We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensory overload with a big smile!”
Review of Food Tour in Delhi

Food Tour in Delhi
Ranked #1 of 207 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer customised food tours, cooking classes, photography walks, and shopping tours in Delhi city These tour services are meant for tourists who want to explore authentic Indian cuisine, sights, heritage and charms of new and old India. We listen to what guests really want and design our tours according to their needs. Our focus is on promotion of real Indian cuisine and culture as experienced by residents of New Delhi. The tours showcase best of Indian sights and food served by reputed food vendors who have been in business for 3 or more generations at the same spot. With us, you'll get the real India experience. Number of dishes included in our food tours vary between 15-30 depending upon type of food tour chosen. Guests can also combine these food tours with photography walk, tea tasting and many other exciting activities. Free pick up and drop facilities from hotel in air-conditioned vehicles, bottled water, wipes, sanitizer are included in tour price at no extra cost. Food safety and hygiene plays a very important part in everything we do and all of food vendors included in our tours have impeccable reputations for good food and hygiene.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We got picked up from our hotel by Rhajeev and commenced our tour where we met the rest of the group and JD, we rickshawed around Old Delhi and visited New Delhi tasting the most incredible street food, the ones I can remember were Paneer Pakora, potato curry, samosas, lassis, other funny little round bread things, cardamom and pistachio ice cream, pomegranate sorbet, cookies, some funny little mousse thing with cheese and sugar, visited spice markets and chilli lane, ate many numerous kebabs and rotis, drank a crazy milkshake, visited an amazing temple and watched a community in action then got fed a feast of butter chicken, spinach, dal, chaphatis, green chilli parathas and lambchop curry, best thing is- Rhajeev and JD knew I was a coeliac and knew which bits I could and couldn't have substituting the bad bits for me with alternatives, and they are such a professional organisation that they are meticulous on hygiene, always there with wet wipes and hand sanitizer- thus is the morning after our trip and thankfully no Delhi Belly for either of us, they definitely know their stuff, it is a MUST do experience, thanks guys!!

2  Thank SharonACBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Namaste,

Thank you very much for this excellent review. We really appreciate you calling this tour as a MUST do experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indian food"
in 81 reviews
"street food"
in 41 reviews
"sikh temple"
in 39 reviews
"hand sanitizer"
in 16 reviews
"spice market"
in 32 reviews
"curries"
in 12 reviews
"kulfi"
in 13 reviews
"great introduction"
in 12 reviews
"butter chicken"
in 7 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 7 reviews
"different parts"
in 5 reviews
"rickshaw ride"
in 9 reviews
"indian culture"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"chandni chowk"
in 10 reviews
"paratha"
in 10 reviews
Filter

456 - 460 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I were keen on doing a food tour on our trip to India. We contacted Jaidev several months ahead of time to see what India Food Tours could offer, and we were not disappointed. We planned our entire 9 day trip (Delhi-Agra-Jaipur area) with them and everything was thought out wonderfully! On arrival we were greeted by Rajeev who gave us everything we needed to start our journey. No hidden fees, no unwelcome surprises. We had an excellent driver, Rishi, who was friendly and helpful, and made our journey comfortable. All guides, hotels and activities organized by Jaidev and Rajeev were great. The Delhi food tour itself was amazing. You get to experience many wonderful, unique dishes of Delhi that you would never get to try on your own. We would definitely do it again!

2  Thank mitchell20j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Namaste,

Thank you so much for writing this review. We're really glad to know that your entire tour of India was an enjoyable experience. Your kind words and recommendation means a lot and we look forward to see you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The 4 of us booked from Seattle. We were picked up be JD who brought us to meet with Raj (the chef-creator) and another 2 people. Raj and JD are great guides that are knowledgeable about food, the Indian culture, and the city they live in. We got to ride a rickshaw from place to place which was cool.

The first place in Old Delhi was the best. We wanted to be left there to eat until we died! The most delicious samosas, kachori, and lassi! My second favorite was the mango ice cream in the frozen mango. We traveled from place to place so I never felt full and had time to digest... until the end.

This is the best and favorite tour! Thank you Raj and JD!

1  Thank 555Travelbug555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Namaste,

Thank you very much for writing this excellent review for us. Exploring Delhi and it's food with you and your friends was an enjoyable and fun experience for us. We look forward to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I met Rajeev on Diwali for the food tour, I was alone, but another couple joined us and it was very lovely! We ate some of the most amazing food! And a great variety as well! We ate smaller snacks all day and then had biriani for dinner (I had never had it before and now I am hooked!)
Jaidev (who was ill the day of the tour) had set it up previously that Rajeev would drop me at the airport at the end of the tour (although I hated to leave!).
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to safely try the street food in Delhi- you won't regret it!!

3  Thank FoggyBridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Namaste,

Thank you very much for writing this review for us. We're really happy to know that you enjoyed the tour and got to explore some dishes that you really liked.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This food tour was one of the best experiences we've had during our travels. Not only did we get to sample a huge variety of food, we got to see more of Delhi than we could have possibly managed on our own.
Upon picking us up from our hotel, our guide for the day – Mr Rajeev Goyal (Raj), a chef, restaurant owner and culinary expert – informed us that he liked to approach these tours as if he was showing some friends around town, which is exactly what it felt like.
All of the food tours are customised for each group and no two tours are the same. Raj and Jaidev have done significant research on each vendor over the years ensured that all of the food we ate was delicious and clean.
We walked through Old Delhi sampling snack items, cookies, special ice cream and braving the spice market with the overwhelming dried chillies.The rooftop was pretty spectacular at sunset and the cycle rickshaw ride through Chandni Chowk was unforgettable. We also visited Connaught Place for pastries and milkshakes and the Sikh temple Gurudwara Bangla Sahib to absorb the atmosphere and the amazing energy of the place. We finished the evening with a tasty variety of kebabs and the most amazing dishes (including my favourite, butter chicken) at a Mughal eatery where you enjoy food off the bonnet of the car!

We had such a great time on the tour and loved all the food and sites of Delhi. Raj and JD have extraordinary knowledge and were great company. We would recommend the tour to anyone, book it now!

2  Thank Sewelegantpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hello,

It's so nice to hear from you and thank you very much for this excellent review. The photos are awesome too. We hope that you'll enjoy your India journey.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour in Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Food Tour in Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing