We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in old Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #84 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good hotel in old Delhi”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Myself and my husband stayed there this March, I arranged the free airport pick up & they were there to meet us the pickup man & a very friendly taxi driver, the staff very freindly & helpfull I had requested a quite room, which they provided the room/bathroom very clean, the roof top terrace very pleasent, good view of the Red Fort, nice to sit and have a cold beer, they could make more use of it. but this is India ! They had a travel agent next door, who arranged a trip for us to Jaipur & another hotel on our return good value for money helpful staff.

Room Tip: ask for quite room on high floor, with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    209
    89
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
189
91
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
420 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We satyed at Tara Palace , Old Delhi for two nights at the beginning of a tour of north India and I have to admit that having seen the approach and entry I was very pleasently surprised. Firstly we had arranged a pick up from the airport with the hotel at some ungodly hour and there they were to meet us, we awoke late the next morning to find breakfast over but that was no problem and they catered for us none the less. The room was perfectly adequate , a good size , clean , ensuite with hot water and AC. In the late afternoon we took to the roof terrace and were happily served cold beers, the only thing I would say is that the terrace is not a dedicated seating area sharing the area with washing lines and kitchen , I feel more could be made of this as the views and potential are good. At the end of the day the hotel was good , clean, safe, value for money and well located with helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here in Feb this year. It was my first time in India and it was a great place to stay. The hotel organised a pick up from the airport and let me know of possible scams 'fake' drivers might try to pull on me. None of them eventuated but it was good to be in the know and on the look out! The hotel was clean as was my room. I only stayed one night and found the location was great for a walk around to discover a small part of Delhi. Only negative for me was people coming in late at night a speakin/shouting at the top of their lungs! The floors are all tiled so the sound really travels. I'd stay here again, though - maybe with some ear plugs at the ready!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mybellMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I booked the room for my night transit, the main reason is they offer airport pickup. The pickup guy and driver are good, car was a bit old and cramp. The hotel is nothing fancy but fairly clean room and toilet but hot water is not running in late night. Breakfast provided but average. Consider the room rate of 2000rs. I feel overpriced but now many same kind and level of accommodation here seem to raise to price altogether. The subway is not so close but with rickshaw ride, it is ok. Wifi is offer in lobby (old PC also there), signal is too weak to go up through 2nd floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Nothing fancy but a good hotel in a great location if you you want to stay near Chandni Chowk and the Red Fort. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great resturant with a good waiter. We arrived on the 24th of February and stayed 3 nights. Recommend this hotel. Would stay again. We also used the travel service and booked a car and driver for 3 days. The service and driver was great. We were booked into good hotels and the driver, Jai, was very knowledgable and spoke good english. Hotel exchanged currency and gave a good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Take ear plugs because the street can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#99 of 716 in New Delhi
57 reviews
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 716 in New Delhi
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Property: Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110006, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,811 - ₹ 3,041
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing