We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel at a Good Location”
Review of Hotel White

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel White
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We have stayed in this hotel twice. Once in October of 2009 and then again in October of 2010. This hotel has only accommodation and has very little F&B service for Breakfast alone. Lunch and Dinner are not served in the hotel as there is no restaurant attached to it. Both in 2009 and 2010, we took the large suite which was facing the valley and the views from this room were fantastic. The suite was quite large and there were large windows on the bedrooms. The view from the bed was good. Since this was an old hotel, the bathroom was also very large in the suite that we stayed. Attached to the bedroom was another living room with a Sofa and also a dining table and a balcony opening out from the living room coming to the bedroom side also. The living room also had a bathroom. In 2009 when I went to the same suite, there was carpeting on the floors and the maintenance was OK. But when I went back in 2010, the carpet was gone and there was wooden flooring in the same room.

The location of the hotel was fantastic. It was just a 5 minute walk to the Mall. Also for food, in 2010, we walked to a joint called Sitaram's (about 3 - 4 minutes walk from this hotel towards the mall). This place has the best Chola Bathure and we really feasted on them for lunch. In 2009, we stayed at this place only for 1 night, however in 2010, we stayed here for 2 nights.

The problems with this hotel were

1) No accessibility to this hotel thru vehicles. We had to get down at a road below and if you had heavy luggage, then you end up using the local porters to haul your luggage to the room, needless to say, the walk up to the hotel from the road below was also a steep climb which might be difficult if you have old people in your party

2) Monkeys... So many of them. They roam freely on the hotel propety and the hotel also advises to keep the room doors and windows locked at all times so that they do not enter the room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rumasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed here for only one day and at some other 4 star hotel while returning.We found this -Hotel white v. much connected to city junction as well as out going road.Lakkar bazar bus depot is down 500 steps and the beauty is the main circle amd Mall is just 200 steps ahed. I don't consider Shimla as a good hillstation. It is v complicated-as on some road you can not take your vehicle. for small dist like hotel to bus stand you have to pay Rs 15o/= (hardly for 3 km.)
The terres and Verandah are v. nice at Hotel White from where you can have v.nice view of Shimla.
If you have not your own vehicle and you havve to trawel outskirts from Shila than go for a Hotel which is nr Lakkar bazar or ne out going road.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pranavk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Upon entering our room at Hotel White we were overcome with the stink of cigarette smoke in our room even though our room didn't have any rugs. We quickly noticed that the room was so cold that our breath turned to steam when it came out of our mouths. We asked for a heater and were given an old heater than barely worked. The heater had exposed wires which made it a fire hazard.

There is no hot water in the sink and the tile grout in the bathroom was completely covered in mold.

Our friend booked the room next to ours and although his room didn't smell like cigarettes he had very old, dirty carpeting that you wouldn't want to walk barefoot on. His room was also freezing and his bathroom was also covered in mold. His bathroom sink didn't have any hot water either. The heater he was given by the hotel staff was just as useless and dangerous as ours.

I told the staff that we would not be able to stay there because the bathrooms were dirty and the rooms were freezing but they refused to give us our money back. The conditions were so bad that my husband, our friend, and I all agreed that it was better to lose our deposit than to spend the next two nights in a moldy meat locker.

Check out the Hotel Combermere instead. That's where we wound up staying.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miamikelovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I stayed at the Hotel White for two nights in November in a Deluxe Room. The room itself was exceptionally large and had a great view out over the hills. It was very cold at this time of year and heating was offered at an extra cost per day. Unfortunately, the heater was an electric blow heater that was not able to heat the room due to its size so I had to almost sit on it to keep warm. The location was particularly good and a short walk to the Mall and it's many restaurants. All in all, adequate and compared to other hotels in the area, well priced and reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Nice budget hotel for family with kids or couples. We call to hotel for reservation at last moment, and despite pick season, hotel management tried to accommodate us. We got nice room, very clean; bed linen was very fresh and hot water any time day/night. We had amazing view from our window. The best part about hotel is it location. It is situated just 20 meters away from famous Lakkar Bazar, and very close to Mall and other important places in Shimla. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to all budget travelers, since in Shimla we most of the time spend outside of hotel, paying fortune for some hotels just for few ours of sleep, don’t make sense for me.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ingulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 123 in Shimla
643 reviews
0.4 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 123 in Shimla
881 reviews
8.2 km away
Sunrise Villa
Sunrise Villa
#31 of 123 in Shimla
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#13 of 123 in Shimla
266 reviews
0.3 km away
Summit Le Royale Hotel
Summit Le Royale Hotel
#26 of 123 in Shimla
92 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#90 of 123 in Shimla
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White

Address: Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: ₹ 1,879 - ₹ 2,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel White 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
White Hotel Shimla
Hotel White Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing