We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden gem in Old Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Ranked #77 of 702 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Old Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I chose to stay in Old Delhi this time to be closer to the main sites in town. This place is a delightful clean oasis in the hustle and bustle. Friendly and attentive staff. Good hot water. A close walk to the Red Fort and Jama Masjid.

Will come back here. I complement the owner on providing a great mid range hotel in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    204
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
55
184
89
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My impressions are a 100% congruent with those of Charles from Dec 26th. If you dare experience indian everyday city life as it really is, this hotel is perfect. If you'd rather stay in a tourist location that is especially designed for foreign travellers, better go to Paharganj. Even so -- all those reviews saying the place was very dangerous and don't go out at night and hide away your women: this is a merely western perspective and just not true. I can understand that people feel unsafe because of the narrow, unlit alley and the homeless beggars sleeping on the pavement. But once you get to know India a little bit you realise that this is just normal everyday life. Those people are direly poor, but I never experienced any danger from any homeless person (and I am a woman and I've often stayed in similar places). India is the safest country I have ever travelled in.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Nesboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

The rooms were clean, people were very friendly (even sent a car to the airport to get us at 2am...), and the food was amazing!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone spending time in New Delhi!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exnyer8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

The location of this hotel in the heart of Old Delhi and the nature of the surrounding neighborhood were perfect from the point of view of my traveling companion and I, but those who are uncomfortable and nervous about narrow, crowded streets, dilapidated buildings, and the sights, sounds, and smells of real Indian life would do better to stay elsewhere, or avoid India altogether. If you want to keep the place at arm's length, why bother traveling at all?

The room was perfectly adequate, not luxurious by western standards, but it's unreasonable to expect western-style luxury at these prices. We didn't have a window, but so what? Who wants to be in their hotel room except to sleep and bathe when India is right outside?

Early the first morning we were awakened by the muzzein calling from the Jama Masjid and rushed up to the roof to find a spectacular view. To the south, almost close enough to touch, is the Jama Masjid, to the northeast is the Red Fort and the domes of a large Jain temple, and to the west you can see the golden spires of an important Sikh gurdwara. All around you the neighbors are cooking, hanging their wash, and doing other activities of daily life, much of which is lived on the rooftops.

The friendly, efficient, very accomodating hotel staff will gladly set up tables on the roof and serve dinner and drinks to you there. We did that every evening. Some reviewers here have objected that the menu is vegetarian, which is true (apart from eggs you can have as part of the excellent breakfast that is included in the price of the room), but vegetarian fare is the norm throughout India and if that's too big an adjustment, again, it might be better to go elsewhere.

I'm sure there are other places in Delhi I'd like just as well, but I plan to return to the Tara Palace whenever I'm there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesP723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Located in the heart of Old Delhi. Those choosing to stay at this clean, comfortable hotel will get to experience the true Old Delhi. The food at the rooftop restaurant delicious and the prices reasonable. The rooms are nice and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Yes the neighborhood looks/feels a little sketchy, and women should definitely take extra care.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#95 of 702 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hotel Sapphire
#435 of 702 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#42 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#37 of 702 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk

Property: Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk
Address: 419 Esplanade Road | Cycle Market opp. Red Fort, Chandni Chowk, New Delhi 110006, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,804 - ₹ 2,405
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelGuru, ClearTrip and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace Chandni Chowk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing