We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in a big city”
Review of The Star Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Star Grand
Ranked #228 of 925 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel in a big city”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Too often big city hotels are limited to the large and expensive or the small and shabby. Many travellers, such as us, look for small, comfortable and welcoming hotels as a bolt-hole from the city chaos and the Star Grand Villa offered this and more. In addition, for travellers, it is conveniently placed for the airport.

We stayed on two separate occasions and in different rooms. Both times the rooms were very comfortable with a large comfortable double bed, desk for paperwork and a good sized bathroom with nice hot shower. Fridge, bottled water and flat-screen TV were complemented by free tea and coffee making facilities (with unlimited top-ups) and good free WiFi.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. On our second stay we arrived at 07.30 am (way before regular check-in time) after an overnight trip on the train from Jodhpur, tired and a little grimy. They gave as our room within half an hour with no suggestion that we should pay any extra - quite unusual in my experiences of India.

There is a small but good restaurant with a fairly extensive menu and a decent breakfast.

When we next stay in Delhi this hotel will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
11
17
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shillong
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I was down for a business trip in August 2011 and booked at this hotel, Loation is very nice as near the metro . Also service of the hotel is excellent. Even on returning late evening I was able to order dinner without making any exceptions. The hotel has its own vehicles so you dont have to worry about hireing vehicles from outside. The rooms are excellent and have all mordern facilities. Overall a very good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surjya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was my second stay in this hotel. Both the times the experience was mixed. They took care of some parcels which came in my name even before i checked in. The rooms are big and clean. The food something like 7/10. On the negative side the clothes I had left in the laundry bag for ironing the night before were still not ironed the next evening, but the bag was kept properly on the table by the housekeeping personnel. Then there was an incident where someone else's food bill was charged in my name. I had a hard time proving that the sign and the name on the bill were not mine. But the biggest complaint I have with this hotel is that their waiters' belief that they are entitled to a "bakshish" on the day you check out irrespective of how their service was. They will be hover around you and they will try extra hard on the last day to make sure you give it to them. During my first stay one waiter told me an elaborate story of how he has to buy Christmas gifts for his kids and he hasn't got his salary so i should give him some money. During my last stay one guy was waiting near my cab for fifteen minutes till i finished my work and left only when i gave him some money. But I think its a Delhi thing rather than the hotel's mistake. Overall a good hotel for its rooms and food but average otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tribalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Right from check-in to the entire duration of my stay, I had a great time at this hotel. My requests were handled most professionally, promptly and with complete satisfaction to myself. I have absolutely no doubt that I will make use of this hotel again in the near future.

Room Tip: Most rooms are spacious but some have extra space and seating for entertaining guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sujanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Perfect warm welcome, perfect warm reception, perfect rooms with all necessary amenities. Do not go on the exterior of the building, its highly deceiving.

Each standard room has a bath tub, hot water running 24hrs (unlike other hotels who use a geysers / water heaters), hair dryer, etc. The minute things are very well taken care off by the management.

Did i mention the wonderful cuisine that they offer..!! Completely mindblowing food..!!

Please see the pictures, as they say a 1000 words..

All these things in a mere INR 3000 + taxes...!!

Room Tip: even a standard room is very spacious and has all the amenities required for luxury stay..!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahkintu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Greater Kailash I
The Legend Inn
The Legend Inn
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
191 reviews
The PI Suite, Delhi
#198 of 715 in New Delhi
36 reviews
New Haven Hotel
#239 of 715 in New Delhi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jaypee Siddharth
#19 of 715 in New Delhi
684 reviews
The Athena Hotel
#202 of 715 in New Delhi
44 reviews
Mantra Amaltas
#151 of 715 in New Delhi
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Grand

Property: The Star Grand
Address: E-8, East Of Kailash | East of Kailash, New Delhi 110065, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 925 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,291 - ₹ 4,259
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Star Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing