We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day ever in Old Delhi”
Review of Food Tour in Delhi

Food Tour in Delhi
Ranked #1 of 205 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer customised food tours, cooking classes, photography walks, and shopping tours in Delhi city These tour services are meant for tourists who want to explore authentic Indian cuisine, sights, heritage and charms of new and old India. We listen to what guests really want and design our tours according to their needs. Our focus is on promotion of real Indian cuisine and culture as experienced by residents of New Delhi. The tours showcase best of Indian sights and food served by reputed food vendors who have been in business for 3 or more generations at the same spot. With us, you'll get the real India experience. Number of dishes included in our food tours vary between 15-30 depending upon type of food tour chosen. Guests can also combine these food tours with photography walk, tea tasting and many other exciting activities. Free pick up and drop facilities from hotel in air-conditioned vehicles, bottled water, wipes, sanitizer are included in tour price at no extra cost. Food safety and hygiene plays a very important part in everything we do and all of food vendors included in our tours have impeccable reputations for good food and hygiene.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous day in Old Delhi. Our guide Jaidev (spelling) took great care to ensure we were safe and enjoying ourselves. We had 8-9 Street snacks and then a full lunch! A lot of food! All of the snacks were delicious and I wanted to finish them all, but he kept warning us to not over eat and save room for the next treat. Good thing we listened to him! All treats were vegetarian and I was amazed at the variety. My favorite was the sweet milk foam with saffron and sugar, which is only sold during winter and in Old Delhi. It was like eating a sweet cloud!
He told us the streets were “quiet” but for us it was chaotic, loud, and exciting! My girlfriend said, “It was exhilarating!”
He told us stories of the shop owners, some over 4 generations owned and run. Tremendous pride in their products. He also showed us 300 year old buildings and I could imagine by his descriptions what the place must have been like back then. I was pleasantly surprised at how the shop keepers kept their places swept and cleaned. We were out for about 6 hours and walked maybe 1.5 miles. We walked in the back alleys and also took a rickshaw ride down the Main Street, not for the faint of heart! I would definitely recommend this tour, all places we stopped at were safe to eat (no tummy issues!) and definitely worth the time to go with an experienced guide. Loved it, will talk about it for years to come!

Thank Bensmom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Namaste Ben,

Thank you for such elaborated and well described review, this shows how much you enjoyed. With all this positive energy and wonderful feedback is what motivates us to deliver our best.

Thank you
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indian food"
in 82 reviews
"street food"
in 43 reviews
"wet wipes"
in 12 reviews
"sikh temple"
in 39 reviews
"hand sanitizer"
in 18 reviews
"spice market"
in 33 reviews
"curries"
in 12 reviews
"kulfi"
in 13 reviews
"great introduction"
in 13 reviews
"butter chicken"
in 7 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 7 reviews
"different parts"
in 5 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 6 reviews
"rickshaw ride"
in 9 reviews
"indian culture"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 5 reviews
"connaught place"
in 14 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018

This was by far one of the best experiences I have had in food and in travel. My wife and I had the pleasure of spending the day privately with Rajeev, the owner of the tour group, who took us through Old Delhi to try around 15-20 different foods. Rajeev explained in detail the foods we tried including the different, complex flavors in each. He knew all the right places to go, the best vendors in the city, the rich history of the foods and their importance in the country. Rajeev was a great host, funny, attentive, and took us to extra places that he loved. They really went the extra mile for us and started our trip in India off perfectly! We were so happy with the experience that we used their services for a tour in Agra - which was also amazing. I cannot recommend this tour enough! If you go to India - do this tour!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Namaste Chris,

Thank you for taking time out and writing us a review. It was pleasure hosting you in Delhi and Agra. And we wish you both a happy married foodie life ahead.

Keep eating!

Thanks
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

The Dehli Food Tour with Chef Rajeev Goyal was an amazing and exceptional experience. He is a very friendly person and experienced foodie and chef who adapts the tour to your wishes and interests. He picked me up from the hotel. We were a small group and the tour started in Old Dehli. I would have never found nor dared to enter some of the shops and places. At every station Rajeev highlighted a special feature or teqnique, ingredient or spice which makes this location special. My personal hightlight was the kulcha bread near the Sikh temple. Would highly recommend the tour.

Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Namaste Sabina,

Thank you for writing us a review. It was our pleasure to host you and your friends. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to India.

Thanks
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We took this food tour on our first day in India and we highly reccomend everyone to do the same. Walking the streets of Old Delhi with such knowledgeable and true Delhi guide really helped us to adjust and feel comfortable in the city. The food was delicious, I want to make a special shout out to ice cream that we had - you will never try anything like this anywhere else in the world!
Raj (our guide) is a true food guru and scientist. He'll tell you things that you never even thought about, teach you how to taste food and... he is just the best! Not to mention how friendly, lovely and funny he was! Honestly, we were so lucky to book this exact street food tour among all others!
I would highly recommend this to everyone!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Namaste Anastasia,

It was our pleasure hosting you on Food Tour in Delhi, and i hope your shout for ice-cream will be heard at long distance.
Thank you for writing us such wonderful and descriptive review and hoping to see you again soon. Till then keep eating!


Thanks
Team - Food Tour in Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Wow!! We arranged a private tour to suit our date, time and length of tour. It did seem a tad expensive but turned out to be excellent value for money!!

We were picked up on time and taken to meet our guide : chef Raj. He was very knowledgeable, fun and a lovely guy. He took us to some very out of the way places and although you can look on the internet and visit these places yourself you have to find them and then know what to order. Then there is the hygiene aspect - covered off by Raj. We walked for a short while and then took an auto rickshaw for a couple of hours jumping on and off as required. We elected not to do any other sightseeing - just food and there is plenty of it. After the first two stops we asked Raj just to get one portion for us to share. We probably tried about 10 to 12 different things and could have had more. Raj was great company, v helpful and he warns you about his bad jokes - the warning should be better!!! I cannot recommend this company enough and I will def use them again when next in Delhi - we’ll done Sikha & Raj! We had a ball and the memories will stay with us forever. I deliberately didn’t mention what food we had as I wouldn’t want to spoil the surprises for others. Cheers, David

Thank davidjess1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoodTourIn_Delhi, Guest Relations Manager at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Namaste David,

It was wonderful meeting you and your wife, true foodies what we call. Thank you for taking time out and writing us such a wonderful review.

Hope you see you soon on your next trip to India.

Thanks
Team - Food Tour In Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour in Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Food Tour in Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing