We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get your expectations properly calibrated, it's GREAT”
Review of Spars Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spars Lodge
Ranked #15 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you get your expectations properly calibrated, it's GREAT”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is India. This is India far away from a metropolis. This is a lodge that is very inexpensive. Given those facts, Spars Lodge is amazing. The rooms are neat, simple and clean. The staff is helpful, though perhaps not as warm and perky as Westerners are used to. The food is prepared well. The sitting area is informal and inviting.

Yes there is no top sheet on the bed and yes the towel had seen better days (it was clean, just kinda worn out) but refer to my first points above. If you want luxury accommodations, pay for them. Otherwise if you want a comfortable and inviting lodge that will help you stretch your rupees, Spars Lodge is definitely a good choice.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssk_in_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    11
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
30
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AGRA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stay in Spars lodge for three nights because of LP. Should have trusted some of the reviews here. The staff could not have cared less (also in little restaurant), the rooms were damp and grisly. Worst thing was the showers and the ignorance off staff though. Showers did not work, fumbeling for half an hour would get you some hot drop eventually if you are lucky. Mostly not though. When complaining, they ignored the fact and suggested that all the fumbling was part of the process. We left one day earlier and actually preffered the nightbus (!) over this place.

One advise: STAY AWAY, there are many other good places that cost a lot less and have staff that cares.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUKI2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This place has a good view, rooms are clean and not too expensive, the way up there very steep and breakfast was ok. We ate at the Cecil, had Indian wine and spoiled ourselves before we went into the Kinnaur valley. I would stay there again. Generally I find it ver y hard to trust reviews written by Indians. They are either to snobbish and have too high expectations or have no clue about hotels and react with exuberant enthousiasm. As a wide travelled Swiss, I would give this house my praise and would easily have my cat stay here, who is very picky when it comes to stranger's houses!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucasDattelbecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Yes it is a bit of a walk to the Mall, and maybe the manager (owner?) is not exactly over friendly but it is a great little establishment with great rooms and views, and wonderful dining room with huge windows overlooking the valleys where you can sit and read the daily newspapers sipping filter coffee. It has a European feel to it, (almost Swiss-German) with good upholstered furniture, duvets, linen and wood floors doors and windows. The restaurant serves great food although I did find it slightly overpriced. It had a limited number of local tourists and most were from abroad, making for welcome conversation. Its cozy and neat, you will get good exercise walking the steep roads both to the lodge and to town. And is great value for what you get. Don't be put off by the other negative writeups, its a charming and romantic place tucked away, with a feeling that you are cushioned in western comforts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddktion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

the staff are not friendly. at all.
the room was relatively quiet but there weren't sheets on the bed and the duvet cover provided smelled like body odor and clearly hadn't been washed in a long time.
the cold water in the shower didn't work, so it was scalding. or i could turn the water heater off and take a freezing shower.
food is good but takes a long time and they have an attitude about what you order. every time i ordered something that involved them actually having to cook, i got an eyeroll and a rude suggestion that i order something else.
this place is way too expensive for what you get. it was quiet and nice to be away from the tourist hell of The Mall, though. could have lived with a view of something other than a tin roof.

Room Tip: make sure there are clean sheets on the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hersheylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.2 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
2.3 km away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
614 reviews
2.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#11 of 112 in Shimla
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
0.7 km away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
2.8 km away
WelcomHeritage Woodville Palace Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spars Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spars Lodge

Property: Spars Lodge
Address: Museum Road,, Shimla 171004, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,891 - ₹ 3,084
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Spars Hotel Shimla
Spars Lodge Shimla, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing