We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an Absolute NO for this resort”
Review of Koti Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koti Resort
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

An absolute NO NO for this resort…..

If u are planning to visit Koti resort, u are making a big mistake….

I booked three rooms in this resort in the month of June, 2012 and had a pathetic stay there…..first of all, if u are planning that u will visit Shimla Mall Road in ur leisure time, u are mistaken….because it is 17 kms from shimla mall road ....

This is actually not a resort……it is a hotel…..its owners don’t actually know what a resort means….they are just utilizing the land purchased by them because they know whether they provide facilities or not, people will definitely come during vacations……

The Room Tariff (Rs. 10500/- per room + Taxes) is not worth at all. Even “Room Number Tags” are not fixed on the room doors. U will enter ur room with guesswork whether it is ur room or not…….no bath tubs in the bathroom……even u will not find soap dish in the bathroom, which may be said to be the bare minimum facility which a hotel should provide…..the towel and the bed sheets were not clean at all.

Not safe for kids and children…..when we were there, construction and renovation work were going on everywhere…..kids can skid at some places because the hotel staff has covered the construction portion on the floors with carpets…...they have put some swings in the park area but the park doesnt have boundaries or hedges, so it can be very dangerous for the children as well as for the adults also.

Yes, no doubt, the food is good….the buffet and dinner they are providing is good……affirmative remarks…..

Though the staff is cooperative and helpful but the resort is not managed well at all!!!

They have one room with table tennis table and a carrum table.

Regarding the swimming pool facility, and we were highly disappointed when we were deprived of that facility. We were not allowed to avail that facility just because we were not carrying swimming costumes. We tried to persuade the General Manager (Mr. Ranbeer Arya) of the Resort that when we are carrying our “shorts”, he should allow us to avail the facility, but he is such an arrogant man that he didn’t allow us to go to pool. I must mention here that we have had our stay in so many hotels and resorts in and outside the country and nowhere we were deprived of the pool facility just because we were not carrying swimming costumes!!!! Not even 5-star hotels have ever denied this facility to us....!!!

We told the General Manager that if it is the rule of his resort that no person will be allowed to go to pool without the swimming costumes, he should have mentioned it on the website of the resort or they should make the provision for the same at the resort on payment basis……..still he refused..........Going to Shimla mall road just to buy the swimming costumes is the idea which one cannot even think of....
In the end, I must say that if one wants to waste his money, it is the best resort where u can waste your money……

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaihind_jayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

DEAR MR. JAYANT
I sincerely thank you for writing your views & comments on Trip advisor which are very valuable to us. I have noted every point mentioned by you & regret that we could not satisfy you due to various reasons. I take this opportunity to clarify some of the things mentioned by you as follows:
The first reason mentioned is that the Resort is 17 Km from Shimla. But we have nowhere claimed that it is in town if you had looked up our site we have clearly mentioned that it is 15 km further from Shimla with a spectacular view of the Himalayas and apple orchards & jungle nearby.
We are conscious of the meaning of Resort that is the reason that At Koti the emphasis is on activities may it be in house or off site. The in-house activities at Koti are snookers, table tennis, carrom, play stations for children swings & slides for little ones. Apart from these in house activities we regularly organise magic shows for the kids 2-3 times a week or mehandi session for ladies. The resort has its own DJ system which is played in evenings when snacks are served in the lawn, weather permitting bonfires are also organised. For relaxation the Resort has a spa in the pool area. Not only in house activities we also encourage guest to try some outdoor activities like river rafting, rappelling, jungle walks etc.
As regards your disappointment on not being able to use the pool because you were not carrying your swimming trunks we are sorry. The reason for not allowing anyone without proper trunks is to maintain hygiene standards & decorum around the pool area. I am sure you would also not like to see people in the pool with their clothes or underwear on. In order to maintain an acceptable standard for everyone we as a policy don’t allow anyone to enter the pool without proper trunks. I am sorry if you got the feeling that I was being arrogant I was only trying to explain to you that these are basic hygienic rules that we need to follow. I understand your disappointment & offer my sincere apologies.
I sincerely appreciate your comments and have taken note of your suggestion of keeping swimming trunks at the Resort for sale. I personally assure you that if you give us another chance we will make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to your next visit.
Thanks
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed at koti resort recently and it was a great experience.The rooms were good and specially the suit rooms.The food was also good.They also organize magic shows and dj in the evening.The staff is very helpful and friendly.In all it is a good resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vansha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Sir/Maam
I sincerely thank you for writing your views & comments on Trip advisor for Koti Resorts. It is indeed a great pleasure to note that your stay with us was good comfortable & you also liked our food. Sir we thank you for your kind words & assure you that our endeavor always has been to keep the guest happy with satisfying & happy memories.
Your comments are an incentive for us to still thrive for better.
Thanks
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I went in april 2008 with my family friends, good location better than staying in shimla, 10 kms from the city . The suits are slightly on the expensive side but have an excellent view

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsh2kool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Sir
It was pleasure to have you here at Koti Resorts & I also thank you for your comments.
Your suggestions & comments would further encourage us to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction.
Thanks
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

hi ! i visited this place around 25 june 2012 . was there for 4 nights. stayed in the best suites.( the photograph of the jacuzzi shown in their promotion attracted us ) . indeed the rooms were worth it. the view from the suits is breathtaking.
The main advantage of this property is the hight and the temperature. its much better off than the surrounding areas. the food is good. the service of this place and specially the staff is EXTRA ORDINARY. we saw IPL cricket finals on big screen arranged by them. had our dinner at one o'clock. yet, the staff gave us service with smiling face. ( i should say , full marks to Mr. Arya for managing such a motivated staff )
There are certain drawbacks as well. the recreation room had old equipments. the jacuzzi had no water as the place is facing water shortage. secondly, the place at times is flooded with different tour operators.but being a big place it should not be an issue.
But, certain points are much stronger ..... The spa is awesome. one of the best massages i ever had. and the amount i paid for it was reasonable.plus, the soft breeze in hot May , good climatic conditions, open space in mountain terrain. huge dining hall.
you can also walk around , as the quiet and beautiful.
One more point. The owner Mr. Ranbeer Arya is a nice and warm person who has one of the best staff i have come across.
overall, our stay was really good. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
my last note...... the place governs the best location and eventually the best climatic conditions as compared to surrounding areas.

Room Tip: We stayed in the best suites which are too good. but i cannot guide you regarding other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumitbshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Sir/Maam
I thank you very much for your comments & also taking out time from your schedule to write about us at Trip Advisor. At the out-set very humbly I would like to inform you that I am not the owner but employed As General Manager Sir!
I would specially like to thank you for the kind words used for me personally but Sir! It’s a team work & every-body concerned did their bit to make your stay comfortable, I am happy to note that our efforts pleased you. Sir ! I also feel you people were as it is in a mood to enjoy also hence as they say happiness & pleasure is also a state of mind.
For all of us too it was indeed a great pleasure to have you all here & we look forward in having you again with us sometime in future with an assurance that we would further try to make it more pleasant & satisfying for you.
Thanks
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel rooms were good with Wooden flooring...nice location....lawn was partly filled with snow...nice food, staff also...but bathroom were very small...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pankaj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Mr.Pankaj
We thank you for taking the trouble in writing your views at Trip Advisor. We also thank you for your compliments. Regarding the Bathrooms, it apparently seems you were travelling with a group being organised by one of the Tour operators, hence the rooms are as per committed & mutually agreed upon.
Anyway Thanks a lot
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
8.5 km away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#35 of 123 in Shimla
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
12.5 km away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 123 in Shimla
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#15 of 123 in Shimla
1,117 reviews
8.8 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
9.3 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#14 of 123 in Shimla
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koti Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koti Resort

Address: Sadhora, P.O. Baldeyan | Mashobra - Naldehra Road, Shimla 171007, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 4,534 - ₹ 6,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koti Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koti Resort is a magical hideaway in an extraordinary setting, just 30 minutes ahead of Shimla, on the Mashobra - Naldhera road. Located on a hilltop with the most spectacular panoramic view of the Himalayan ranges, surrounded by forests & apple orchards, makes it the ideal retreat for a family holiday, a romantic honeymoon, or a corporate sojurn. The Resort consists of 54 rooms with all the amenities required to make our guests' stay luxurious and relaxed. Depending on their preferences, guests can use the Resort as a base to explore ancient villages and forest trails, or enjoy the lively Mall road of Shimla and the hidden churches and temples, or even try their hand at adventure sports, which can be arranged by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Koti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koti Resort Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing