We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 'family-oriented' small hotel”
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On The House
Ranked #46 of 1,075 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice 'family-oriented' small hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

In a residential compound in New Delhi - a true 'family' run boutique hotel - only a few rooms, each uniquely decorated with Indian artifacts - a respite form the hustle and bustle AND the noise of Delhi. The staff is fantastically friendly, and accomodate all your needs - from the usual wee-hours of the morning arrivals and departures from te Delhi International airport, to helping you find a unique experience in Delhi. The only drawback - taxi folks have a hard time finding the place as it is in a residential area. Actually - that is another plus!

Room Tip: No lifts, but the staff will carry your bags up - get the top floor room and you get your own balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrikant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    70
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
58
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed at On the House Bed and Breakfast in New Delhi for 10 nights in Nov-Dec 2011. I couldn't rate it more highly. The rooms are exactly as they appear on the website. Bright, welcoming and clean. Every morning you wake up to a scrumptous omelette for breakfast (or other options as well). The staff are sooooooo friendly and always willing to help. I was taken the nearest tailor and internet cafe when I needed a Hindi-speaker for translations. It was a great help. The building is in a gated enclave which feels very safe to walk to the nearby neighbourhood shops, and the location is quite handy to get to the tourist spots either south or north, and one block from a street where it is very easy to hail down an auto-rickshaw (which should cost less than 50rupee to the nearest metro AIIMS). The rooms are amazing and a good price (I checked out rooms of people that I met). The Mulberry room is the one I stayed in, but I recommend paying the small extra cost for one of their superior deluxe rooms, as the Mulberry is next to the really nice rooftop courtyard (only 1 of the 10 nights I stayed there it was a little noisy outside my window). The place is across from a very small park. The website says it is a good park for jogging, but that is perhaps not the type of jogging you may expect, rather a quick shuffled walk. Nonetheless, it makes it a really nice spot with birds chirping throughout the day. I really do recommend this place to travellers, and it was a particular relief for a female travelling alone as I was at the time to have that sense of comfort and security.
If I return to Delhi I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at 'on The House' in november 2011.
rooms are cozy and staff very kind and helpful. It is a place we would think to go back to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioiaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

On the House B&B is totally worthy of five stars. The owner arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport (we paid of course) and he waited even though our flight was over 2 hours late. We arrived around 9PM and the staff was helpful and friendly. They carried our bags up the stairs and got us settled in for the night. We were in the pine room which was so lovely and spotlessly clean. There is a TV, mini fridge, and plenty of clean towels and a lovely basket of toiletries. I was most impressed with the staff who were so helpful and cooked an amazing breakfast of parantha, omlets, toast, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee and tea. Loved the breakfast! It is very easy to get an auto rickshaw to the Green Park metro station from here as well, or a 15-20min walk. Internet is also available. I am very happy I stayed here and would definitely stay here again if I return to Delhi.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were beautiful. There are five in all and all have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

A colleague recommended On the House for our forthcoming overnight trip to Delhi and we emailed to ask if we could stay. We were delighted by the prompt response - and once we got to the B&B, we were even more delighted by the decor and the facilities on offer. Comfortable, friendly, great price, wonderful breakfast, good location - what's not to like? The only problem, though very slight and perhaps limited to just our room - was the slow shower. Everything else was great and we plan to go back - again and again. (They have only three rooms to rent at a time so we plan to give as much advance notice as possible).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashmeeroshanlall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
South Indian Hotel
#545 of 716 in New Delhi
13 reviews
Hotel Tourist
#244 of 716 in New Delhi
43 reviews
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 1,075 in New Delhi
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indee Home
#42 of 1,075 in New Delhi
62 reviews
Nizamuddin
Eleven
Eleven
#8 of 1,075 in New Delhi
593 reviews
Grace Home
#12 of 1,075 in New Delhi
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Property: On The House
Address: B - 4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,075 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,908 - ₹ 3,877
Hotel Class:3 star — On The House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing