We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Old Delhi street food tour”

Reality Tours & Travel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi and Sanjay Colony Slum Tours that show visitors the industrial and residential areas of Indian slums. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi and are currently setting up similar projects in Sanjay Colony.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We wanted to taste some indian street food and get to know Old Delhi and this was a great and safe way to do it. There were only the two of us on the tour, Sagar was a fantastic guide, spoke excellent english and gave us a lot of interesting information about India.

All the food stops were great. I think we made 6 or 7 stops and everything was delicious. We took rickshaw rides between the food places and also walked in the spice market and visited a sikh temple.

I definitely recommend this tour company and especially the street food tour with Sagar.

2  Thank 828katil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephBird, CEO, Reality Tours & Travel at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi Kati,

Thanks for this great review. It's great you guys enjoyed your time on the Street Food Tour so much with Sagar - we'll be sure to let him know!

Best wishes from all of us here in Sanjay Colony,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"slum tour"
in 72 reviews
"sanjay colony"
in 103 reviews
"street food tour"
in 33 reviews
"delhi tour"
in 49 reviews
"delhi street"
in 26 reviews
"sikh temple"
in 45 reviews
"reality gives"
in 10 reviews
"local communities"
in 4 reviews
"spice market"
in 26 reviews
"chai"
in 20 reviews
"money goes"
in 4 reviews
"eye opening"
in 10 reviews
"visiting places"
in 5 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 15 reviews
"highly recommend the tour"
in 4 reviews
"cycle tour"
in 4 reviews
"metro ride"
in 4 reviews
Filter

263 - 267 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

We booked a Street Food Tour with Reality Tours & Travel for our very first day (ever!) in India. We are SO GLAD that we did. What an amazing introduction to the city, country, and fantastic food of India!!!!! We wanted to get a real introduction to the incredible foods, and felt this was an easy and safe way to do so. Not only that, but we also felt like we got a good introduction to the city of New Delhi - this was definitely part street food, part tour.

Vijay was our guide, and he was absolutely fantastic. Engaging, knowledgeable, interesting, and passionate about his work. We would have LOVED to have take the slum tour with him, but simply didn't have time. He really made the day for us!

All of the food stops were great. The food was all fresh, piping hot, and bursting with flavor. We can't decide what our favorite was, and are still talking about how delicious everything that we tried was. The walk through "sneezing alley" (the chili market) was also a highlight, and interesting experience.

We can't recommend this tour company enough. What an awesome introduction to Delhi and the amazing foods of India.

Thank johnsonlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephBird, CEO, Reality Tours & Travel at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Wow! It's great to read you had such a good time learning all about Delhi's incredible food and culture with Vijay. We've shared your review with him and he's really pleased you enjoyed it as much as he did!

Such a shame you don't have time to come on our Educational Slum Tour - you'll have to come back and visit us again soon!

Have a wonderful time exploring Incredible India,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

I was privileged to have gone on 3 tours with Reality Tours. I particularly enjoyed Shehnaz who made me feel at home in India. The Sanjay Colony tour was a surprise. I expected dejection, yet what I saw was enterprise. I was heartened that the folks involved with Reality Tours are making a difference. Each tour was unique. I thank you.

Maureen T

1  Thank mmtlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephBird, CEO, Reality Tours & Travel at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Hi Maureen,

Thanks so much for spending so much of your time in Delhi with us - it's great to read of how your perception of Sanjay Colony was changed for the better and your kind words about the work we do in the communities we serve.

Best wishes from all of us here in Sanjay Colony,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We were very happy with all 3 of our tours with this company. Sagar for the Evening Old Delhi tour, Shehnaz for the full day tour and Sangeeta for Sanjay colony (slum tour). Each of them took time to get to know us and tailor the tour. They were all knowledgeable and had a sense of fun. No dull history lessons, just interesting facts and information. Can't recommend this company highly enough. Very professional from start to finish

1  Thank Carolineber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephBird, CEO, Reality Tours & Travel at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your great review - it's great to read you had so many tours with so many guides and enjoyed each and every moment so much! Fun, professional and interesting is just what we aim at and we're delighted you appreciated.

Best wishes from all of us here in Sanjay Colony!

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Our guide Sagar was brilliant and very informative, he was the perfect guide! We really enjoyed our 3hr tour around The Old Dehli, and learnt a lot! This was our second tour with Reality Tours and we were not disappointed!!

Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosephBird, CEO, Reality Tours & Travel at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Rebecca,

Thanks for much for coming on a couple of our tours. It's great you enjoyed your time with us so much, and indeed your time with Sagar - we'll be sure to pass on your praise to him!

Come back and see us again soon.

Best wishes from all of us here in Sanjay Colony,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours & Travel also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Reality Tours & Travel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing