We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strictly budget property, crampy corridor, comparatively high price”
Review of Ganga Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ganga Hotel
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 12 July 2010

we went to shimla to celebrate our wedding anniversary which falls on 13 feb. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We made a mistake of not booking the hotel online. We were taken by a tout to this hotel. The reception of the hotel is well made but the rooms are not. The owners have just renovated the hotel reception area but forgot to renovate the rooms. though the room was clean but the wooden walls was peeling off from many places. Rooms were carpeted but the carpet was dirty. Further, the room heater was chargable, whereas other hotels were providing it with room with no additional fare.

Overall, we just needed the hotel to crash at the end of the day but still i feel we could have got good deal in same or lesser price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Amirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

Hotel Ganga is located on The Mall road.It was 3 nights stay over there.as soon as we checked -in ,hotel staff welcomed and directed us towards reception.the wooden work done in rooms is good.The rooms were dark but clean and hotel staff were very co-operative and have "ready to help" attitude.Service time was late but breakfast served was good in quality but the food for lunch & dinner was not so fine.Hot and cold water was available for 24 hrs.Cable connections with T.V was also there.Hotel have travel desk.It also provides sight-seeing packages,we took opne package in which went to kasauli and Jakhu Temple and sight seeing of beautiful Shimla.For Old people and families with kids,i won't recommmend because there are approximately 30-35 steps which you need to cover for market.It was Good memorable trip!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nituralhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Had a horrible stay at Ganga Hotel in May 2008. The rooms are dark, unclean and poorly ventilated. room service is pathetic. Front desk is not so helpful. would not recommend this place for any one.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Babbu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitez cet hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kawtare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
3.3 km away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#63 of 117 in Shimla
59 reviews
2.1 km away
OYO 6277 Hotel Maharaja
OYO 6277 Hotel Maharaja
#78 of 117 in Shimla
12 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#87 of 117 in Shimla
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Surya
Hotel Surya
#53 of 117 in Shimla
235 reviews
2.4 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
873 reviews
1 km away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Hotel

Address: Melrose Lodge Estate | Circular Road, Shimla 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 1,227 - ₹ 3,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ganga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Ganga Hotel Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing