We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Changing Experience”

Reality Tours & Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 67.00*
and up
Agra Tour From Delhi Including Home-Cooked Lunch in a Local Home
More Info
US$ 25.00*
and up
Old Delhi Street Food Tour
More Info
US$ 11.25*
and up
Small-Group Delhi Slum Tour: Sanjay Colony
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reality Tours and Travel is a responsible tour operator providing fun and authentic experiences around India. We invest 80% of our profits back into the communities we visit through our NGO Reality Gives. We are especially well known for our educational Dharavi and Sanjay Colony Slum Tours that show visitors the industrial and residential areas of Indian slums. We also offer city, village, multi-day and customized tours. Our tours educate visitors about the issues as well as opportunities in slums and hopes to encourage them to understand underprivileged communities better. We use 80% of the tour profits and 100% of merchandise profits to fund our sister-NGO Reality Gives that runs and supports a variety of programs in Dharavi and Sanjay Colony. Our goal is to provide authentic and though-provoking local experiences through our tours and to use the profits to create change in our communities. Our vision is a world where all tourism promotes cross-cultural understanding and local development. Our NGO, Reality Gives, provides young people in the local community with high quality education and experiences to help them maximize their potential. We do this by focusing on English, Computer and Life Skills classes as well as a series of activities and workshop in expressive art and sport. We run these program out of three community centres around Dharavi and are currently setting up similar projects in Sanjay Colony.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 27 December 2014

This is by far the most meaningful tour I've taken. Throw away all pre-conceived notions and enjoy the phenomenal tour given by Pradeep - the best tour guide in all of India.

This tour is not going be anything like you imagined. I took a full day tour, with half day of "seeing the sites" (India Gate, Gandhi Museum, President's House, Humayun's Tomb, Old Delhi,...) and half day of Sanjay Colony slums. I got a very good sense of the city, and every stop was meaningful.

Pradeep is very knowledgeable and is very good at explaining things. Most of all, he has the passion for his job and it shows.

I enjoyed all stops, especially the Old Delhi where we got to see many religions coexisting side by side. The Sanjay Colony is a must see, but not for the reason one might expect. For me, it was a very interesting study of economics, sociology, politics, and sheer human spirit. Don't miss the Gandhi House where you will be moved by the man's life and accomplishment. Humayun's Toms is not to be missed - given its size, grandeur, and history.

Be sure to bring comfortable walking shoes, and you are in for a ride of a lifetime.

Be sure to take this tour. You won't regret it.

1  Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

I absolutely agree. Visiting the Sanjay Colony slum and the city highlights sightseeing is a great way to fit in so much in a day. It really gives an overall view of life within Delhi and all of it's variety. If you're ever in Mumbai please do check out our similar tours there also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Reality Tours & Travel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2014

I discovered Reality Tours a few years back when they were only in Mumbai. Their work and passion are contagious. It's such a neat program! When I heard about their Delhi tours and a chance to visit, I didn't hesitate! Pradeep (a local guide) was phenomenal. He'll work with you to see whatever you want. You'll feel right at home, and he'll make the best of your time. He's an extraordinary individual with a great heart. Don't miss this opportunity to see the side of a culture you'll never see on the beaten path! Cheers!

1  Thank Joshua E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Fantastic that you've travelled with us in both Mumbai and Delhi. Yes we've received tremendous feedback about our social business model and we're proud to have been able to expand it now to include Delhi. The support of people like yourself really helps us though and directly benefits the communities visited too. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile

We had the most awesome evening out with Pradeep from reality tours. The tour consisted of metro train rides, delicious street food, visit to temple, cycle rickshaw rides and information about Delhi and it's history and politics. It felt like the street food vendors had been hand selected for their delicious fare - the jalebi being the most tasty we have had in our whole trip!
Pradeep also made the tour fun and interactive, and also went out of his way to ensure that we had everything we needed (including some headache tablets for me who was suffering from a headache when the tour began). Thank you for a wonderful evening Pradeep!

1  Thank Bevie777888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

I also love the Jalebi! There is so much delicious food to be tried and great to hear of the fun you had in visiting so many of Delhi's highlights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

The Sanjay Colony Tour was informative and excellent overall. From beginning to end, everything was organized and run like clockwork. I was amazed at how much I learned in the span of several hours. Thanks to Pradeep for being a fantastic guide who was always willing to answer our many questions!

1  Thank cwo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your tour and thank you for the support of our community programs in doing so. We agree it's an eye-opening tour with so much to learn from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

My family has just finished a wonderful day with Pradeep showing us the sights of Delhi. We covered everything from Ghandi's Museum, India Gate, Lotus Temple and the Presidential Palace. It was great he took us on the Metro to Sanjay Colony where we wandered the Alleyways meeting lots of happy children and adults, getting an insight into the life in this area. Pradeep was a wealth of information keeping us well entertained. I would recommend it to everyone. Thank you Pradeep.

Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, CEO at Reality Tours & Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Thank you for your support here. We love showing people the reality of life inside Sanjay Colony from a highly respectful point of view. And yes there are so many highlights in Delhi that can be covered on our sightseeing tour. Brilliant to hear your guide Pradeep did a wonderful job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reality Tours & Travel also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Reality Tours & Travel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing