We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Jugaad Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jugaad Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived in New Delhi expecting to stay only a couple of nights, and ended up staying a week. This place is great. Good for solo traveler or group to meet people. Good free breakfast (eggs milk toast jelly butter bananas cereal), there is a nice gym downstairs, & nice rooftop terrace. The staff (Vasu, Udit, & Om) are awesome. Very very helpful. Helped plan my trip with all the resources. Cheap places to eat nearby, did my laundry for cheap, and overall, just a very pleasant experience. Recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udit_Jugaad, Owner at Jugaad Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hey George

Firstly thanks a lot for writing this review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we guys try our best to treat everyone like a friend. It also great to hear you loved the neighborhood.

Looking forward to host you soon and happy travels

Udit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016

This is a great spot! I stayed here on two separate occasions, for one night, plus an afternoon each. I would particularly recommend this place to first time Delhi visitors because of the detailed instructions and scam warnings provided in the confirmation email.
The hostel space itself is clean and comfortable. The owners are great people who clearly love their city, and want others to appreciate it as well. They took us out to food and a jazz bar on my first visit, and on my second visit we played soccer on the roof in the rain, followed by charades. I will for sure be back next time I am in Delhi.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udit_Jugaad, Owner at Jugaad Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hey Rachel,

Firstly thanks a lot for writing this review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we guys try our best to treat everyone like a friend. Thanks a lot for your picture card and football in the rain till date remains one of the most fun way we have sued the rooftop :))

Looking forward to host you soon and happy travels

Udit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

I arrived at 5 in the morning, Vasu was not in the hostel but he ensured that my check-in goes smooth at this early hours. Places is exactly what you see in the photos, clean, comfy, feels like home.. Everyone at the hostel was super friendly and helpful, specially Vasu and Udit. My return flight was at midnight, they let me chill out in the common room even after after checkout. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice, safe, clean place to stay at affordable price.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank GouravChoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udit_Jugaad, Owner at Jugaad Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Hey Gourav,

Firstly thanks a lot for writing this review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we guys try our best to treat everyone like a friend.

Looking forward to host you soon and happy travels

Udit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Before we entered jigsaw hostel we were a bit apprehensive, it is sorted on the fourth floor of an apartment complex. However, the moment you walk through the doors you are greeted by the friendliest hostel staff I have yet encountered in my travels. The rooms were spacious and clean however it is mainly the two owners who are more than happy to devote their time to whatever you have need of, whether it's talking over travel plans or ordering a great, cheap meal with you. The hostel also had a sweet common room with games and TV, a handy fox hole for if (when) Delhi gets a bit too much for you.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasu84, Owner at Jugaad Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hi Frederick,

Thanks for your lovely words - it really motivates us when guest like you write us wonderful things about us. We look forward to hosting you again!!!

Team Jugaad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I planned to stay at Jugaad in April for the first few nights of my 3 month trip, however after stepping out the airport I fell into the 'tourist trap' mentioned in the description. I opted to take a taxi from the airport rather than arrange a pick up as it was cheaper, and after driving for 5 minutes the taxi driver told me he couldn't actually take me to the hostel as it was 'closed for security reasons'. I was suspicious and so asked to be taken as near as possible- they refused and instead took me to a travel agency. They then told me it was open, put me into a tuk tuk and then the same thing happened- I was told it was shut and was taken to yet another travel agency to be told it was closed. I gave them a phone number (which they obviously didn't ring) and I supposedly spoke to the 'manager' of Jugaad who informed me it was closed and I'd receive my money back within 3-5 working days and was then sold a tour for £300 around Agra, Jaipur and Delhi by Grace India.

As I hadn't checked in to the hostel, Vasu messaged me via Air BnB asking whether I was okay. I informed him of the situation and he did everything he could to try and help me get some of the money I was overcharged back, and to ensure when I finally made it to Delhi I could stay with them as originally planned. Vasu managed to help me get back £60 and cancel my Delhi hotel booked through the tour and checked me into Jugaad for my last few nights in India.

All the guys at Jugaad, especially Vasu, were extremely lovely and so helpful and welcoming. We went sightseeing around Delhi with Vasu and then to an amazing jazz bar- something I wouldn't have seen otherwise. All the guys also have great knowledge of the surrounding area and ideas of how to spend your day.

The hostel itself is very clean and has a nice rooftop and a self-catered breakfast included in the price.

I'd highly recommend staying here, and arranging a pick up through the hostel from the airport!!

Thank you all so much for a lovely stay, and for all the help you gave!
Charlotte

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank chilton96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasu84, Owner at Jugaad Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Hi Charlotte,

Thanks for taking time and writing us such a beautiful review. It was a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you a bit and I hope you are having an amazing time while traveling in Asia. We look forward to hosting you again!!!

Vasu
Team Jugaad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 733 in New Delhi
781 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 733 in New Delhi
1,747 reviews
The Madpackers Hostel
#2 of 997 in New Delhi
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zostel Delhi
#3 of 997 in New Delhi
715 reviews
Chandni Chowk
goStops Delhi (Stops Hostel Delhi)
South Extension/Lajpat Nagar
Boribista Hostel
Boribista Hostel
#11 of 997 in New Delhi
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugaad Hostels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugaad Hostels

Address: F-128, 4th Floor, Jhandu Mansion, Mohammadpur, R.K. Puram, New Delhi 110066, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 997 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 1,097 - ₹ 2,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internet defines Jugaad as a colloquial Hindi-Urdu word which captures the meaning of finding a low-cost solution to any problem in an intelligent way....which is what Jugaad Hostels is all about. The basic idea behind Jugaad Hostels is having a rocking time at rock bottom prices and having a local experience of the destination, again without breaking the bank. About Us What? Jugaad Hostels is a chain of travelers’ hostels for travelers by travelers. Jugaad is not just a place to stay, but a place to socialize and connect. To socialize with other travelers, backpackers, vagabonds and connect to the city in your own way. It is a place to share your stories and check-out what others are up to. And most importantly it’s the place to stay away from the tourist traps and experience Delhi like the locals. Who? We, the people behind Jugaad Hostels have more than 12 years of experience of hosting people in India and showing them a good time. It all started with our experiences in AIESEC, the world’s largest student organization, where we hosted people from all over the world and traveled to awesome countries. After AIESEC we took it to the next level and started our own Travel Company in 2009 to turn our love for travel and India into some pocket change  Between the 3 guys behind Jugaad, we have covered almost every part of India and have had some great experiences all over the globe and are always looking for the next adventure. Where? We started Jugaad to give you a local experience of Delhi and therefore have set up our hostel away from the Touristy trapping and Travel scams of Paharganj and Karol Bagh near the New Delhi Railway station also known as the Backpackers district. We are in the South of the city only 15mins driving from the Airport and the 2 main Train stations. We are also only few minutes from the most Popular cafe and art districts of Delhi: Hauz Khas and Shahpur Jat and less than 20minutes away from popular sites like the Qutab Minar, India Gate, Connaught Place, Lotus Temple, Humayun’s Tomb etc. We are also well connected by Metro and lots of Tuk-tuks available right under the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Jugaad Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing