We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On The House
Ranked #46 of 1,128 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The best place to stay in Delhi. I stayed here for nearly 3 months while I was working in Delhi, and I have to say that On The House made my trip. Roger, Deepak and Ashish were wonderful; always helpful, always kind, always polite. My room was immaculate, but still had lots of character to it. One of the best features of the room was the ensuite bathroom, which was tiled and always had plenty of well pressured hot water!
The highlight of my stay however is the food that is prepared. Every morning, and every evening I would have a wonderful meal awaiting me in the dining room. Really incredible.
Furthermore, On The House is very close to metro stations, making it a very convenient stay as well.
And finally, it is safe. I was quite nervous about going to India by myself, especially as I stand out, but staying here made me feel safe and secure. It was a real haven.
I really cannot thank Roger, Deepak and Ashish enough. They were wonderful, and made me feel very safe in the midst of the chaos of Delhi. I hope to return soon! I already miss India, and On The House.

Room Tip: Every room is great, but I loved the ones on the top floor because of the immediate access to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

A great place. Not cheap but value. Stayed here on six nights spread between the 15th and 30th of January. We even used 3 different rooms while staying there, all lovely. No problems. A good staff group who look after you and who are kind and helpful with nice breakfasts. They kept our bags safe while we travelled elsewhere for a few days twice. Well appointed and tasteful and very clean. A good quiet suburb of Delhi that is easy to get anywhere via a tuk tuk to Green Park Metro or taxi cheaply. Local food places and safe and quiet (if quiet is possible in Delhi). Never met the owner who is very hands off leaving it to Roger, Ashish and her other Indian workers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank organised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Delhi is a hectic city and On The House is an island of tranquility in the midst of it. This bed and breakfast is excellent! The rooms are super clean, the bathrooms have been recently renovated, and the decoration is cozy and welcoming. The staff of the hotel is always helpful and attentive, they will go out of their way to help you out. The location of the hotel is fantastic, only minutes away from the yellow subway line that crosses Delhi north to south, and on which you will find major historical sites. I recommend this hotel to any traveller looking for a comfortable and peaceful stay in a boisterous, cosmopolitan city.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mvidart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We would have loved to stay here longer but we only had a 2 day stop in Delhi.
The place was lovely and friendly. The rooms cosy and it felt really homely. They organised cars for us and it felt like a really safe place. Great value for money for Delhi....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Squared7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This B&B is five star all the way! The staff is friendly and helpful without being intrusive, breakfast was hot and fresh and delicious - and there was a lot of it! We stayed in the pine room which, like all the others, was beautifully and tastefully decorated. And spotlessly clean. This was the only shower I used in India where I didn't wear shower shoes. Internet is also available and there was a TV in our room, but we didn't use it. It is very easy to get an auto rickshaw to the Green Park metro from here. We left on New Year's Eve and needed the caretaker to give our taxi driver directions at 9PM, and the caretaker called me on my phone even though I didn't have an India number. He and the other two staff members are wonderful and speak excellent English. Our stay was so wonderful and I highly recommend this B&B. Such a unique place! I wish I could have met the owner, who was also very helpful even though she was not in Delhi during my stay. She sent a taxi to pick us up at the airport (we paid, of course) and she texted me directions to the B&B beforehand.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hauz Khas
Deer Park Villa
Deer Park Villa
#130 of 728 in New Delhi
30 reviews
Vasant Kunj/Vasant Vihar
Chhoti Haveli
Chhoti Haveli
#30 of 1,128 in New Delhi
191 reviews
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,128 in New Delhi
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
Bed and Chai Guest House
Bed and Chai Guest House
#26 of 1,128 in New Delhi
201 reviews
The Estate Villa
#20 of 1,128 in New Delhi
168 reviews
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
#59 of 1,128 in New Delhi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Address: B - 4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,128 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 3,509 - ₹ 5,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — On The House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Expedia and TravelGuru so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing