We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't believe the bad reviews - its totally fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Connaught

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Connaught
Ranked #217 of 696 Hotels in New Delhi
Surrey England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't believe the bad reviews - its totally fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our Exodus trip - I had read the reviews and frankly thought it was going to be awful - I was pleasantly surprised. It was totally ok. It was clean, rooms were ok and we even got some fruit and water left in the room for us. We walked form here to a restaurant called the Kwality - don't be put off by the name - it was actually very good.

All in all - a serviceable clean and ok hotel and after staying at some of the others on the trip - it was one of the better ones!

Room Tip: We overlooked the hockey stadium - great view of a man walking round and round and round in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pusscatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    94
    108
    47
    31
See reviews for
47
66
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I did not like this hotel, the rooms need to be remodeled, TV is old, doors are opened with a very old plastic key card system. Carpets are stained. Breakfast is very poor.
The hotel is very close to the Connaught place but this area is dirty, disorganized and I did not feel safe. My room was clean and the staff was helpful.
I hope the hotel management take this as a constructive criticism.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
748 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Comfortable and clean but certainly not a luxury hotel when compared with others. Poor frontage is rather disappointing. The room was small and had a coffee table wih two dining type chairs. An armchair would be much better. Satisfactory bathroom.We had a nicer room last time we stayed here so rooms must vary.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Connaught on April 9th 2012 on our way to Haridwar and again on the 14th of April on our return.

The hotel is in a posh locality of Connaught Place and is very centrally located. So city sight-seeing is easy. The hop-on Hop-off bus Delhi Tourism bus comes very close to the hotel.

On both occasions, we were extremely satisfied with the quality of our room (cleanliness, location, comfort). The staff were courteous and efficient. Special mention must go to the lobby manager Mr. Lalit Bhatia who made our stay a pleasure.

Breakfast was sumptuous and of high quality. Fresh dosas and omlettes are made then and there and the fruit platter was adequate. The dining staff were very courteous as well. We never ordered room service unfortunately due to paucity of time. The best price for the room can be had if purchased through travel websites. We purchased our rooms through Cleartrip.com and the price differential was substantial between booking on cleartrip and a direct booking with the hotel. We got a great deal in my opinion.

All in all, our stay at the Connaught was memorable. We intend to stay there on our next trip to Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank VijayJanakiraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,578 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,060 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We planned to stay at a 5 star hotel but our tour agent advised against it as the hotel was too far out of the city meaning we will waste too much time commuting to the tourist areas. So we chose the Connaught despite getting mixed reviews on TA as its a 10 minutes walk to Connaught Place.

We chose the highest standard of room as it needed to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids with easy access for our driver. Check in was a breeze and the reception manager told us that he gave us a higher standard room. We were on the top floor and the room was very good. had a double bed and we got an extra bed for one of the children whilst the other slept on the sofa. There were two televisions, tea making facilities, a small fridge but no in room safe. The bathroom was ok, a bit grubby and there was a slight water leak beneath the sink which was not remedied despite pointing this out to reception.

We had a wonderful view of the city from our room. The hotel is popular with large tour groups and locals as it was busy throughout our stay with functions ranging from birthdays, wedding and engagement parties. The reception staff were friendly, there were cabs and rickshaw drivers at the front of the hotel, a few could be a bit over keen, do not be put off with stories of Connaught Place being closed with riots or the shops being closed for the day.

CP was 10 minutes walk away, the metro station was 15 minutes walk away and for about 10 rupees you can get to Chandri Chawk on the underground. Near the hotel there was a shop to buy drinks and snacks and McDonald's and a coffee shop were nearby.

The hotel would deliver a small fruit basket in the evening and a small bottle of water. I did feel giving small bottle was a bit stingy as all the other hotels in our stay gave 2 large bottles and puzzling why this could not be left behind by the people who clean the room earlier in the day.

Breakfast was part of our package and although the hotel makes a big play of their award winning chef, he obviously not been down for breakfast. I have knocked a star of the review because of the service and below par quality of the breakfast for a 4 star hotel. The people working on the egg station are exempt from the following criticisms.

The waiting staff seemed to be clueless. Unable to even the set up the table properly. I used to be dumbstruck that even at quiet times they did not take the opportunity to set the tables up properly. Each morning I had to ask for cutlery and tea cups. On several occasion I would ask them to go back and get me a clean spoon or cup.

The person who went serving tea and coffee seemed to be in his own universe, frequently walking past people who raised their hand requesting tea or coffee. We even suspected that he was actually discriminating against Indians and would favour European customers.

In the first morning when lining up to order an omelette, one of the waitress would push in and give an order. First its a self service buffet and when you are waiting to give your order and a waitress jumps in and gives an order for a table which she did several times, it means you have been pushed down and have to wait for the cook to make that order before your turn arrives. It was rude and it did not help that when told by the cook that they will send the omelette to me, for two days running the same waitress ended up giving my omelette to someone else.

I also felt the range was lacking and the quality of some of the food, I had some hash browns one morning and they looked and tasted like hash browns I have never had before. As I said the hotel is bigging up their restaurant but it did not inspire me to try the restaurant for evening dinner.

Check out took some time for some reason, I think they wanted the guests to chat with the duty manager about their stay, although as we were leaving Delhi a bit later on in the day, we planned to check out, store our luggage and explore the city a little more.

The positives are the location and in a city where hotels are expensive, this is good value for a family as long as you go for a higher standard room. Its a shame they let themselves down with the breakfast and a few other minor things.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.3 km away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#215 of 696 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#110 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#38 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.6 km away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.3 km away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#99 of 696 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Property: The Connaught
Address: 37, Shaheed Bhagat Singh Marg | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#68 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,000 - ₹ 9,000
Hotel Class:4 star — The Connaught 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Connaught , New Delhi you savor the living experience at its best. Affordable, warm and cozy; the hotel welcomes you to the true Indian spirit of hospitality. Located in the hub of the business centre of the metropolis - Connaught Place, the hotel is in very close proximity to the Lady Hardinge Medical College. Also, in very close proximity to the Delhi Metro station, the Airport Express and the capitals main railway station. It also is very accessible to the International & Domestic airports. The hotel boasts of 87 refined, well-appointed rooms those are tucked carefully spread over the Seven Floors of the hotel building. Catch the spectacular bird's eye view of the Shivaji Stadium and the colonial stretches of Connaught Place. Also, catch a glimpse of the historic Parliament and India Gate monuments and enjoy a delightful view straight from the rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Connaught New Delhi
Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel The Connaught
Hotel Connaught New Delhi
The Connaught Hotel Delhi
Hotel Connaught Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing