We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touch above the average”
Review of Hotel White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel White House
Ranked #98 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2008

Travelling from UK,we used this hotel(on the fringe of Carole Bagah mkt) twice-at the beginning and end of our india tour for one night on each occasion. The double room was quite generous and , situated to the rear of the building, not overly affected by street noise.However, since the hotel finish was predominately marble, including the floors, we did suffer from some in-house disturbance where the occupants above insisted on dragging the furniture around the floor for some reason with the resulting clangour a mite irritating. All aspects were Clean Clean Clean and this is why, after reading some reviews of what can be had in Delhi, we gave 4/5. Rooftop restaurant was quite enjoyable although slightly restricted menu-wise. The food was fresh though and the service friendly. A hotel that delivered all that we needed and we would use it again because it throws up no horrors and avoids the lottery of selecting an alternative.
NB this hotel selected for us by our tour operators-"COLOURFUL INDIAN HOLIDAYS aka PACKAGE TOURS INDIA -if you want the seeming contradiction of a fully superior service with huge savings while touring India, take our unreserved recommendation. Superb throughout.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank monocouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehousedelhi, General Manager at Hotel White House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Guest,
We have read your review about our hotel with interest and would like to thank you for your wonderful experience in our hotel. We need more reviews, so that we can always improve our hotel and services to the best of all. Your review has given us boost to work more harder to improve our services and hotel.

Thanks and Regards
Upender SIngh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Hotel White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2007

Stayed here for a week although went on a tour for 3 days.I had arranged an airport pick up direct with the hotel via email but no-one was there to meet me on arrival at the airport,so had to haggle a price with a taxi to get me to the hotel at 2.00 in the morning.On arrival at the hotel was told that there was a fault with the electricity in my room and would have to stay at another hotel round the corner,which was a hovel-the fridge constantly buzzed and when I thought of pulling the plug to shut it up-on seeing the wires(without plug)fed directly into the socket,I thought better not to.
The next morning when I finally checked in to my room,my initial impressions were that it was cleaner and generally in better state of repair than the one the previous night but it left a lot to be desired.Rooms are noisy and hot water is limited.Breakfast is basic but ok.Don't change money in the hotel.You'll get a very poor rate and it is not official, ie no encashment certificate and straight out of the receptionists pocket.Karol Bagh area looks dodgy but is quite safe as long as you take basic precautions.Only really used hotel as a base to sleep as there's not much else to do.Not far to connaught place by taxi/rickshaw.For the money you could find somewhere much better.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We had 2 stays in this hotel in Feb 2007....2 nights when we first arrived in Delhi and one night on our return from touring Northern India.

It was booked for us through a tour group we used to organise a tour of India.

Location-wise, it is not bad. Its not far from the shopping district of Karol Bagh. There is an internet cafe/phone booth just down the road. There is a small shop next door to the hotel from where you can buy bottled water and snacks.

Our first stay was okay. We found the rooms to be moderately clean. The rooms didn't have any windows and the air conditioner didn't work, thus the room got stuffy. The bathroom was alright, if a bit on the shabby side.

Through the night, we heard the incessant beeping that is synonymous with India's roads. There was also endless barking of stray dogs. Ask for a room on the side not facing the road - it will be much quieter. Also ask for one of the end rooms - they have small windows which will help with the stuffiness issue.

The food in the "rooftop" restaurant is nothing to write home about. I was a little hesitant eating here as it didn't look very clean. There isn't much lighting there during the night - possible to hide the stains on the tablecloths.

For our return stay we had booked 3 rooms for 3 nights (we were 3 couples travelling together). But when we arrived, we were told that one of the rooms had been "cancelled" by us. We ended up sleeping 3 people to a room. The next day, we got our tour group to organise another hotel for us, which was closer to Connaught Place.

An okay place to stay if its a short stay and you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2007

I checked in this hotel with my daughter and wife on 30th April night for 3-days. The 1st thing which was very shoking to us was the condition of the bed. The bed sheets and pillow covers were full of stain and were of lowest quality. On our complain the staff brought the new bed sheets. They were equally bad.
Major drawbacks of this hotel what I have noticed are:
1. Location is at a market place. Surrounding area is dirty and full of people
2. Hotel rooms are stuffy
3. Hotel itself is cramped. No space even for taking a stroll leisurely
4. Breakfast is not at all worth for money
5. Staffs are not friendly. If you are not careful cheating will be the inevitable experience in this hotel

My good advise to any fellow traveler, especially foreighners, to avoid this hotel entirely.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

We booked directly with the hotel in September 2006 for a one night stay in October and a three night stay in November. As we were staying four nights, we were offered two free pick ups from the airport. We provided our credit card details as security.

When we arrived at the hotel in October, we were asked to pay for the pickup. The bills was different to the agreed rate - the receptionist tried to charge us more - fortunately we had copies of our correspondence with us. We asked for two club rooms and were given standard rooms and charged club prices. We were given very noisy rooms overlooking the street.

Despite this, we confirmed our bookings before we left for November as we did not at that date, want to go to the trouble of finding another hotel.

The day we were due to check in, we called the hotel to confirm our pickup form the airport. We were told that our reservations had been cancelled as we had not provided confirmation - I don't see how this can be as we confirmed in person and wathced the receptionist write down our requirements in their reservations book. We were left in a lurch as there were virtually no hotel rooms left that night in Delhi due to a medical conference. Do not book with the White House - the reservation policy cannot be relied upon at all and they do not appear to honour their own pricing policy for their rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank 2,804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Rupam
Hotel Rupam
#130 of 713 in New Delhi
352 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hill Palace
Hotel Hill Palace
#109 of 713 in New Delhi
79 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
Hotel Sunstar Heritage
#71 of 713 in New Delhi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Grand Park Inn
Hotel Grand Park Inn
#107 of 713 in New Delhi
564 reviews
0.1 km away
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#42 of 713 in New Delhi
788 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sunstar Residency
Hotel Sunstar Residency
#61 of 713 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White House

Address: 14a/4, W.e.a. | Channa Market, Near Karol Bagh Metro Station Pillar No 117, New Delhi 110005, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 1,752 - ₹ 3,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel White House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel White House offers convenience with its prime location and 3-star facilities. We are walking away from Karol Bagh Metro Station. It features 2 dining options. Roof Top Restaurant serves range of dishes from Indian, Chinese and Continental cuisine, also serves complimentary buffet b/fast. The hotel also has a 24-hour In Room Dining. Just 200 metres from Karol Bagh Metro station and Main Ajmal Khan market, Hotel White House is a 15-minute drive from New Delhi Railway Station. Indira Gandhi Airport is a 30-minute drive away. Also 20-minutes drive to India Gate and Red Fort. Well furnished air conditioned rooms comes with a flat-screen LCD'T Vs with cable channels and a wardrobe. In-room conveniences include Tea/Coffee Maker with amenities. The en suite bathroom comes with hot/cold rain shower, bathroom slippers. Guests can avail 24-hour front desk, room service and housekeeping for assistance with luggage storage, currency exchange, same-day laundry service & tour desk to organize a tailor made tour in India. Well trained Staff can assist guests with their business and travel needs. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing