We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in Old Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #81 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Old Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel has clean rooms, hot water was not a problem at any time and the food was surprizingly good. Old Delhi is not everyone´s cup of tea, the experience is overwhelming, especially for first time travellers. But you can get used to the hassle of the crowded streets and get the full India exposure. The metro is within walking distance and the view from the rooftop terrace is great.
The staff was friendly and helpful, the arranged taxi to the airport was on time and the rate charged was according to what we were told by others to be the going rate. A good choice if you want to stay in Old Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    207
    89
    18
    10
See reviews for
58
188
91
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Decent hotel, nice staff. Had to wake up very early in the morning to catch train to Agra, and they serevd breakfast in my room. Were very helpfull, and everything was clean. Window had no view, but I geuss that is normal. It isnt the most expensive place to stay, so one shouldnt complain about that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng02066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Although I feel like the reviews are a bit inflated, overall this is a pretty good hotel.

Pluses:
1) the bathroom was very nice - it had hot water without needing to ask or wait for it to warm up and a sink with space to put your toiletries, both rarities is reasonably priced hotels in India. The toilet also flushed consistently.
2)the location - I think the people who say this hotel is in a 'bad' area probably haven't spent much time in India. You will not find a McDonald's or Starbucks nearby, but it certainly wasn't unsafe. My husband and I were walking around the area at 12:30 at night (long story) and had no issues with anyone. It is right by the red fort and a couple of large markets and is generally a fun place to explore. However I would not recommend it as your first stop in India for a new visitor unless you have a keen sense of adventure. It could be a bit overwhelming.
3) clean (could use a little TLC though, like grout cleaning)
4) 24 hour room service. The food was VERY overpriced compared to other options (try Karim's) so if it is not the middle of the night you may want to go out. Perhaps worth it for the convenience though and what we tried was decent.

Negatives:
1) Price was a little high
2) One of the big come-ons of this place is airport pick up, but the hotel is actually quite far from the airport. Also, when we arrived they were overbooked. It took a couple of calls for the guy picking us up to show his face and we ended up having to take a taxi anyway (they did pay us back for it though). It probably would have been less of a headache to just hire a car in the first place. As long as you go with an official cab through the police stand you shouldn't get ripped off.
3) Staff was not great. Not horrible by any means, but they certainly weren't especially friendly and didn't really go out of their way to be helpful. The heater in our room never worked; we pointed it out when we first arrived and the fellow insisted that it was just on a timer and would work fine, but it never did work (would start up and stop immediately). We could have pushed the issue but shouldn't have had to.
4) We paid extra for the supposedly nicer room but I don't think that it is any different than the normal room - looks exactly the same in the pictures at least. I thought maybe it would have a view or something but the one small window was glazed over so we couldn't see out of it. Definitely ask what the difference is before reserving the more expensive room.

I am wavering between a 3 and 4 for this hotel but will go with the 3 because it seems that some of the reviews may be a bit padded. Overall, I would consider staying here again next time I am in Delhi but would also consider other options.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

If your looking for an excellent place to stay in Chandni Chowk, this is the hotel to be at.

I was in india for my wedding shopping, we chose to stay at this hotel as it was in Chandni Chowk where I planned on doing bulk of my shopping. Although you cannot literally drive up to the hotel, once your there the bell boys will come running up to help you out. The hotel is really clean, big rooms, lovely staff and excellent breakfast. We did have problems with the power though it turned on and off intermediately but was quickly fixed. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: It's not worth getting a room with a balcony..there is no view.. make sure you go upstairs fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkilicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis, mo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The staff at this hotel can best be described as thieves. After spending one night in this hotel without heat or hot water, I told reception that I planned to find another hotel. Having booked three nights in advance, I was told I would need to pay for all three nights, or they would refuse to return my luggage. I was coerced under threat to paying for nights in a hotel that couldn't provide the most basic of services. I later reversed the charges on the credit card, and paid them nothing. STAY AT THIS HOTEL AT YOUR OWN RISK!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nichehasbadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#92 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#45 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Property: Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110006, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,798 - ₹ 2,954
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Yatra, HostelWorld, Expedia, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing