beautiful view over the whole valley.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. When I checked out I had forgotten to mention that we hadn't received something from our room service order. When I did mention it they quickly subtracted it from the bill without question. Appreciated that.

Ordered breakfasts from the room service menu and enjoyed the dishes we chose.

I can definitely recommend choosing this hotel to stay at when you visit Shimla. If you need directions it is just before you come to the Radisson. Everyone seems to know where that hotel is. Just follow directions to it and then keep your eyes open. It is just around the corner before you come to the Radisson.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the valley. That way you can enjoy the sunsets. We stayed in the fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in two different rooms; standard and deluxe. Both were super clean and comfortable, neither had a view or large window. The deluxe room was bigger and decorated a little more. Hot water was available. The location was very good, within easy walking distance of the Mall - 10mins uphill. The staff were very friendly. Kapil is good value for money and I would not hesitate to reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.5 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
781 reviews
3.3 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.2 km away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#14 of 111 in Shimla
287 reviews
2.4 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
1.4 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 111 in Shimla
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapil Hotel

Property: Kapil Hotel
Address: Radisson Jass Near Jass Radisson Bharari Road | Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#3 Family Hotel in Shimla
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
#4 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,433 - ₹ 5,506
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small budget hotel having 15 guest rooms, room service and site seeing arrangements only. Public Areas: The hotel does not have large public areas. In room facilities: The rooms do not have mini fridges. Only the Pent House suite has an attached balcony. 24 hours hot running water available in the washrooms. The rooms are not centrally heated, however we provide complimentary hot water bed bottles for the night and Heat Convector for Rs.200/- per day extra. Dining: We offer in-room dining only as the hotel does not have restaurant space. Both fixed meal plan Menu and Ala Carte menu options are available. Vegetarian and as well as Non-Vegetarian dishes are prepared in our own in house Kitchen. Room Service – 7:30am – 10pmBreakfast – 7:30am – 11:30pmLunch – 12:30pm – 3 pm. Dinner – 7 pm – 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and Yatra so you can book your Kapil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapil Hotel Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing