We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Koti Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Koti Resort
Ranked #25 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Resort at an excellent location.Stayed there with family in oct 11. We booked the room a month in advance and found everything ready when we reached.No trouble checking in.The place was easy to find,a little away from the crowds at Shimla.
The room that we stayed in(premium rooms)was spacious and beautiful with a view to die for.The room had full length windows overlooking the spectacular mountain ranges.At night you could sit down next to the huge windows and watch the lights come on in houses on the hill .They almost look like stars twinkling down on earth.Beautiful!!!
The food was good.And the servings quite generous.Staff was polite ,service prompt.The resort organize taxis for any sight seeing trip that you may want to do.The room and the bathroom and linen provided was clean.Housekeeping services good.
The room doesnt have any central heating though they do provide a stand alone heater on request free of charge. Hot water is only available for three hours morn and even.Again they do provide it at other times on request but i don't know if this incurs any extra charges.This could be inconvenient as it does get quite chilly up there.
The resort is located in a small village away from shimla which has its plus and minus points.On the plus side its beautiful ,serene,clean and NO CROWD.On the minus side there is not much to do if you are with small kids,plus there is no dept store or chemist nearby to pop in and pick up something you might have forgotten .
overall we were quite happy with our stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor .great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandyps77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Sir
It was a pleaure to have you here at Koti Resorts, & sincerely Thank you for your kind & encouraging words. We also look forward in having you again some time in future.
Thanks
Take Care
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Positives : Ultimate location. Spectacular view. Natural Surroundings (never seen before flowers -roses).
Negatives : 15kms (too far) from Shimla town. Costly (even extra charge for room heaters - Rs 250 per day)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Sir
It was privilege to have you here at Koti Resorts and thank you for your comments & suggestions. We have taken a not of it & shall try to work on them. Apparently you were a part of a group by a travel operator hence the charges what so ever are mutually agreed upon.
Thank you once again & we look forward in having you again at Koti Resorts.
Regards
Ranbeer Arya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It is not a 4 or 5 star resort it is shown in the pictures..so we felt disappointed when we entered the reception are as it was'nt really impressive. The place must have been great when it was new.. they have not managed to keep it as good though. The bed rests were dirty .. the bed cover though looked washed had a hole.

Maintainence of the place is certainly not up to the mark for the price you pay. The bathroom were clean and sanitized but the bath tub was broken and was fixed with a tape.

Though the staff was very attentive and eager to help. They agreed to change our room when we complained. But even the new room given to us had the same issues.

We had booked two deluxe Rooms .. Tarrif was around INR 3000 per night. Date of travel was 13-15 Aug 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shilpabhadoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Dear Maam
We sincerely appreciate your kind gesture of taking time out & writing your opinion & suggestions on Trip Advisor. Maam with all respect I would like to mention that no where ever have we mentioned about any classification. Maam you were booked for a Double Deluxe Rooms, & we had offered you very special rates for the same. At the time of check-in you wanted certain adjustments to be made in the room which we complied to your satisfaction. Also as a goodwill gesture on our part next day we upgraded your room to a Super Deluxe Suite, after your approval, & without any extra charge.
However if you still feel that we lacked in our effort & gesture, we sincerely regret that we could not achieve desired levels of by you & assure you that if given a chance again we shall for sure give you a much better experience.
Thanks
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Nice resort in the hills... 45 minutes drive further up Simla. Wonderful rooms & view (we stayed in the top category) and the staff is simple and courteous. Ask for a room on the first floor as opposed to the ground floor for better views. Simplicity brings its own charm and homeliness but also means a little falling standard in professionalism. You won't get much advice on what to do, so you should be well prepared before. Staff is laid back. Food quality is nothing to talk about and could certainly improve (perhaps because we were in off-season). As in all "hill" places, costs are higher, so you may not find the place value for money as compared to other places specially in the plains / beaches. Also hope that you don't run into noisy groups that the resort lays emphasis to in its marketing. There is a nice river rafting spot just an hour and a half drive down and you can go for small treks. Or opt for a day spend to Simla. Good for about 3 nights stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on top are better. The highest category have the best view as they are at the corner with a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Dear Sir/Maam
We sincerely appreciate your kind gesture of taking time out & writing your opinion & suggestions on Trip Advisor. Though I regret that your experience was not as good as you expected, but yes certain problems as you have only pointed out yourself are also locational disadvantages. Generally Sir we are known for our food, but I once again regret that we could not live up to your expectations.
Anyway sir! We assure you that if given a chance again we shall for sure give you a much better experience.
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had booked our rooms for 13-15 August 2011 for 2 families-we had booked the resort based on the online information provided and had even paid a 20% advance. Unfortunately, the moment we entered the property, we were so disappointed with the unhygenic lobbies, torn carpets, scattered tissues in the hotel lanes and really bad service at the reception that we decided to leave the property at once. My advise would be to not get swayed by the website advertising, the property in reality does not live up to its mark and would not recommend it for a pleasure stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_India_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
8.5 km away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#35 of 123 in Shimla
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
12.5 km away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 123 in Shimla
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#15 of 123 in Shimla
1,117 reviews
8.8 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
9.3 km away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#14 of 123 in Shimla
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koti Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koti Resort

Address: Sadhora, P.O. Baldeyan | Mashobra - Naldehra Road, Shimla 171007, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 4,537 - ₹ 6,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koti Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koti Resort is a magical hideaway in an extraordinary setting, just 30 minutes ahead of Shimla, on the Mashobra - Naldhera road. Located on a hilltop with the most spectacular panoramic view of the Himalayan ranges, surrounded by forests & apple orchards, makes it the ideal retreat for a family holiday, a romantic honeymoon, or a corporate sojurn. The Resort consists of 54 rooms with all the amenities required to make our guests' stay luxurious and relaxed. Depending on their preferences, guests can use the Resort as a base to explore ancient villages and forest trails, or enjoy the lively Mall road of Shimla and the hidden churches and temples, or even try their hand at adventure sports, which can be arranged by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Koti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koti Resort Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing