We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic View, Superb Location and Delicius Food..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koti Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koti Resort
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic View, Superb Location and Delicius Food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

There's just one word to describe this place..."AWESOME"..I visited the resort in 4 August 2012. The hotel is situated on the top of Hill with Romantic Location.The resort 15 k.m.far from Shimla Mall Road but very good place for Group Tours and Honemooners.
The reception staff were very courteous and well- spoken. The room was very clean, the linen fresh...and some rooms are newly renovated with world class interior...and some in under renovation...
The entire property is very well managed and the guests well looked after. We would definitely visit again.

Over all my Group People was very happy with Accommodation, Food and Resort Location..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suniludaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    78
    22
    14
    11
See reviews for
90
59
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

last week we have visited koti resort with our group of 100 guests, and we found this resort upper from our expectation. Mr. arya was nice person here. Location, infrastructure are good and food was excellent.
Managing of groups in resort are very difficult,but koti resorts management manage it very good.

Room Tip: Use premium room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMAGINATIVEUDAIPUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rourkela, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Pros:
-the food is the best part here it is very tasty andf is free from colors and unnecessary oil! very higienic :)

-Located at a place surrounded by valleys.

Cons:

-no 24 hr hot water- who gave them right to charge luxury tax when they provide hot water only for 6 hrs.

-in suite room the term balcony is a misnomer as barely any space is left when a person stands in the 'balcony'.

-extremely poor maintenance:
-The board outside the resort says "koti reso t" a missin letter! come on is it a 3 star propert?
-The gardens have patches of ground all over, not a plesant sight.
-there is debris from construction work left in the sitting area or the playing area and broken slabs in the garden
- there is a painting in the dinner hall, which is pretty huge but has weathrd out nd any serious management would consider replacing it but it is stil there.
-The interiors of Suite room specially 101 are in crumbling state and wood work is in dire need of polish... al the doors, ceilings etc.

WHY OVERPRICED?
- first of all the dimensions of this property is 100 m Length 50m breadth... which is pretty small

- and on my second day of stay here, v droppd in SHILON RESORT when on our way to Kufri for a cup of tea... nd SHILON RESORT offrd us the same package as at Koti with a price difference of 2k(i.e less than KOTI package)! plus the property was thrice the size of KOTI nd SHILON was pretty well maintained with beautiful sitting areas and gardens facing valleys!

- i would not recommend this place until food is your priority.

- the place is highly overpriced thats the verdict!

Room Tip: dont go for family suite u ll regret it on seeing the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rishul_matta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
DEAR MR. MATTA
I sincerely thank you for writing your views & comments on Trip advisor & am pleased to note that you extremely appreciative of our our food & services . Yes Sir our endeavor always has been to keep our food as simple & as delicious as possible. Regarding your other observations I have noted the same & would like to submit as here under.
Regarding you finding the pricing expensive I would like to say Sir, You had a package & which was costing you Rs 3055/= per head per day Inclusive of Accommodation, + Bed Tea + Breakfast + Evening Tea + Evening Bar-Be-que snacks + Dinner & all taxes, which I feel is quite competitive & reasonable in today’s world yet I it’s also a matter of personal perception, & of course One would find quite a few hotel even expensive & may be a few cheaper than us too, though on the same hand I offer due regard to your opinion.
I also feel it is pertinent to mention here that on the day of check-in itself you had asked for a early check out in spite of your advance booking for 3 nights yet we gracefully agreed & not only checked out a day earlier yet we did not charge you anything for retention etc, which as a normal policy 100% payment is charged, though we did not charge you anything & your check out was facilitated a day earlier than the scheduled check out.
Regarding the Hot water timings, I am sure you are aware that Shimla as it is has an acute water shortage & the intention is to just regulate the water supply & control the water wastage, though on demand we provide hot water as & when required by the guest & am sure had you also asked for it the hot water would have been provided. The debris lying around are not on our land, these are adjoining lands owned by others hence we are constrained in that regard. Though just to inform you that we are spread around on more than 2 acres of land.
Your rest of the points have been noted seriously & am sure if you give us chance again you would for sure find better ambience & better maintenance.
Thanks
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

at the very entrance of this resort, you would observe that an alphabet is missing. it has been missing in all previous photographs as well. sadly this depicts the condition of this place. despite being located at an edge and having scenic beauty all around, the maintenance standards are really poor. would recommend not to go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankitsinghal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Mr. Ankit Singhal
We sincerely thank you & appreciate your comments. Because of extreme weather conditions & with geographical limitations we were as it is in the process of routine maintainence & some renovations too. We also thank you for liking our food & services.
However, we regret the inconvienence & assure you of a much better times in future.
Thanks
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

An absolute NO NO for this resort…..

If u are planning to visit Koti resort, u are making a big mistake….

I booked three rooms in this resort in the month of June, 2012 and had a pathetic stay there…..first of all, if u are planning that u will visit Shimla Mall Road in ur leisure time, u are mistaken….because it is 17 kms from shimla mall road ....

This is actually not a resort……it is a hotel…..its owners don’t actually know what a resort means….they are just utilizing the land purchased by them because they know whether they provide facilities or not, people will definitely come during vacations……

The Room Tariff (Rs. 10500/- per room + Taxes) is not worth at all. Even “Room Number Tags” are not fixed on the room doors. U will enter ur room with guesswork whether it is ur room or not…….no bath tubs in the bathroom……even u will not find soap dish in the bathroom, which may be said to be the bare minimum facility which a hotel should provide…..the towel and the bed sheets were not clean at all.

Not safe for kids and children…..when we were there, construction and renovation work were going on everywhere…..kids can skid at some places because the hotel staff has covered the construction portion on the floors with carpets…...they have put some swings in the park area but the park doesnt have boundaries or hedges, so it can be very dangerous for the children as well as for the adults also.

Yes, no doubt, the food is good….the buffet and dinner they are providing is good……affirmative remarks…..

Though the staff is cooperative and helpful but the resort is not managed well at all!!!

They have one room with table tennis table and a carrum table.

Regarding the swimming pool facility, and we were highly disappointed when we were deprived of that facility. We were not allowed to avail that facility just because we were not carrying swimming costumes. We tried to persuade the General Manager (Mr. Ranbeer Arya) of the Resort that when we are carrying our “shorts”, he should allow us to avail the facility, but he is such an arrogant man that he didn’t allow us to go to pool. I must mention here that we have had our stay in so many hotels and resorts in and outside the country and nowhere we were deprived of the pool facility just because we were not carrying swimming costumes!!!! Not even 5-star hotels have ever denied this facility to us....!!!

We told the General Manager that if it is the rule of his resort that no person will be allowed to go to pool without the swimming costumes, he should have mentioned it on the website of the resort or they should make the provision for the same at the resort on payment basis……..still he refused..........Going to Shimla mall road just to buy the swimming costumes is the idea which one cannot even think of....
In the end, I must say that if one wants to waste his money, it is the best resort where u can waste your money……

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaihind_jayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
DEAR MR. JAYANT
I sincerely thank you for writing your views & comments on Trip advisor which are very valuable to us. I have noted every point mentioned by you & regret that we could not satisfy you due to various reasons. I take this opportunity to clarify some of the things mentioned by you as follows:
The first reason mentioned is that the Resort is 17 Km from Shimla. But we have nowhere claimed that it is in town if you had looked up our site we have clearly mentioned that it is 15 km further from Shimla with a spectacular view of the Himalayas and apple orchards & jungle nearby.
We are conscious of the meaning of Resort that is the reason that At Koti the emphasis is on activities may it be in house or off site. The in-house activities at Koti are snookers, table tennis, carrom, play stations for children swings & slides for little ones. Apart from these in house activities we regularly organise magic shows for the kids 2-3 times a week or mehandi session for ladies. The resort has its own DJ system which is played in evenings when snacks are served in the lawn, weather permitting bonfires are also organised. For relaxation the Resort has a spa in the pool area. Not only in house activities we also encourage guest to try some outdoor activities like river rafting, rappelling, jungle walks etc.
As regards your disappointment on not being able to use the pool because you were not carrying your swimming trunks we are sorry. The reason for not allowing anyone without proper trunks is to maintain hygiene standards & decorum around the pool area. I am sure you would also not like to see people in the pool with their clothes or underwear on. In order to maintain an acceptable standard for everyone we as a policy don’t allow anyone to enter the pool without proper trunks. I am sorry if you got the feeling that I was being arrogant I was only trying to explain to you that these are basic hygienic rules that we need to follow. I understand your disappointment & offer my sincere apologies.
I sincerely appreciate your comments and have taken note of your suggestion of keeping swimming trunks at the Resort for sale. I personally assure you that if you give us another chance we will make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit.
Thanks
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.2 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.3 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#21 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
8.8 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
8.7 km away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#14 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koti Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koti Resort

Property: Koti Resort
Address: Sadhora, P.O. Baldeyan | Mashobra - Naldehra Road, Shimla 171007, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,189 - ₹ 12,829
Hotel Class:4 star — Koti Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koti Resort is a magical hideaway in an extraordinary setting, just 30 minutes ahead of Shimla, on the Mashobra - Naldhera road. Located on a hilltop with the most spectacular panoramic view of the Himalayan ranges, surrounded by forests & apple orchards, makes it the ideal retreat for a family holiday, a romantic honeymoon, or a corporate sojurn. The Resort consists of 54 rooms with all the amenities required to make our guests' stay luxurious and relaxed. Depending on their preferences, guests can use the Resort as a base to explore ancient villages and forest trails, or enjoy the lively Mall road of Shimla and the hidden churches and temples, or even try their hand at adventure sports, which can be arranged by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra and Booking.com so you can book your Koti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koti Resort Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing